TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Scully insists: ‘I am not a racist’ as he breaks down in radio interview

The former Mayor of Naas was forced to resign earlier this week after remarks he made about immigrant Africans. He said he and his family had been threatened because of the remarks.

Darren Scully with Enda Kenny in 2005.
Image: Fran Veale/Photocall Ireland

DARREN SCULLY, WHO was forced to resign as Mayor of Naas this week, broke down in a radio interview this morning as he said he and his family had been threatened following remarks he made about immigrant Africans.

Scully made headlines earlier this week after saying in a number of radio interviews that he would no longer represent immigrants from African countries because he found them “aggressive” and “quick to play the race card”.

He subsequently apologised for his remarks and resigned as Mayor of Naas.

The Fine Gael councillor said this morning he feared he could lose his job and revealed he had not answered his door since Tuesday, saying that had received “some very, very bad things” which had been “threatening to me and my family”.

Speaking on the Marian Finucane Show on RTÉ Radio 1 he said his comments were “totally the wrong thing to say. I retract every single word of it and I am so genuinely sorry”.

“I am not a racist,” he said during the course of the interview insisting what he said was not what he meant “in my heart and soul”.

Explaining the remarks, Scully said:

I didn’t put enough thought into it Marian. Obviously I was expressing my own personal view of dealings I had with regards to council workings with some people but I knew what I said was wrong.

You cannot, you just cannot paint an entire continent with one brush by saying something like that. You just can’t do that. That’s unforgivable.

‘Hadn’t thought the words out properly’

Scully, who made the original comments in interviews with 4fm and Kfm in Kildare, said that thousands of people had been in touch with him regarding his remarks and there had been a mix of views with people saying “lots of different things”.

He also said:

I should have said that I would not deal with anybody in an aggressive… because we have aggressive Irish… because, you know, we have aggressive other nationalities but I wouldn’t… but what I said was that I wouldn’t deal with black Africans and that’s wrong, you can’t say that.

Scully said that on Tuesday morning he realised he “hadn’t thought the words out properly and correctly and I had caused great offence to a lot of people.”

He went on to say:

What I’ve learned here is that you’ve got to be very careful with the words you use and make sure you express the right opinion.

Scully, who works as an engineer, said he would know the outcome of his job prospects next week but admitted he feared he could lose his job as there was “a lot on the line”.

At the end of the interview he appeared to break down, saying the support he had had was “very uplifting for me” and he thanked everyone for sending emails which said, according to him: “Darren, don’t do anything silly, get on with your life and you have the support of many people”.

Read: Darren Scully resigns as Mayor of Naas >

Read: Scully race remarks ‘an opportunity for education’, says African community leader >

Read next:

Comments (127 Comments)

• I think we’re going around in circles here, I work with people from all over the globe, people of all races and colours and I’ve seen and heard racism from all sides, black, white and asian. The difference I’ve found is that if I were to go to management and report a racist incident from, say a Nigerian colleague, it would be dismissed – even laughed at, because there’s a perception that black people are the victims of racism not the perpetrators of it. Now as I’ve said I have witnessed incidents by white colleagues who recieved a suitable warning from management, and rightly so, but I’ve seen several incidents by black or asian colleagues which, if commited by anyone else, would require instant dismissal but the “R” card was played and they got away with it. This has happened to such an extent that there is a very genuine fear to acuse black or Asian people of anything because to do so will often result in a public spectale and being labelled a racist, people are genuinely afraid of this and so let it go. The result is infringements of various things, from infection control to just being told what to do or where to work are ignored, I see this daily and even some African colleagues find it embarrassing, we must not wear any jewlery, false nails, or anything below the elbow but it’s routinely ignored by some, and in turn they’re ignored. This in turn creates a bad athmosphere and there are some staff who, when ward managers tell them where they’re working and what they’re doing that day, will ignore them and do what they want, mainly “specialing” patients (sitting with certain patients).
    I must point out this is not all but some African, Asian and others and most of their countrymen and women are embarrassed by their actions and just as there are dodgy Irish so can there be dodgy Africans but we are able to say to an Irish man “ye lazy git, do your work” and that would be the end of it, if we were to say the same to one of these Africans all Hell would break loose, we’d be accused of racism and likely face suspension or worse. If we are to truly address this then we have to make the playing field level, as things stand it is anything but.

