TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Fine Gael investigating Mayor’s race comments

The party has distanced itself from comments made by the Mayor of Naas, Fine Gael councillor Darren Scully, who said he will no longer be dealing with ‘black Africans’ in his constituency.

Mayor of Naas Darren Scully pictured with Fine Gael Leader Enda Kenny TD with school children in Kill National School in Kill County Kildare, on day two of the General Election 07.
Image: Eamonn Farrell / Photocall

FINE GAEL IS investigating comments made by the Mayor of Naas, Darren Scully, on radio today.

Mayor Scully, who is a Fine Gael councillor, said on KFM Radio today that he would no longer be dealing with ‘black Africans’ in Naas and would instead pass their concerns onto his colleagues.

Mayor Scully made the comments in order to explain his appearance on the Late Show on Classic Hits 4FM last night, where he was accused of racism by Rosanna Flynn from Residents Against Racism.

He told KFM Radio that he experienced aggression from people trying to receive housing in Naas:

I have been met with aggressiveness, I have been met with bad manners, I have also been played the race card.

He said that based on that, and people telling him “you will help white people, but you don’t help black people,” he had made a decision that he was not going to take on representations from black African in Naas.

He said that it saddened him that people would call him a racist, as he is not.

He said that “everything I do as a councillor is for the common good” and that he doesn’t make an issue of this at council meetings.

A spokesperson from Fine Gael told TheJournal.ie that the matter was under investigation.

He said:

The views expressed by Councillor Scully do not reflect the views of Fine Gael, and they are not party policy. Fine Gael is an inclusive party and we are trying to build a country that caters for all. The party will be looking into the matter of Councillor Scully’s comments further.

Mayor Scully told TheJournal.ie he could not comment further on his statements, as the matter is under investigation.

Labour TD Aodhán Ó Riordain said today that he is to report Mayor Scully to the Gardaí:

Meanwhile, Labour TD Ciara Conway has said she is appalled by Cllr Scully’s comments.

Writing on the Labour website, she said:

As a mother of a new generation of Irish people, I am absolutely disgusted and sickened by these appallingly ignorant and disgustingly racist comments.

She added that she believed Mayor Scully should be removed from public office.

How dare a public representative exercise such selectivity? How exactly is he defining people of African origin? I have a daughter of mixed parentage, and she’s among a new generation of non-Caucasian Irish citizens. Would Mayor Scully handle her queries?

Show Racism the Red Card co-ordinator Garrett Mullan said:

The qualification for Mr Scully’s comments that ‘I am not racist’ is bizarre. There cannot be an acceptance of racism within politics in Ireland.  Elected representatives have a responsibilty to their constituents. There can be no justification for discriminating against all people of a given background on the basis of supposed ‘rudeness’ of some. He should resign from his office.

Listen: Darren Scully on KFM Radio (mp3) >

Read: Special meeting of Naas Town Council called following Mayor’s comments>

Read next:

Comments (214 Comments)

• I hear you’re a racist now father

• BTW. It actually is not racist to call someone black.Never has been and from the people I know in school who were frustrated with being called everything from “members of the African community” “Coloured people” “African American” .They quite simply said.Our colour is not an issue.We are black you are white.
    The Census asks people are they black.
    Irish people have a bit of a hang up over the word.But its actually the correct word to use. Now that goes without saying tone of voice and context have a huge part to play too.

• I think it is part of the African culture to be quite aggressive when dealing with people. I have experienced it myself.

It is a clash of cultures and I think some of the African community need to learn that it is generally not how we act when dealing with people, especially when the person in question is often trying to help you.

I don’t think the above is in anyway racist, it is just an observation I have noticed of many (not all) africans in Ireland.

• Don’t assume that loudness/obnoxiousness/aggressiveness is a general African trait. Many African friends I’ve had over the years were some of the gentlest people you could come across. This particular manner seems to be specific to parts of Nigeria, and you’d be hard pressed to find it elsewhere in the continent.

• Waffler 22/11/11 #

until recently i was working in a customer service job close to the nigerian embassy. all my coworkers hated working the day shift due to the constant abuse from nigerians, particularly towards female staff. they seemed to be fine with me maybe because im an older male but the way they treated women and younger men was disgraceful. we dealt with many other africans, kenyans, zimbabweans etc and you couldnt meet nicer people but for some reason a lot of nigerians have an aggressive attitude.

• EM 22/11/11 #

I know a number people with very similar experiences. Many Nigerians in particular can be very aggressive and often play the race card when they don’t get what they want so his attitude is understandable ****to a point****. But as a public representative his job is to represent all the public, not cherry pick who he wants to deal with. That’s what he’s paid to do and if he doesn’t want to do it he should resign.

• Interesting that it takes something like this to cause people to start screaming about racism. Less than five miles from Naas in Newbridge there is a building that is supposed to be a hotel and has been housing asylum seekers and black Africans for almost a decade. The owners were getting in the region of 15-20k per week at one stage for this accommodation (don’t know what the figure is now). These centres are all over the country and are creating institutionalised racism, a them and us scenario. So, if all you racism haters really hate it get on to your local Labour and FG TD and ask them why the taxpayer is paying lots of millions a year to create a segregated black and white future. The end.

• I think he is expressing his frustrations at the attitude and the violence aimed at him from that specific community in his personal dealings, nowhere did he say he believed them to be a lesser race or less entitled to some form representation because of race, I think this country is infected with political correctness and if life were oh so ideal sure wouldn’t it be grand.

I have worked with and seen exactly what the guy is talking about and had the race card thrown at me a few times. In my opinion, anybody who treats a person with aggressiveness and a lack of respect regardless of race should have their chance of representation cut off.

I know if I tried to abuse someone genuinely trying to help me that I would expect sanction of some form, the truth is the culture of some foreign nationals living here means they are very quick to take to violence and abuse and yes we should respect cultural differences but why should they not look at our culture which is generally led with respect and manners? We Irish blame ourselves for this a lot why not ask someone who would come here as a refugee/asylum seeker to behave better and show more respect? Is that so Alien a concept?

