TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Plans to make Shannon a tourist attraction unveiled

The six-year plan was produced by Clare County Council and unveiled this morning. It includes an aviation museum and ‘green infrastructure’.

Image: Google Street View

A SIX-YEAR plan for Shannon has been unveiled by Clare County Council today, and includes measures aimed at increasing the town’s tourism potential.

The Shannon town and environs local area plan is the first stand-alone town plan for the area, and was launched at Shannon International Airport. It aims to guide the future growth and development of the area over six years.

Among the objectives are a “strong and vibrant town centre”, maximising the potential from Shannon’s location on the Estuary, increasing its tourism potential, and establishing Shannon as a low carbon town.

It also looks at trying to increase the current population of 9,673 to 11,972, by providing sufficient zoned land.

Blueprint

Town Mayor Michael Fleming described the Plan as a “unique blueprint” for the future economic and social development of the town and surrounding community. Clare Mayor Pat Daly acknowledged members of the local community who had contributed to the formulation of the plan during public consultation.

Gordon Daly, senior planner at Clare County Council, said that for the first time since the town was established during the 1960s, clear objectives to establish Shannon as a tourism destination in its own right have been set out. The plan includes the development of an aviation museum at Shannon Airport, as well as an improved aircraft viewing point.

The aim is to build on existing facilities such as Atlantic Air Venture and Ballycasey Craft and Design Centre. The plan also identifies a site at Illaunagowan point on the Shannon estuary close to the centre of the town for a potential tourist/interpretative development associated with the Shannon Estuary.

The plan also aspires to Shannon becoming a low carbon town and has zoned a site for enterprise in Stonehall to have a particular focus on renewable energy. It will also focus on “Green Infrastructure”, which comprises the network of open spaces, recreation areas, wildlife corridors and water bodies that intersperse the town and surrounding areas.

The plan includes a cycling strategy and proposals for enhancing walks, including along the Shannon Estuary.

A 2,000-acre landbank adjacent to the airport has been marked for zoning for aviation sector use, as part of the council’s vision for the development and expansion of Shannon Airport.

Last week, the Government announced it has decided to grant Shannon Airport full independence from Dublin Airport Authority on December 31 2012 and merge it with a restructured Shannon Development to form a new, publicly-owned, commercial entity in 2013.

The Shannon Town & Environs Local Area Plan is available to download from the Council’s website.

Read: 850 jobs promised as Shannon Airport and Shannon Development to merge>

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• I’m from Shannon and living here, we need all the help we can get!
    Can ye throw in some fibre optic broadband while ye’re at it?

• great news for shannon and surrounding areas. lets hope for more tourism for the whole shannon region as a result.

• As Irish people we really need to get over the inbred hatred that sets us against each other. Inter County/town/village/city hatred seems to be on the rise. What’s in it for people to abuse someone or some place just because they are from a different part of Ireland? It seems to me to be a form of bullying.

If something good happens to some County, people from that County not only brag about getting something good, but brag about the fact the people in the next County didn’t get Jack Shite.

Irish people seem to have a habit of tarring people with the same brush or not taking someone seriously because of where they come from. Imagine what we could be if we all respected each other?

Do you think that the Easter Rising or the war of independence would happen today? It would in my ass. Irish people are more divided than ever. We wouldn’t be able to organize a troop of boy scouts because we don’t seem to trust or like each other.

To Bully another is to bully the self
    To hurt another is to hurt the self
    To spit at another is to spit at the self
    To lie about another is to lie to the self

Will we ever learn?

• Im there too,its a bloody dump,souless hellhole,even villages up the road like newmarket have more pubs

• My town might be a so called “dump” but we are the forgotten town we always have been this town was man made industrial town as an experiment & when they figured ah sure why bother they’ve just left us to Rot…the only thing keeping us going is the Community from plenty of hard work & fighting councils it’s about time we got a break!!!!

• Dave 10/12/12 #

Nonsense. Shannon was never “forgotten”. It had some of the best access infrastructure in Ireland at a time when nowhere else in Ireland had a dual carriageway. The airport itself was supported by an enforced stopover, and it also had the world’s first tax free industrial zone.

• Shannon has one of the largest densities of Multi-nationals in the state. The town itself was forgotten about, no doubt.