• Well said Brian. That day should come quickly. At least people are talking. I long for the day that people are judged by their actions not by their colour. Racism should not be tolerated ever.

It’s a tough road we’re on and it’s important that we don’t turn on each other, whatever our colour or bank balance.

• Don’t mean to be flipped but it’s far to common to accuse someone these days. Of racism. And the you look at john terry who said a racist comment on live tv and if he whether he meant it or not is still captain of England. And if he didn’t say it why did they blurr his mounth. Some people should not play for there country Rooney only appealing ban because they said they would not extend ban. Give me a break. Give him longer and please done one fine these guys properly. Instead of €30,000. Maybe €250.000. That would mean they would behave.
      Aopoligises For thr rant S ex gootball fan that has converted to tugny Give me RUGBY and day over soccer gaelige and hurling. This guys no matter how wrong they get it. Al least they try and resect upmost importance.

• Excellent Brian very well said, there’s good and bad, black, White, Irish etc…but everyone is afraid to say anything about anyone who is not White Irish as they are accused of being racist and that’s usually not the case, though I don’t deny that racism does exist.

• lol, so most people aren’t racist, they’re just angry that they haven’t got the balls to stand up for themselves, or indeed where management are concerned – to do their jobs – if there’s a foreigner involved because they ‘might’ accuse them of being racist!
      Classic!
      No wonder people are playing the race card. Might try that myself, the next time there’s a queue for the bank machine or something! :-D
      Seems like there’s some sort of fcuked up reverse racism going on here.
      You’re angry foreigners, which is manifesting on this site as racism because a foreigner you’re working with might call you racist if you try to reprimand them for something they’re doing wrong, even if you managing them.
      It’s probably the same thing with people in positions of power too is it? bankers and politicians and what not, no wonder the country is in the state it’s in!

• I’m certain his apology still won’t be accepted by many on here, but he’s apologised and said he was wrong. And whatever you may think of him, his family don’t deserve to be threatened and he doesn’t deserve to lose his full time job either.

He’s more honest in his views than Mr Michael “optics” Martin anyway.

• Correct. It never ceases to amaze me how intolerant some of those people who claim to be tolerant can be. Threatening his family is vile & it needs to be condemned outright. He is man enough to apologise for his ill thought out comments.

• He’s resigned and his apology seems sincere so that should be the end of it. He and his family should be left alone.

The problem now is that lots of racists are holding him up as martyr.

• He’s set any chance of a common sense debate on the issue back years, that’s probably the worst fallout from all this.

Ill thought, ill timed, and ill expressed-but the valid undercurrent to his silly remarks will now be brushed aside as usual.

Even more shameful is the strong likelihood that the threats aimed in his direction originate from fellow Irish people (though they seem to be ashamed of their nationality) rather than anyone else.

• he’ s playing the victimisation card now, like the catholic church. how many threats did he get, if any, bit like Dana’s puncture. He also thanked the people that called up supporting him. He’s not a rascist but he is thankful for the rascists that support him

• Yup. While his remarks were unacceptable for anyone, never mind an elected representative, the man has resigned, admitted he was wrong, that his statements were racist, that he mispoke, and that he retracts and apologises for the whole thing. I think that’s enough, it’s been amply demonstrated that this attitude isn’t going to cut it, and that’s a positive thing – let the man get on with his life, and better behaviour in the future.

• It isn’t manly at all to apologise for something you should not have apologised for. He did nothing wrong, he described what he has exprienced, how can you apologise for something that has really happened to you. No, he has displayed complete cowardly behaviour in backing down and caving in to the extremist leftist multicult church.

He has been hounded by our new witch-hunters for his blasphemy and heretical remarks against the new church and the new high-priests who are the multicult ngos and immigration industry like migrant rights centre. These are the new “burn the witch ” shouters.