• I might add that more often than not, I have had positive dealings with foreign nationals trough work.

• ANY individual who is aggressive should not be tolerated, irrespective of ethnicity or background. I have had to deal with some particularly rude and obnoxious *elderly* people in the course of my work. That doesn’t give me the right to refuse to deal with all elderly people. We have to deal with these issues on a case by case basis. The man is clearly not cut out for public life.

• Of course there are differences to notice with the elderly, infirm or people with diminished responsibility, the same as if you were a child crying or kicking up a tantrum but for people sound of mind that should know where the line is? Who should know respect, the more I read into this the more I see a high percentage of people dealing with people from certain demographics plainly get bullied mostly via the race card but in my opinion there is no need for aggression or violent behavior.

• I don’t condone what he said but it is ridiculous that the only time the issue of immigration is ever discussed is when something like this happens.

• How do you know Niamh that he hasn’t been abused by all Africans he has dealt with???? How could you possibly know that? It is you who is guilty of coming to a conclusion based your own generalisation. This mayor has come to a specific decision based on his own personal experiences. He should not have to take abuse from anyone and to be accused of being racist by people who are looking for a free house is absolutely disgusting.

• So his response to being called a racist is to announce that from now on he will discriminate based on race. Clever move…

• The picture above is f***ing gift!!

“You think I’m passing it to you?? You seen the movie, ‘White Men Can’t Jump’??

• Darren Scully is entitled to his own opinions even though I don’t agree with them, I would prefer someone to be open about how he feels he has been treated by a section of his community rather than being politically correct in public while pushing a different agenda behind closed doors…….

• Stupid comments by the Councillor – he should have highlighted the abuse by stating that he was having difficulties with certain individuals from the black community – but tarring them all with the one brush is plainly stupid.

I have met many individuals from the black community and there certainly is a huge range of personalities amongst them, no different to the Irish. I have met the most polite characters and also met some of the “entitled to everything” ignorant types.

The immigrant community (if they don’t already) should really be made attend induction classes – just like the ones the Irish in Toronto attend (as shown on RTEs “Arrivals” program last night)

Funnily enough I had a few instances of “reverse” racism when in Spain. You were treated rather coldly by the locals until they found out I was Irish… the Spanish locals detest the English and their whole attitude to me changed upon donning the green jersey!!!

The Irish though, still get stick… ask anyone working in Poland at the moment what it is like there… terrible stuff altogether.

• Fully agree Daniel. There should be mandatory integration classes for immigrants moving to Ireland, particularly when such large cultural differences exist between western and developing societies. And ultimately it is the responsibility of the new arrivals to adapt to the host culture when problems arise.

But racist comments from the likes of Darren Scully will not help that process and only encourage the ‘us and them’ mentality which has caused so many problems in countries with more experience in this area.

• If I could get a free house and benefits in Africa I’d be there faster than usain bolts

• Ok. I think He should not have said what he said.
    Firstly I know many “black” Africans who are lovely people.
    I am studying Intercultural Studies as a module in Sociology and 2 weeks ago we had a solicitor in from NASC. A lovely woman.A volunteer. She said numerous times she’s been called a racist. This brought a chuckle to the room,As there is a general feeling the race card is thrown around all too much by generally well meaning people who really don’t know what they are talking about.She also said numerous times men seeking legal advice have some times belittled her opinion due to her being a woman.
    I think the second issue is do we want an Intercultural country or a multicultural country. ??
    Thirdly. While I was in holidays in South Africa a few years back before we had large scale immigration.I remember black south Africans speaking very negatively about one group of immigrants. South Africa has alot of Somali,Congolese and 5 million illegal Zimbabweans. Yet I never heard complaints about them.It was Nigerians.
    I went to school with Nigerians ,Who used to say that shouting was part of the Nigerian way when they were angry,but our teachers would not accept it.Their attitude is in Ireland. We don’t shout at each other.If you do.its intimidation,Which is unacceptable, So do we actually come out and say. Shouting at people is unacceptable behaviour in Ireland, Do we as a society say.People who come here.While they are free to have their culture and religion ,must realise certain things and actions are culturally offensive to the Irish and we have a right to ask them not to behave as such.
    I was unemployed and have seen Nigerians abuse staff in the Community Welfare Office. It seems to be when they are frustrated.There is an over reaction to cause a scene.
    I am not sure many Irish know what racism really and truely is. I have lived abroad and been a victim of racism .I have been a victim of sectarianism in this country too. Its vile and disgusting and makes one feel very angry ,but while abroad I accepted cultures and accepted, My way was not there way, So I adapted and could find a middle ground. Is it too much to ask for the same here.

I don’t think he can state all black africans are rude.I know the nicest black Zimbabweans and Kenyans. I have fantasticly kind Rwanadan neighbours who have lived here for 2 decades, but too often other africans here are lumped in together and everyone presumes they are all Nigerians.

I know this will offend the PC brigade but I am trying to be fair.Its a two way street and there are two sides to every story. How about we ask people Nigerians along with everyone,To realise shouting is unacceptable ,be that cultural or genuine frustration.

• So what do you do if a particular group of people are consistantly rude and aggressive towards you. Drunks are not tolerated in hospital if they are rude, offensive or aggressive towards the medical staff and the hospital will refuse to treat them. I would like to see more criticism of the people behaving like this.

• Spot on, I would love to see honest people who have worked in a position where they had to deal with this daily to come on here and say they agree with what is being echoed from many sectors in this country.

• That’s my point. Nobody should treat people in an aggressive way but it’s their actions not the race that’s the issue. If he said I refuse to deal with aggressive people , then that’s fair enough, but to say I won’t deal with black Africans is where he was wrong

• Your ‘drunks at hospitals’ analogy is nonsense. ‘Drunks’ are not a group of people, they are individual people in a particular state. Hospitals treat them all the time, if they did not a lot more people would be dying after a night out.