• Once you’ve worked and paid tax here you should be entitled to social welfare… You can’t turn up in the US or Australia and move in and get all the entitlements. Even when we had money it was a crazy situation be you white, black, brown, yellow or purple.

• CMD 26/11/11 #

Every decent person black, white traveller or whatever are entitled to be treated with respect. The problem is that there are individuals of all colour and creed who behave badly, who are not decent, who show no respect to their fellow man and then play the race/discrimination card to gain sympathy and to basically bully folk to get their way. I’d imagine that is what Darren scully faced and unfortunately he dealt with it the wrong way. What it does mean is that the next time an official is met with unreasonable demands in such situations they will let it go for fear of being called a racist. You only have to look at the situation of publicans who are now afraid to refuse drink to gangs of drunken individuals for fear of being taken to court under anti-discrimination legislation. And believe me that is happening in rural Ireland at the present time. What I am saying is everyone’s rights should be respected.

• There has to be a debate on immigration from African and fringe EU countries. There are 155 million+ Nigerians. The vast majority of them are economic migrants. Those here seem to have been directed towards the less well off areas of Dublin, putting a huge strain on local health and education services. The children, like the parents, exhibit varying degrees of competency in the English language which, in turn, is having an effect on already disadvantaged Irish students. The distribution of African immigrants around the Dublin area seems to be based on a policy of convenience on the part of Fingal County Council and Dublin City Council. Come to Dublin 15 and have a look for yourself if you don’t believe me. Also, can someone please explain to me our obligations to Nigeria? The last time I looked, it was a former British colony. Unless we have this debate out in the open we are only setting up huge problems for our society in the not so distant future.

• Hugh whats the story with the comments? I’ve had posts appear and then disappear only to reappear! I can only assume that it is as a result of blatantly offensive comments being posted. It’s confusing to say the least when you are trying to reply to someone. :-)

• Get back under the stone you crawled out from. You clearly don’t have the intelligence to realise that Darren Scully would distance himself from idiots like you.

While I thought Scully’s comments were dreadful, I hope the shameless cowards who threatened him and his family are identified and will be dealt with by the law.

• The ONLY people who park in the non parking zone at my kids school are African…..FACT….it’s hazardous for the kids & causes congestion & traffic chaos every morning….everyone is afraid to say anything to them & they know it….we all just try to ignore it….am I a racist for noticing this ?

• It’s like “The Pot calling the kettle black”
    These anti racism protesters threatening this man and his family because of remarks he has taken back and apologised for, should we label these people “thugs”? Its all getting out of hand!

• I hear your a racist now father ………. ;)

• Thing is..

A friend of mine works in social services on the frontline.
    She have spoken to great lengths about how abusive people can be. Guess who tends to dominate this portion of people. And yes, the race card is often used. So maybe just maybe he is not talking through his lower parts.

And oh she can tell you stories but the problem is as always that when you highlight something like this people start screaming RACIST without actually looking at the facts.

Kinda reminds me about the whole “Omg you dare to criticise Israel, you are clearly a Nazi and anti-semitic etc etc”.

• Brian, You said what I was trying to say but you said it better! : )

• What exactly are the facts here, a friend of mine says you’re telling porkies

• Well let me put it this way.

The frontline staff experience it 4-5 times a day, the managers knows it. Nobody can however bring it any further due to the racist issue. You can just picture the headlines already.

But I love how your counter argument is “Its a lie, prove it”.. When you know damn well there is not a hope in hell since it would incriminate the person in question (since they are not allowed to talk about it)

I’ll tell you what though.. You go down to any social service/fas office and sit there for a day.. There is your proof.

• Reada….regarding the parking issue at the school….the african family’s that park in the no parking zone have been asked not to & both families behaved aggressively when they were approached …..they are quick to use the race card….it seems to me you have the opinion that they can do no wrong…..what about personal responsibility ? It’s the behaviour I’ve a problem with not their skin colour or race but according to you that makes me racist….I’ve lots of friends from all over the world….they are my friends because of their personalities and character – not because of their origin – I disapprove certain behaviour – not entire races of people but like it or not, I’ve witnessed terrible unacceptable behaviour from SOME African people and if my true experiences make me a racist by your definition …..well what can I say ??

• @Easygoing. I appreciate what you say. I’m really sick of listening all the awful things I’ve read on these threads over past week. You didn’t stick out as one of them.

There are lots of white Irish families that are aggressive too. I just don’t think colour should be mentioned.

But if either side needs to be cut a bit of slack it’s the black side. They are the ones were abused and their continent exploited and there’s bound to be some hurt there and as a result I would be more willing to understand their anger.

• I’m fareness I don’t thing he Is a racist. But a really pissed off concellior that has to deal with a awkward group on people that havnt had it easily in life. Although his comments came across as racist I dont think they are. Bits to easy got for every one to play the race card there’s date. Especially when every one watching what they say. The black Africans can be awkward and boustrouus. But do can the white ones. But you should be able to call it as it is either way.

Or am I an ass.

• Sean C 27/11/11 #

Judging an entire race on the behavior of a few is the definition of racism, which is my understanding of what he did. Granted he may not have understood he was being racist as that is emerging as a significant factor in racism is Ireland. If I was subjected to those attitudes on a daily basis I would probably have very little respect for the perpetrators and no doubt come across as dismissive and rude too.

• I think part of the problem here is the actual word….RACIST! This is a very emotive and pejorative word and carries huge negative meanings. If someone for instance was to blatantly say go back to Africa and refer to someones color then yes that is racist. that person rightly should be vilified for their views. If however on the other hand service is refused or something can’t be done for perfectly valid reasons that apply to everyone then does that person deserve to be branded a racist?

There is a minority of people who know that the majority are scared of being branded with this hateful word and they use it to their advantage. I had it thrown at me in one situation but I stood my ground, said to the person that they had made a serious allegation against me and told them that I was calling the Gardai and we would let them sort it out. Needless to say my accuser took off straight away because they knew that they were in the wrong. The Irish are nearly worse if you express a valid opinion or idea as part of a debate. They are so scared of being called racist that they will immediately fling the word at you straight away for fear that they might be branded one. No debate, no argument, no challenge to see if my views might indeed be flawed. It is almost like all the oppressive regimes of history, denounce your neighbor before you get denounced yourself.

I wonder if there are any formal complaints against Mr Scully BEFORE his comments were made. Why didn’t that Labour Councillor complain before it all kicked off? He was jumping on the bandwagon that’s why.

• Can you clarify: are you suggesting that the Labour councillor should have pre-emptively complained about the comments before the comments were made?

• Nivag if the Labour Councillor felt so strongly about Mr Scully then he should have made his views known before now.

I do however see your point and unless the Labour Councillor is psychic then obviously he couldn’t have complained before the comments were made. My bad!

• Scully resigned and that should be it.
    He has leant his lesson.
    It now transpires that he might lose his job over his comments, not to mention the threats and that a Labour TD is trying have the man prosecuted. Political Correctness gone mad.

• If he loses his job or his family keep being threatened i think we should organize a march in Naas to show him not everyone is against him. If people want to escalate this then we will have to step up and defend the man. He is an honest hardworking politician in the area and is well respected by locals.

• Seriously are people still banging on about this! Scully gave his opinion and I believe he is right as it happens. Why can no one say anything without someone pulling the race card out!

• I don’t agree with this. We’ve had all sort of anti-immigation parties in Ireland over the years, the most recent being the National Party set up in 1995 by Nora Bennis. All of them have failed to gain any sort of significant support in this country. That being said the fact remains that there is an unspoken undercurrent of racism in Ireland and its not just aimed at those from Africa. Its aimed at all immigrants. Perhaps indavertently by making such foolish comments, Darren Scully has brought this to the surface.