If a redhead from Kerry is rude and aggressive towards staff in a clinic, they are entitled to refuse to deal with that person. But it would be wrong of the hospital to henceforth refuse to deal with all redheads from Kerry. Even if ten Kerry redheads were rude to staff in a week, they still know nothing about the next such person who happens in and know nothing about the general character of Kerry redheads. Next week they might have a series of unpleasant incidents with brunettes from Donegal. Where would it end?

People, regardless of hair colour, place of birth, skin colour, gender, ethnicity or anything else are individuals, and should be treated as individuals.

• What if it the Kerry redhead was drunk? Would that skew things?

• So why does the motor insurance industry put all young drivers into the same category.

• He is damn right. I stopped working with Irish in London and things became a lot better for me.

Pair of you, listen to yourselves…

• I have just put a full podcast of the complete interview with Darren Scully from last night’s show (almost 2 hours long) up on the show’s page at http://4fm.ie/lateshow

• There is an issue with to the democratic process here. Scully is an elected Councillor & as such has both a moral & ethical responsibility to represent ALL his constituents. If he finds he cannot do that there is only one honourable course open to him!

• Hari-kiri?

• “his constituents”

Depends on what you mean by constituents. Are people in Africa his constituents. They may as well be, all they have to do is land here and say asylum, drag us through the courts costing us millions, then get to stay here if they drag it out long enough or get an Irish woman pregnant or through time are able to say their main concern is now in Ireland, thus they get to stay here.

Now there are 160million people in Nigeria, how many millions want to come here, and right now, all of them are potential constituents of Scully. When they get here, how many will you put up in your house?

• I wonder is the fact that Ó Riordáin reported Scully to the Gardaí, as opposed to anyone else, or even someone from Naas, a hint of a fissure appearing in the coalition?

• I can fully understand Scully’s decision to distance himself from those playing the racist card. I experienced the same aggression and intimidation from those wanting more than they were entitled to..”is it because I am black that you will not give me this ?”. As for demands for his resignation, Conor Lenihan didn’t see the need to do so following his comments regarding Turkish construction workers !!

• Would you all have the same reaction if he made comments about Travellers? Only saying ..

• The kid in the photo is not playing ball with him or Enda, even he knows he’s a racist

• Darren Scully for Taosaigh

• Another example of the High Intellect of our current bunch of Elected Representatives.
    If you are a representative of the People – then you represent ALL the people.
    If you don’t want to do that – well then go get yourself another job.

• Bazza 22/11/11 #

I think Darren Scully is right.
    He does not have to take abuse from anyone.

He has arrived at this point from his experience, which is real for him.

He speaks his mind and is not afraid to say what many think.

I live in Kildare and know what it is like down here in shops and taxis.

The only thing Darren has done wrong is to articulate his views publicly.

• while I don’t agree with his cooments blanking of a section of his community – the man has a valid point. He is entitled to work in a safe environment without agression or the race card being thrown at him. No doubt the bleeding heart brigade will take up a his rejection of Africans rather than their treatment of him. If he feel unfairly treated by a section of the community then he should be able to voice that without the rabble honking and tooting for his head.

• @Rob the man needs to harden up if he is getting a hard time from the African community then maybe he needs to listen and try and sort the issues out instead of running away like a scared little boy!!!

• @marie, I don’t understand – he needs to harden up? Would you say this is a woman was being abused in her workplace? I doubt it. Would you call her ” a scared little girl” I doubt it – your agenda and predjudice are evident. How do you know he can sort the issues? Maybe he does have the remit. African politics is far removed from irish politcs. Maybe his african constituents have a unrealistic view of what political office can do?

• @Rob come on now don’t compare him to the average worker he is a Mayor of Naas &member of the Fine Gael party he has got some backbone and ambition to get to that position. I believe it is his responsibility as a political party member to win the African community over and not walk away from them and wash his hands of them like he has done. In my opinion he has failed to be an effective Mayor and has let the Fine Gael party down.

• “No doubt the bleeding heart brigade will take up a his rejection of Africans rather than their treatment of him.”

Yeah, let’s hurriedly gloss over the overt racism of the Mayor’s utterances and get to the nub of the issue – rudeness.

Christ.

• You should see the unbelievably racist comments on breakingnews. I don’t know why I torture myself looking at them! The difference in the type of people commenting is very evident. There are so many “good for him” comments. Scary.

I think he should definitely resign. Can authority figures in this country embarrass us anymore? A person in his position should have the ability to handle all people of all ages, sex and race. Even if he has experienced rudeness in the past, so what? Most of us working with people on a daily basis come in contact with all types of personalities but you stay professional and use your expertise to resolve issues. Not only is this an example of him being racist but it also highlights his inability to do his job. He is like a child moaning that his sums are “too hard” and asking someone else to do them for him! Suck it up Darren, yeah it’s not easy – that’s why they call it a job!

• Old school breaking news: http://www.breakingnews.ie/text/

It’s great.

• @ Rachel Aherne

You are so wrong actually he just said as thousands of Irish people feel and wanted our elected officials to say for once with out the spineless politicians and “Do Gooders” jumping in and all using the Race Card which has been so worn out by now it is past a joke.

Nigerians by nature are a very aggressive people and have always been and always will be they treat women and all others with total bad manners and always want every thing their way and when they demand it.

We have no direct flight routes with Nigeria so the thousands the sneaked in here unofficially and drained all our welfare and health systems should have been deported as they would have had to seek asylum in the first port they land or arrive at so this could not have been Ireland ??