The issue is how we deal with it moving forward. There seems to be a perception that immigrants to Ireland get better treatment from welfare services than Irish people do which causes all sorts of resentment, especially now when times are tough. I find it hard to believe that this is the actual situation but it may be hard to shift that perception. Perhaps now, in the aftermath of this incident, is the time for us to start discussing matters like our attitudes to foreigners openly and without the “racism” card being played. Until we understand what forms these attitudes we can’t begin to undermine and counteract them.

• Well said Jim!

Open discussion is needed and education on cultural differences for all of society.
      At the moment people are afraid to discuss as they could be labelled racist.
      Many people have an unclear perception, which results in narrow minded opinions regarding welfare entitlements and differences in culture.

• Wholeheartedly agree, Jim. Discussion is the key. Skirting around the lunatic fringe at either end of the debate seems to be one of the biggest hurdles.

• “attitudes to foreigners”

how about attitudes to having to compete and struggle even harder for everything and the limited resources this land has. Resources Irish ancestors sacrificed for, so that their descendants could have better access to such resources. They did not sacrifice for the descendants of foreign peoples who have their own native lands, AND who came here illegally, as they would have stopped off in a myriad of African AND european countries before arriving here to claim safe haven asylum.

How about peoples common sense in knowing that immigration is wrong and what we are dealing with here is plantation and invasion. Where Irish people feel like strangers in their own country. No right to oppose immigration do we?

• ‘I’m not a racist……..’ but I am as thick as two short planks.

• Where do I start. Africa is not a country but a continent… just as Europe is. The Irish are not the English or Germans or Russians. While you are all the same colour even I a black African can see that difference in the way you talk, your mannerisms etc So Mr former Mayor, you can insist you are not racist but there’s is no doubt that was your dumbest moment. You had plenty of time to think about this long before you went on the radio so please don’t pretend you had no idea what you were saying and the implications it all had. I am a black Zimbabwean btw, working and paying taxes in this country. Not every African black, white or other should be painted with your racist remarks. I am tired of people like you who pretend they don’t know what they ‘mean’. Casual racism is racism!!

• Tell me Stha, When my Uncle and my Father worked in Nigeria people used to call them “Pinky” what exactly does that mean?

• That’s simple Brian. That was racist too. Look up the term in a dictionary.

• And tell me Brian. Did your family earn a similar wage to the Africans they worked alongside?

• But, Brian – black people are not “racist”. Only “pinkys” are !! I’m being sardonic, of course. As a person, I detest all forms of prejudice. I’m sure no Nigerian stood up for your father & uncle.

• While you have the dictionary out you probably should reach for the map as well Brian. It would tell you that Zimbabwe is a 7970km drive away from Nigeria…. I hope one day a Namibian doesn’t see that your Irish and accuse you of something a Russian once called his great aunt!!

• Brian, Declan – if I was Nigerian I would tell you all about it. I would even explain to you how this term came about. As an educated person it doesn’t mean I don’t know what it means. If you read my comment perhaps you wouldn’t have asked me that question. I shouldn’t have to be blamed for the wrong that another black person does just because of the colour of my skin or mere origin. I am sure not every white european will understand where the term ‘pennies for black babies’ came from although they may understand what it means now. Silly talk really.

• Hey I asked a simple question and straight away Reada and Dave you feel the need to get all aggressive. Reada my vocabulary is fine thank you and Dave I am well aware of the difference between Zim and Nigeria seeing as my Uncle worked in Nigeria for many years and my 2nd cousin lived in Zim. Both of these men mentioned the term so I was simply asking someone from the area what the term meant before I went any further,

No need to be so intolerant lads!!! :-)

• I wasn’t being aggressive Brian. I actually said I thought it was a racist thing to say to your family. I just like to keep posts concise. But you can’t deny that Africa has been exploited!

• Sean 26/11/11 #

Brian are we to hold ourselves to the standards of how the zimbabwen establishment treated its white population or how racial disrimination is handled in parts of africa at all?

Or should we try and hold ourselves to much higher standards. Your comment was a crude attempt at justification whatever way you originally intended it.

On the other hand i do think darren scully has acted exemplary since this came out and shouldnt be te subject of a witch hunt, it was an error in judgement that he made

• There’s no denying the Reada and it still is. I’m just confused as to why that is relevant to Scully or even the Irish for that matter. It was the Empires of Europe that tore up Africa and the most that most Irish saw of it was when they sailed past it on the prison ships to Australia.

• Sean are we reading the same page. I said noting about the Zim establishment, nothing what so ever. I asked a simple question about a simple term of phrase from someone from that part of the world. Stha then responded that she didn’t know what it meant. Question asked, question answered.

If you must know, and to calm whatever moral crusade you are on, the term came up when I mentioned this article to my Dad today. He said that they used call us pinkys when we were there and I was wondering if the term was pejorative or not. I wanted to know because if I used the word without knowing it’s “street” meaning in a comment I didn’t want to offend anyone. Now are you happy with that.

• I have wondered this too Brian. Why some Irish are so hostilely racist to this issue. I can only assume it’s part of the fact that both Irish and Africans were exploited and some are of the mindset that we have to stomp on those we’re classed with to make ourselves feel better and help us climb the social ladder. ???

• I really hate the way that the powers that be make some people feel like that. They did it in Ireland too. The only plantation that worked was when they planted equally poor people from Scotland and pitted them against the native Irish.

• Sean 26/11/11 #

Brian thats fair enough, and i understand that you might have meant your comment in an innocuous way, however im sure you will also concede that given the circumstances and nature of the preceding post it could be construed in a prejudicial way.

Also when you accuse me of being on a ” moral crusader ” when i criticize something which I view to be prejudicial then its a good day for extremists everywhere

• Sean I think that both of us saw each others comments in a different light than they were intended. Now that we have each explained them better I hope that clears up any misunderstanding.

Reada, I don’t think that it is a case of everyone stomping on the other trying to get one up on each other. For me personally I treat people the way that they treat me. I have worked and trained people of all backgrounds in various jobs and as long as they treat me with respect then I will return that respect. What does set me off however is when someone accuses me of prejudice because I didn’t give them or did what they want. Prejudice works both ways but there is a sense of frustration that is echoed by Brian Walsh’s comments further down the page. The perception is that the majority are being held hostage by the minority for fear that they will be accused of something. And that goes for all sides of this debate, too many extremists shouting for my liking and drowning out reasoned argument and debate.

• Sean 26/11/11 #

Brian totally agreed that when aggressiveness is doled out then race/culture is no excuse.

However there does seem to be a lack of awareness that active (not extreme) racism is an issue in Ireland. Im not talking about unPC stuff either as I give a wide berth to humour and misunderstandings such as this one, what im talking about is prejudicial and discriminatory attitudes that generalize people based their skin colour and is too often excused as harmless or infrequent

• Stha Ngwenya : Pennies for black babies was a term used in Catholic schools to raise money for starving children on the African Continent . How is this racist ?

• Eileen Gabbett: Obviously. It’s been a long day. Take your time to read every comment above, in context.

• Stha Ngwenya @ I have . I was just concerned that maybe you didn’t know where the term ‘pennies for black babies’ really did come from.

• Eileen Gabbett: Yeah
      Sure

• Stha Ngwenya @ Excuse me have you something else to say ? Because when I was a child growing up in a large family, the catholic nuns insisted and marked it down in a journal every friday morning at school who brought their ‘penny for black babies ‘ with them into school. If we missed a week , we had to bring it in the following week. Bear in mind Stha that a penny in those days was maybe like a euro now…. The same nuns showed us pictures of starving black babies whose bellies were distended due to starvation. Charity / racist ?

• Eileen, I think there is miscommunication between you & I. I understand about the sacrifices that the Irish made for the poor and continue to make today. However, don’t lose sight of my response to Brian and Declan. As I said, I know what ‘pennies for black babies’ means & that is why I referenced it.
      The reference to the term ‘pennies for black babies’ was in response to Brian’s question, asking me about an old term ‘pinkies’ used in Nigeria. Even though I clearly stated that I am from Zimbabwe, the assumption was that I will have an answer. It would be like expecting someone from Romania to know what ‘pennies for black babies’ meant.
      So in short the conversation was not about the meaning of each term but about the constant assumptions and sweeping statements that are often used to embody Africans, without any thought as to what differences may be there amongst us. Back to my very first point that Africa is a continent, made up of many countries with the commonality which is our skin colour but in any other deeper meaningful way different languages, customs, mannerisms & history – much in the same way as Europe.