So again as any first year law student would tell you they are are here illegally but we have been duped so long now and like the sheep we are we are afraid to open the mouths when needed because the race card gets thrown up again and again we the Irish people are been racially abused on a daily basis by Nigerians and nothing is been done about this ??? now this is not Racist but a Realist

• I feel sorry for those poor black africans not because they won’t be represented by this fool ( unless you earn over 100,000 your not going to be represented by FG anyway) I feel sorry for them because they ended ip in Naas. What a kip

• What about white Africans, or slightly tanned africans from Libya and the likes, will he still be representing them?

Im sure all the many Irish born ”blacks” are relieved as he has stated it’s just Black Africans he will be shunning.

• “I have been met with aggressiveness, I have been met with bad manners” – well boo hoo. He’s a public representative. And after their next budget, continuity Fianna Fail better get used to it.

• Can I just say I love the photograph with this article? Well done Journal.ie.

• His personal frustrations from experience was obvious, but personal frustration as a public representative is not part of what is allowed. His ability to retain a public role with what is expected may be overstretched by his personal misgivings for the job. Finding a prejudice is very easy to do in this time but finding out your human can be very difficult to do in public. Mistakes are often opportunities for change.

• Every public representative represents his or her constituents, ALL of them, whether they have the vote or not (since many non-nationals cannot vote). What fool would decide not to represent a certain race in reaction to accusations of racism? Ludicrous, Ó Riordáin is perfectly right to report it and Scully should be removed from office.

• BUT, I forgot to mention, that there are those amongst the immigrant community who are aggressive etc. as Scully said, but removing represenation of presumably thousands of black Africans who are law abiding is wrong.

• again @ Liam Whealan

You are showing that you are the sheep lead type that falls for the race card Mayor Scully said exactly what thousands of us wanted to be said a long time ago and now let the deportations start that should have been done before we have no welfare or health systems left and we are a minority in our own country

They do not need to vote they only want to drain all our services and demand every they want when they want it even though they are here illegally and arrived with no passports and are still using the race card that has been worn way past its sell by date and in fact Nigerians have been and currently are racially abusing Irish people on a daily basis wake up your “Do Gooder” attitude is what is killing Ireland and what the Irish people need and want their elected officials to grow a pair and start deportations yesterday

• *Whelan, many of those non-nationals you mentioned can actually type. Personally, I think our borders should not be left wide open and never should have been. There are many non-nationals who do not deserve to be here but there are just as many nationals who are mistreating the system and their fellow citizens. I would be in favour of deporting any non-national who commits a crime BUT, that is a different matter. With regard that mayor, he said something which some may agree with but that is not PC. AND, how dare you simply generalise the entire african community. It is just as bad as a British person believeing all Irish people are in the I.R.A. or everyone in FF is a gombeen or a fatcat. Generalisations are simply insulting to those within the target grouping who are law abiding and do not deserve such treatment. I am glad the Mayor resigned.

• well said Tony Murray

• John 22/11/11 #

Scully is a twat at the best of times. Loves to be controversial. Trued to ban Oxygen festival some times back. This case however will be blown out of all proportion.

• You know what he’s dead right with the comments he made, those Africans have the country fleeced, they have every benifit you would care to mention. They are laughing at us in this country, we tax and cut our own people while these fraudsters sit back and indulge in the handouts which the the government are only too happy give them for fear of reprisal from some of the do gooders we have here. I’m far from racist but I have seen how these people operate, it’s no wonder that the Irish people are now suffering and having to leave their homeland, that mayor might be a clown but he said aloud what most of us are thinking, well done

• Ah sure, colour is a very intelligent way to make reasonable judgements about things, so it is! I mean everyone knows green cars, houses and clothes (for example) are better because of their colour, what not use the same brilliant farking logic when it comes to people?

And I am sure he didn’t make anyone angry or frustrated with him when they had to deal with him because he was a racist to start with, and so treated them with condescension and lack of respect, oh no, it’s all their fault! Oh, and he’s only discriminating against black Africans, so white ones would be OK? Some representative of the people, he’d have loved apartheid.

• Darren Scully is totally correct in what he said, promote the guy make him minister for immigration…

• Sean C 23/11/11 #

He’s too busy with his goose stepping lessons.

• Now what Ciarán O Griofa has said is the best by far comment i have seen on here.

Mayor Scully was 100 % correct and we need to start mass deportations ASAP or we will have no social welfare system or health systems left for the Irish citizens as it will have been used up totally by the Nigerians and non nationals

• Under the Incitement To Hatred Act 1989 it would seem that Mr. Scully has only successfully incited hatred towards the himself and not towards the Africans he referred to. I doubt he’ll press charges against himself.

• In the words of alan partridge…Ya daft racist!

• thtas what they get for not passing the ball to enda see pic (sorry I couldnt resist).

• What is it with Fine Gael mayors? The last two mayors of Limerick Jim Long and Kevin Kiely are idiots as well, and none too shy about getting stuck into ethnic minorities either. Isn’t it quite ironic that Daren Scully responds to accusations that he will not help black people by declaring he won’t help black people. Twit. Although in fairness he said africans rather then balck people so presumably whites from Zimbabwe and South Africa, and Arabs from Libya, the Sudan, Egypt and Tunisia shouldn’t expect any representation from the mayor if they choose to move to Naas.

• At last someone with the guts to stand up to the PC brigade. Bravo. You want to know what racism was like? Speak to a black man or woman who lived in Alabama in the 50s or in 1970s south Africa, now that’s what I call racism, Vol 1!!

• Don’t you have homework to do?

• Nice distraction from the budget.

• Having lived in this incredibly backward and narrow-minded town for over ten years, this hardly surprises me. It’s incredible to think that in this day and age a politician would ever say such appalling things on live radio, and honestly thing there was nothing wrong with it.
    What sort of an example is he setting? Naas has a large number of immigrants in it’s community, I used to feel incredibly sorry for them. I came ALL the way from Dublin and got abused for this. Many are shunned and treated as outsiders, and I’m sure this is popular of many towns around Ireland. But to have the Mayor refer to them as “black Africans” is outrageous. And where else are they meant to go when they have a problem? If the ignorance continued then there will be a massive divide within the community, and this never has a positive outcome.