• Stha @ I understand all of that thanks ,OK Stha :).And for the record, I am just like everyone else and I suspect even yourself , who does not like slackers or bad manners be they black Africans,or white Irish.

• Eileen, of course. Thanks too.

• @Eileen Gabbett.. you were forced into giving money to a religious institute in lieu of education, what they did with money is another question, i am aware that some of this so called black baby money was used to buy property in france

• Martin Mc Cormack @ If you know so much then why don’t YOU follow it up and query what you know…. or again are you just shit stirring as usual .

• Darren Scully made racist statements and judgements (not good). He reflected, took them back and acknowledged he was wrong (good). What I find heartbreaking is the raft of racist comments being posted here and what this says about Ireland in 2011. It is part of our identity as a country that our people have gone to all corners of the world in search of better prospects. Don’t people remember how they felt when they learned that boarding houses in London had signs that said “no dogs, no blacks no Irish”? Why on earth would any Irish person want to identify with such values?

• Sean C 27/11/11 #

At last a voice of reason…hear hear !

• he made a rascist comment and discovered that it went down like a lead baloon, especially with his cemployer, so he retracted what he said, highly unlikely he changed his views though

• Mr.Scully expressed HIS experience. That is not racist.
      In his experience the only group to be consistantly bad behaved were the black Africans. No other group as a rule, and in general numbers, behaved to him like that. That was his EXPERIENCE. It is a true event about a true group of people. It was not any other grouping whi in general behaved that way, it wa only the grouping of black Africans who in general DID behave that way. That is what he encountered, that is his EXPERIENCE, that is not racist.

• Not doing the right thing and not reinstating him after his apology does more harm to race relations than his initial comment.

• I think a suitable job for him would be to send him on a humanitarian trip to Africa to help clean up the mess the whites left behind. Or is saying that it was whites exploited africa a racist thing for me to say? Mmm…

• Who hepled whitey round up black villagers during that awful slave trade era ? Their very own black brethern in many cases. Yes – whites did alot of damage as well as alot of good while in Africa. Let’s us not blame whitey for all of Africa’s ills. Blacks have their share of the blame, too. No, Reada. Your comment is not racist.

• Thanks Declan. Glad I’m not. But who paid the black villagers to round up the other black villagers? It would have been a case of “them or us”. Something that I hate!

• @ Reada, thankfully the majority of people can look forward and become more tolerant of each others differences, respect and move on. Seen as you have decided to tar all whites with the same brush, will you be also loosing your job on Monday?

• Billy I’d answer you if your question made sense…

• Betrayal has its price, Réada. Many people throughout history in all societies betrayed their own for the “few pieces of silver”. Anyway – he apologised & was man enough to do it. I’m saddened his family were targeted. That’s it -

• @Eileen Gabbett. dont particularly know a lot, but i do know that particular fact as i knew the woman involved, and i dont believe it was an isolated case, take a look around dublin alone, a lot of prime property. I dont really see anything to follow up this was back in 60s, Surely at this stage it’s obvious to most people the vast property portfolios built up by so called charitable institutions, fair enough you and I and lots of others gave our pennies in good faith and a lot of ordinary nuns did great work, but they and us were hoodwinked by the head honchos . Much the same thing goes on nowadays in the “charity/NGO Industry”. CEOs , etc on huge salaries.
      Not sure about your shit stirring reference , unless you know what i do for a living.

• Sean C 27/11/11 #

The racist commentary here is absolutely appalling and disgusting, I’m ashamed I hold an Irish passport.

• Sean please don’t be ashamed. It’s good it’s out in the open. It’s mostly fear. Feel sorry for the racists – they’re only wimps. I’m proud you’re Irish!

• Sean C 27/11/11 #

Thanks Reada, Ireland is coming of such a low base on this issue that it’s going to be a long road. In the meantime I just hope that tea party politics doesn’t arrive in Ireland and harness it for it’s own agenda. Tea party politics is like cancer, it arrives unannounced and unnoticed, but it eventually destroys it’s host.

• why ashamed to hold Irish an Passport? are you suggesting everyone that has an Irish Passport are racist? Anyway I believe some of the views expressed here are due to frustration and ignorance, but don’t be so quick to judge a nation by comments of the few.

• Sean C 27/11/11 #

No David not everyone, I’m ashamed because my Irish passport puts me in the same category as them, guilty by association if you will. Judging a nation by the actions of a few is the definition of racism which is the point I’m trying to get across. I hope you’re right and they are the “few” because the red thumbs of the lurkers indicate otherwise.

• No David, everyone who is white is automatically racist. We need to end the white race now. Of course blacks and brown people are never racist to each other, you never find blacks and brown people expressing a preference for people of their own race with lighter skin or looking down on those with darker skin.

• Hey we need new blood in Ireland, Ireland for the world, welcome

• I hate racism of any kind….there is no excuse for it….. I find it amusing when Irish people who have never worked say they (Africans) are coming over here taking our dole as if somehow they are entitled to live off the state because they are white and Irish – however I have witnessed a lot of African people behave terribly, be aggressive on the road, skip queues & park where ever it suits, drive with no tax or insurance…. I also know Irish people who do that…..why is it if we complain about Africans doing it then we are called racist ?? Surely they have to take responsibility for their actions too & try to embrace the culture, the law & what’s socially acceptable in this country. I’d be interested in Sean C & Reada’s view or anyone else who red thumbs my comment – back it up by explaining what they disagree with in what I’ve written.

• Duirt sé./ He siad ‘ so after a while I made a decision that I was just not going to take on representations from black Africans’ (Irish Times)

Comhlíonann seo an sainmhíniú ar chiníochas/ This fulfills the definition of racism.

• Scully insists “I’m not a racist……..but”

• Ìs it possible to reply this comment?

• Mr.Scully expressed HIS experience. That is not racist.
      In his experience the only group to be consistantly bad behaved were the black Africans in Naas. No other group as a rule, and in general numbers, behaved to him like that. That was his EXPERIENCE. It is a true event about a true group of people. It was not any other grouping whi in general behaved that way, it wa only the grouping of black Africans who in general DID behave that way. That is what he encountered, that is his EXPERIENCE, that is not racist.

• Christ I think that everybody should just agree that there are people in Ireland that can be racist. Some are white ,some are black. @ Reada your right about Africans they did get a shitty time in there own countries, we know because it was happening to us in Ireland at the same time. Personally I don’t give a crap what colour you are as long you are here to work not to be a leach on the state. (We have enough of them they are called retired ministers).

• so the mayor needs educating about ethnic minorities?

• And you’re intolerant and discriminatory towards Africans and you’re a disgusting creature for saying that.

• if dis mans family r him r been threatened, wat 4 expressin a view, alot of emergrants r ripin dis country off, n im 4 free movement within d eu, wen did dar countrys join d eu, dar scamin our welfare day i n out, i only hav2 look out my front door 2 c dem at it, they complain about refuge sites dat dar fed n educated 4 free, well if dats tuff y dont day return home if dar so hard done by, n im sorry but iv been ripped off by dis group via taxis far 2 often, day r scamim welfare n dats a fact,no of 1 dat nearly killed a citizen n had 2 b deported bk on charted flight at irish tax payers expence dat cost hundred thousands, wake up IRELAND, n taxis free choice who we use, its our money who we chose 2 travel with, so now im rasist 4 my view on free speach, well tuff??

• At last a person who speaks his mind,the cost may outweigh his motive,I would support him.

• look grow up, we havent d finances 2 look after our own, wer part of d eu movement free trade, so how hav we mor livin here outside d eu, dares plenty i cud mention from wat my nigerean work friends hav told me, but im bitin my lip???

Add New Comment