• Well said. He is a gobshite to think that that his attitude is acceptable.

• “Narrowminded”, “backward?”

blatant Naasism!

• I believe that calling Naas narrow-minded and backward is pretty justified. I know there are some amazing people there and everything but the MAYOR aka the spokesperson for the town is an out and out racist.He could have so easily said “I will no longer deal with rude people (regardless of race etc)” but he didnt. This = backward and narrow-minded.

Good pun though!

• @ Katie Kelly

He is saying what we all wanted to hear from an elected official for once the truth and how they are crippling our country.
      Nigerians are a very aggressive race and always have been and the majority that sneaked into Ireland with no passports etc have sucked the life out of the social welfare and health systems and much more.

They should have been deported before now but because of weak sheep politicians and so called “Do Gooders” that actually do more harm they have flooded more into Ireland and are scamming every single system they possibly can

So Mayor Scully said what needed to be said and much more needs to be done by deporting all illegal Nigerians and non nationals ASAP and start looking after our own poor citizens and the elderly

so stop helping them with your racist comments the comments are Realist not racist and totally true and about time we heard them as we all want to much more

• What is really backward and narrow-minded, is that you would not dare describe any African or Arab town, country or people in that way.

Ireland has a people and culture that is indigenous to it, we have every right just like every other culture in the world to be proud of it and to defend it. We have every right to have our country, our land for us. Our ancestors fought and sacrificed so that we could have better access to the resources our country affords us, not for descendants of other lands who have their own land, people and cultures.

• Darren Scully is a racist. Sorry if this makes him sad.

• This is hardly the first racist comment from a Fine Gael politician. There is an extreme right wing emerging with the Fine Gael Party.

• ”I wonder what roll the church is takin Father, cause I couldnt devote meself full time to the ol racism, durin’ the day I do the farm work and at night I just like a nice cuppa tae!

• Labour TD Aodhan O’Riordain is reporting Darren Scully to the Guards, what blatant opportunism!

I disagree with what Scully has said but he has every right to say it and he shouldn’t be prosecuted for saying what he believes.

• If he is prosecuted and found guilty, well then he doesn’t have a ‘right’ to say it. I think that’s the whole point.

• Wrong. He made his bigoted comments in the context of being the FG Mayor of Naas which makes what he said much more serious. People in positions of power need to be held accountable for their actions and certainly held to a higher standard. Inciting hatred on grounds of race, sexuality etc is illegal in this country and rightly so.

• You can be prosecuted for saying what you believe, if what you believe incites hatred against a whole ethnic group. Look up “the Holocaust” on a computer with an internet connection, for more information on why this is so.

As for “every right”. Our rights as citizens aree curtailed by the law. If He has broken the law then he does not have the right, which is for the police and the judicial system to decide. Or are you a high court judge or legal professional?

• Word Fail. Fine Gael.

• Come on now, just reaction from labour? Hardly gonna be newsworthy. What did his fellow FG councillors have to say? Save their skins, stand in unity or hide behind the investigation?

• Thank god for fools like Darren Scully. It takes men like him to get us talking. “All that it takes for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing”

• What an ignorant tosser! Ignore the fact that what he’s doing is one of the most racist actions ever taken by an Irish politician for a moment. Who does he think he is, picking and choosing who he represents?

• Get with the programme Peter, they ALL pick and choose who they represent, and it certainly aint any of us in here!!!!

• I suppose I’m naive to think that public representatives could ever represent all of the public.

• I spoke to Darren Last Night on the Late Show on Classic Hits 4fm . I will be honest i was shocked by his honesty and his extreme views against the African Community and to be more precise as he said ” Black Africans” . As much as many texters and callers agreed with his views , he is a public representative and should consider everything he says very carefully . I was appalled by what can only be considered racist comments. I would always fight for the right for anybody to hold their personal views and the right to speak but they must understand the consequences of their views . I will post a link to the full two hour interview in the next 30 minutes .

• At last someone telling it as it is…..

• Mr.Scully expressed HIS experience. That is not racist.
      In his experience the only group to be consistantly bad behaved were the black Africans. No other group as a rule, and in general numbers, behaved to him like that. That was his EXPERIENCE. It is a true event about a true group of people. It was not any other grouping whi in general behaved that way, it wa only the grouping of black Africans who in general DID behave that way. That is what he encountered, that is his EXPERIENCE, that is not racist.

• Are you taking the piss, Garrett? Mr. Scully stated that he was no longer willing to carry out his duties in relation any and all Black Africans. That IS RACIST. It’s the definition of racism. That his experience shaped it is irrelevant. He is a racist individual who carried out a racist act.

• I see all the anti-racist and antifa crowd have got on to their facebook activist buddies to get on all the internet sites and start commenting and thumbing comments, in their shock and horror at seeing the amount of support Scully had from the good and decent people of Ireland.

We are Irish this is Ireland, we have every right to say no to immigration and to have this land and it’s resources for our children and their children. That is what our ancestors fought and sacrificed for. Otherwise the Irish and our culture will be no more.

• No Peter, this is a very serious issue, it concerns the very destruction in time of European cultures. Mr.Scully did not describe a race in his comments, he was describing his experiences as a councillor and his dealings with a certain group of people. This time it happens to be black Africans who beahved in a repeated, consistant, predictable aggressive manner. Thus like any scientist, he could say with certainty, this is how I am being treated (as it happened to him) by this group, and now I am closing shop.
      Also Peter, you may have noticed he said he was ‘pained’ that he saw his own Irish not being able to get things while foreigners could come in make demands and jump the que.
      In Tralee, council houses have gone to foreigners over Irish people who have been waiting for them for 7 years. Mr.Scully’s comments are made in the light of trying to defend the Irish people, how many of those Irish people went on to become homeless and died?
      Immigration is the same as invasion, the results of suffering and death on the Irish people are the same. And we have people like you supporting the death and suffering of Irish people.

• “Mr.Scully did not describe a race in his comments”

Garrett, you have to be taking the piss. Mr. Scully mentioned that he would no longer represent Black Africans. What part of that is not mentioning a race?

I’m supporting the suffering and death of Irish people? That’s frankly libellous and I’m appalled at you. I insist that public representatives represent the entire public body and you accuse me of this? I’m at pains not to use stronger language to respond to you.

• @Donald: fantastic point.

• sorry didnt realize it wasnt visible, it say’s looters will be killed. Its a pic of some old buck after the New Orleans floods protecting his property. Maybe i am racist id like to think im not because i genuinely have massive time for most ethnic groups in work and socially i have to be honest tho i just cant deal with Nigerians. I didn’t mean to get up peoples backs but its just my opinion.

• emmm, Randy, this racist FG git tated clearly on Radio that he did not want to represent ANYONE with an African background. How on earth can you not call this Racism .. and excuse the pun, the issue is ‘Black and White’. Either FG kick this guy out of their party, or they are sending a very clear message to the people that FG are the Irish equivalent of the BNP.

• Ironic how he’s wearing a blueshirt in that photo then.

• And lets not forget his boss dropping an N-bomb in 2002!

• Love this, more people seem to think its okay for Enda Kenny to use that goddamn word than dont think its okay. Some world we live in.

• Too true, however let’s not forget that the like and dislike button’s are pretty dumb really (in the non-pejorative sense) Fx, people clicking ‘dislike’ could easily dislike your comment, or dislike the fact that Kenny used the word ‘nigger.’ It’s a tool that makes you feel like you’re contributing to a discussion, but often it blurs communication rather than aiding it.

• True, I dont think bringing up the fact that our Taoiseach is partial to a little bit of slaveowner slang is something that would warrant a dislike though. Maybe thats just me…

• If you think todays Fine Gael are anything like the blueshirts who actually loved this country, it’s culture and people, and would have not allowed immigration plantation and colonisation, and would have told the EU and their international bankers where to go, you are much mistaken.

• alzee 22/11/11 #

I think #darrenscully should be commended for his stance.Kudos to him he is only saying what we are all thinking.And as for the way Africans drive there untaxed/uninsured cars…don’t get me started.

• Heard him on the radio last night. Properly disgusting individual.

• Irish people are idiots. Black Africans. Is to broad a term. Africa is huge. Irish people assume that if your black your African. Then your dodgy. The truth is, colour is irrelevant. It has far more for to do with where you are from, and your background.
    Talking about Nigeria. A black Zimbabwean whom I lived with did not trust nigerians. There not all dodgy but a lot of dodgy people come from there. It’s just so happens there black.

Imagine if all the travellers some how got displaced to Nigeria. Would the Nigerians be right by saying all Irish white people are dodgy and not to be trusted.

There are far to many dumb ass racists on this thread. You need to grow up and embrace multicultural Ireland. As its the future.

• Would you all have the same reaction if he made comments about Travellers? Only saying ..

• Looks like the spirit of Eoin O’Duffy is alive and well in FG.

• Huh, so, this is the type of person that gets to be a mayor. Says alot.

• The problem here is that he doesn’t realise he is racist and judging by some of the comments and the red thumbs I suspect he isn’t the only one.

• Ok the man is an idiot . If he has problems dealing with a certain group in his community then get practical help -like an interpreter . He should just resign .

• As these Nigerians you dealt with we’re all different people and therefore have different attitudes and manners, the only common denominator in your bad dealings was you. Possibly your attitude got their backs up.

• Even the obnoxious Nick Griffin from the fascist British National Party chooses his words more carefully. Mr Scully holds a public office and it is incumbent on him to deal with any member of the public who seeks a meeting with him. Regardless of race, colour, religion, gender,sexual orientation etc . . . . If he cannot fulfil that duty he must be removed. Any public official who finds a member of the public abusive, as he claims some people have been, has a procedure for dealing with that. And I very much doubt the guidelines include the dismissal of entire sections of the community. Goodbye, Mr Scully, please close the door behind you.

• Racism is a cancer and must be cut out immediately. Whilst he cannot be deprived of his seat he can be forced out of his mayoralty.

I witnessed and experienced, at first hand, Anti-Irish racism in London in the fifties and find it distressing that over half a century later the same thing is happening in Ireland. Have we learnt nothing?

• @Peter very well said, it amazes me how Irish people treat foreigners in this country not to mention the travelling community its downright disgusting. Some Irish people seriously need their arses kicked!!!

• Completely unacceptable and quite possibly illegal behaviour. As a public representative, he has a duty to represent everyone and his blanket comdemnation of all Africans in the town is the very definition of racism.

He has the right to refuse to deal with individuals who are aggressive but not to discriminate against a class of people on grounds of race.

FG as a party also has work to do on that whole “inclusive” thing. This is the party after all that had as its equality (!) spokesperson a woman who supports discrimination against gay people and they continue to oppose marriage equality. There have also been bigoted outbursts against Travellers among FG representatives over the years.

Just to point out as well – Mr Scully is no lowly Cllr and has been a Dail candidate for FG on more than one occasion.

• Yes describing ones experience at the hands of a segment of people living in your locale who repeatedly and consistantly behave in an aggressive manner toward you, making demands for council houses above the heads of Irish people waiting years for a council home, in the que.

I agree, completely unacceptable, and quite possibly treasonous, those who allowed these immigration policies could be charged with treason.

• Would they ‘have to feel inferior’ because of their skin colour? It’s not about skin colour it’s about manners and showing a sense of gratitude. This is what irks the said councillor.

• A public representative is someone who is elected by the public. Is the Mayor of Naas elected by the public?

• Theyre all feckin racists anyway!!!! In the rich people verses the poor people sense!!! Shower of idiots!!

• FG not being a party to give a toss about minorities is hardly news.

The real issue here is Ciara Conway having gone and mothered a whole new generation of Irish people. If they all grow up to be Labour voters then bang goes my hopes of seeing a left-wing Irish government in my lifetime.

• I do hope all the people he has disenfranchised make it to the poll booth the next time and show Scully the door.

• He shouldn’t make it to the door, he should be given the boot pronto.

• The fact that they must live in Ireland over five years, pay the best part of 900 euro fill in citizen forms and they may get a chance to Vote. The only people that he has disenfranchised are a small group who may or may be eligible to vote in Ireland.

• @ Marie Nic Siota

Mayor Scully said exactly what Most decent Irish citizens are feeling and are so happy one of our politicians told the truth

Nigerians have abused all our social welfare systems and used the so called Race card to the extreme it it was past the joke you need to wake up like so many of the so called “Do Gooders” who have helped them rampage our welfare and health centres etc on a daily basis we are been racially abused by Nigerians on a daily basis 3 years now

• Lamb 22/11/11 #

Enda you need to ask this guy to leave the party post haste. He needs to give up his seat on the council, he has no mandate as he has openly stated he will not represent ALL of the people.

• He’s a sad man. If people annoy you it’s because they are annoying or you don’t have the skills to deal with them. Their colour or race has nothing to do with it. He can say some of my constituents annoy me and I find it hard to deal with them but to say black or white people annoy me is just stupid. Maybe he’s not up to the job or he has some personal issues he needs to deal with. Hating him though makes us no better. He is to be pitied really and maybe he needs to re consider his career options.

• Regina

You have lost the reason for what this about

Mayor Scully was 100% correct and said what thousands have been wanting to hear for a long time

The race card has been worn out by Nigerians who the majority of are here fraudulently

Open your eyes and stop been the race card lead sheep

• Yes he is very sad, he said he was pained at Irish people being used as doormats by immigration invasion policy

• Amazing to see all the closet racists in Ireland with all the red thumbs. Stop being cowards and actually voice your opinion rather than thumbing down anyone who rightfully labels this eejit a racist.

• Derry you are more than a bit lost in this discussion and it seems way over your head you should not try to comment as you seem to know very little if anything at all

The race card has been so over used here now we the Irish are been racially abused on a daily basis

• re Peter Kavanagh comment

Mayor Scully for once said exactly what Irish citizens are all feeling and wanted all our spineless politicians to say 3 years ago we are now been racially abused by Nigerians on a daily basis that race card was well and truly worn out by them they are a totally aggressive race of people you are what is know as a “Do Gooder” who actually does more harm than good and they use people like you to further their grip on all our welfare systems etc.

Grow up and smell whats around you Ireland has way to many non nationals for a country of our size and population it has nothing to do with multicultural we are all for professional types and official people being here
    but we have been taken over and they still coming in with no passports and for a country that has no direct flight routes to or from Nigeria that means that the majority should all be deported as they had to seek asylum in the first country they hand which could not have been Ireland …… Holy god when are people like you going to wake up Ireland is on its knees we need to back to basics close our borders and stop been the social welfare haven for all Nigerians etc .

• This guy needs to understand that people have different cultures and upbringing. In Nigerian culture if you are not being loud they think you have something to hide. If people are aggressive with him perhaps he needs to do his job representing them better or consider an alternative career.

My neighbor in the apartment above me is Nigerian and rather than getting my back up that I could hear all his conversations I learned a little about his culture. A little cultural awareness training for certain politicians may be in order.

• Very true. Not every race has their fire burnt out of them like we have had. At least plonkers like Scully stoke our fires for fairness and justice. And about time too.

• And maybe the affected people in Naas and your neighbour should adapt and fit in rather then excuse their behaviour as it’s what they are used to where they came from. They are here now, it’s for them to adjust and stop shouting, not for us to put up with it. Welcome to Ireland

• Let me get this right… he should change to accommodate a culture foreign to this land? Shouldn’t it be the other way around? Who gives a damn how things are done in Nigeria? He is representing Naas, not Lagos.

• He made it clear, these people were demanding things like council houses, while there is a que of Irish people in need of them, some people are waiting years. He said it pained him that Irish people are being denied while foreigners are being given things.

You have just defended foreigners being given things before Irish people who have waited years for them.

• Job Search:
    Mayor —- Non Specific—-Naas, Kildare.

Person Specification:
    The ideal Candiate must be,
    .Not Racist (Kinda helps!)

Main Duties:
    .Unsure but ideas are welcome.

Qualifications / Experience required to do the job:

.See Above,

• I agree! I had to stop using breakingnews.ie because of the utter frustration of some of the comments. Convinced it was knocking years off my life!

• that’s a stupid comment inflated out of all proportion. probably you’ve had one such conversation and you’re generalising a huge country from it. Different countries have different cultures, you got to tune in to the vibe.

• Happy to see that Darren Scully has done the right thing and stepped down. A mayor has to represent all the people, not just the ones he views as worthy.

• “Damn”, thinks Scully to himself. “Enda must be one of those cultural marxists”.

• Terrible! I hope he steps down. Imagine children hearing comments like that and having to feel inferior because of their skin colour. What an ignorant man!

• Tina C 22/11/11 #

Whatever his alleged experiences of Black Africans, his subsequent reaction to the situation demonstrates he is not equipped to deal with equality & inclusivity as the job requires. For that reason his position is at best untenable & at worst incompetent. His comments & anger do point to some degree of racism. Make him explain himself fully publicly so the public can make a fully informed opinion. Looking forward to the FG spin 2 explain this.

• What a total dickwad. Just goes to show you how stupid some politicians can be. How on earth can someone claim they are not racist when they tar an entire race like this? There are legitimate questions about immigration such as the rise of Islamism. But this is a life style choice which can be judged. But to say you wont speak to someone from the Middle East because you dont agree with Islamism would be entirely racist prejudiced and bigotted. Likewise tarring all Africans with the same brush is both inexcusable and idiotic.

• How is it a broad brush if his experience is that the black Africans he has encountered in general as a rule, behaved aggressively to him. That would indicate that rather than it just being a few people from a certain region within Nigeria, it was people from more than just Nigeria.

• In the words of Russell Brand “‘People are like Penguin bars different colour wrappers but all the same underneath”‘ so don’t ”pi pi pi pi pi pi pick up a prejudice”!!

• Derry 22/11/11 #

Personally i dont see how any Irish person can whinge about immigration seeing as its what we always used to do before the Celtic Tiger and are doing now after it- hypocrites

• While I tend to agree. We must remember the Irish abroad receive no social welfare and by and large tend to integrate fairly well into society.
      Eg.In Aus jay walking is illegal. Ireland shur we all scuttle out in between cars but over there.Most don’t. Most Irish I met generally accepted little Aussie cultural ways.
      I know when I was on the bus I used to hate talking on my phone as I felt my accent stood out and I’d be mortified when I saw Irish people drunk shouting in Bondi Junction but we quickly learnt the police have zero tolerance for that sort of behaviour.
      I know have no car back in Ireland.I regularly get the bus and its 3 hours home on a friday. I have to admit I do get allergic listening to peoples conversations on the bus but the worst culprits are Nigerians. Who feel the need to have the whole bus hear the conversation. Its only a small thing.I don’t hate them for it or anything but at times when your tired I do feel like telling them.”Sorry can you please be a little quieter. ”

The aggressive tendencies he speaks about are common within Nigerian culture. Its the way they are. But they are in Ireland and we have to meet half way and agree that while we recognise they do shout. We don’t like that. So maybe induction classes to Irish culture would do no harm.I know they do it in Canada.

• Derry 22/11/11 #

Introduction of culture classes is a great idea but the slamming of an entire race is disgusting

• Two thumbs up Barry!

• Derry by and large its a Nigerian cultural thing to shout and general aggressiveness is needed to get by in Nigeria.From what I have been told by Nigerian kids growing up here.Lagos is rough.
      But shouting is not acceptable here.Black Chinese or Muslim,Jew,Hindu or White Irish. Its unacceptable .
      I have had to deal with members of the Nigerian Community here .I’ve been abused.I have friends who worked in refugee centres. I had a lecture from a lady from NASC who said she’s been called racist countless times. I know it is a sterotype and sorry to the polite Nigerians. Who I am sure there is many, but maybe they should inform their compatriots to the fact their aggression and shouting only works against them here.
      In Ireland we don’t shout.its our culture and we are allowed to have our culture and I think its a tiny thing to ask when anyone comes here to respect that,

• Derry 22/11/11 #

the “slamming an entire race part is digusting” was directed at the story not about nigerian culture, or what you said Barry, i know thats their culture thats why i agree with the culture class idea. The point i was making is that the councillor slammed not only a culture but an entire race of people- which is racism. I should have phrased it better so not to cause confusion.

• Do you honestly think Derry if he said I refuse to work with Nigerians. It would have been seen as ok??
      My best friend is dating a beautiful Ethiopian girl.She says most people in Ireland think she’s is Nigerian and she has said Nigerians give black people in Ireland a bad name and thats what I think has happened here, The councillor is wrong to stigmatise all black africans as Kenyans and Zimbabweans and Rwandans are lovely but Nigerians to be quite honest from the dealings I have had with them.I can find quite rude.
      That includes taxi drivers. Once in Cork I questioned a fair .Straight away the response was.Your only questioning me.Because I am Nigerian. That wasn’t the reality but it pissed me off he pulled the race card on me.When I didn’ t even know he was Nigerian.

When I went to Aus.I learnt a little about Aussie culture.While hugely similar to ours.Certain things are not acceptable. ie the C*nt word.Which you’d be surprised how much Irish people use. Which I stopped using in front of Aussies as it really offended them.

• No if he had problems with some of them- ban them as individuals, the race card is used too often but in times of economic hardship, intolerance breeds.

• Travors 22/11/11 #

This comment is blatantly racist and I’ve reported it.

• At least all this debate about racism has taken our minds from the intended cut in children’s allowance and the extra 2% vat and the closing of army barracks etc., etc ., I think it was a rather stupid comment on this mans part so he should resign his seat .

• It would useful if the Mayor put forward his statistics. How many have been rude? How many have not been rude? How many ‘Irish’ have been rude? It is worth bearing in mind that many people approaching a public representative are under some strain, experiencing some dissatisfaction, etc. Threatening to not meet constituents, a blanket ban, is totally high handed. That been said we need to move away the PC position that no generalisation can ever be made, and the extreme position ‘let’s make generalisations all over the place’. There are groups, ethnic groups, that engage activity that if not quite illegal, is not quite legal. Not all of them but certainly not few. Maybe Aidan TD could turn his mind to these issues. Or better still the budget.

• I label thee a foghorn empty vessel – how’s that?

• Randy, what word is over “…will be killed” in ur pic? I had to ask!!! LOL… I admire your honesty, even if it does “upset” some people, it doesnt “upset” me!!!

• Well said Tony,spineless lot running this country!

• Tom I completely understand that. I am not supporting the mayor in this at all. My comment was more in support of those talking about Nigerian’s

• Having been elected to to be mayor for the whole community he cannot pick and choose who he is going to deal with. Delegating the job to his staff is just like saying he will only deal with business he finds pleasant and the rest he will foist on his employees. What a self-serving, irrational little baby this guy is.

Having said that, it is ridiculous that towns like his are even dealing with these problems with Africans. Letting Ireland become a country of immigrants is an huge mistake. Ireland is not America or a former colonial power like England. There is a natural logic for large scale immigration in those countries. Ireland is a very small homeland for the Irish people and has no imperative to alter itself so radically by immigration.

Add New Comment