• Shannon had the potential to be a great town when it was created in the sixties, but in that, the government failed miserably. I’ve lived here for the past ten years and can only say that apart from its community spirit, Shannon is nothing more than an oversized housing estate with a very poor infrastructure. They should have at least provided a proper centre, but instead threw out what as far as I can see is the only privatised town centre in the country, taking the form of a small shopping centre. No streets, no lanes, nothing but a badly run mall called SkyCourt.

• Dave your comment lost all credibility when you used the words “had” and “was”-proving the point that shannon Is a forgotten town

• Joe Soap 11/12/12 #

Clares worst town is better than Dublins best. And I’m a Jackeen

• Shannon town is a dump, and always will be

• Aviation Museum?

• Knew a lad from Shannon once. Afraid of narrow streets, he was. Thought they were too imposing. Still though, easier to keep the kids off the streets if there aren’t any.

• People go there to take off or to land, nothing more. Don’t be wasting any more of our money on delusions of grandeur.

• No Paul. The Premier of China went to Shannon because its economic plan and development history was the model that the Chinese used to plan for the development of Shanghai in the 80′s.

This is a good thing to see, people thinking outside the box, upselling etc. Getting off their arses. The whiners will still be just sucking lemons either way.

• Shannon is already a popular tourist destination. Thousands of “tourists” stopped by there over the last few years on their way to Guantanama

• Shannon isn’t a town. It’s a few houses around an old shopping mall. I will admit its been a few years but a tourist destination – really?

• shannon may have its issues but at least people here want to do something about it. remember shannon is a net contributor to this economy with the industrial estate and the airport. The government have done nothing for shannon in over twenty years. remember many familes from newmarket, ennis, sixmilebridge and limerick were able to live and pay for a college education out of shannon and people would do well to remember that. i remember ballyfermot having curbs in the middle of the road to stop joyriding, coolock was a no go area even the guards would fear and any guard leaving templemore would tell you getting store st was like getting the short straw. sinn fein are non existant here because the vast majority of those that came from the north dont vote sinn fein here. most left to get away from the problems there. the vast majority are law biding citizens, cant say the same for some parts of dublin.

• Ah here it’s not that bad……..shites is good craic.

• Shannon was abandoned by Clare Council and the Government, which is why Shannon should be looking towards Limerick. A light Rail system connecting Limerick and Shannon is a must. Limerick is going to boom pretty soon and now that Dublin’s slimy hands are off Shannon the urbanization of the Limerick and Shannon corridor will be on the agenda. This in itself will bring thousands of jobs.

Shannon has more in common with Limerick than it does with Ennis, Shannon will soon have no UDC and if they think Clare Co Co is going to help them they can think again. It was Limerick people who battled to save Shannon Airport, Limerick and Shannon town can help each other. Shannon must start building towards Limerick, the urbanization of the Limerick/Shannon corridor is a must.

• snooch 10/12/12 #

Any evidence whatsoever to support this impending boom in limerick? I thought it was the opposite down those parts

• The DAA’s mitts are off The mid-west, for 30 years they, in one guise or another tried to destroy Shannon Airport and the mid-west.

Within 10 years there will be over 20,000 jobs created in the Limerick/Shannon area, 1600 of which have been announced already, 800 in Shannon Airport and 800 in Castletroy and Raheen. We know that for every one person in a job, 2 to 3 more are created to support that job.

Limerick will soon have one Council which will put that Council in a strong bargaining position when dealing with those who tried told us back for years.

There will be full employment in the mid-west within 10 years.

The future of Limerick is secure, our revenge will be the laughter of our children.

• snooch 10/12/12 #

You really believe the separation from the DAA will be a catalyst for this kind of growth? Fair play to you, I genuinely admire your optimism. It’s a welcome break from the usual misery peddling that goes on here

• If every job created 2 to 3 spin off jobs then surely the world would only need 1 job followed by exponential growth in supporting jobs to create global full employment by that logic AJ :)

• @ Conor

Conor I meant to say every multinational or major factory job creates 2-3 spin off jobs. This is proven the worl over, take Dell for instance, when they laid off 1900 workers in Limerick over 8,000 jobs were lost in the mid-west.

• First off, as a proud Clare man I am blessed with the fact that I have an international airport at my doorstep. I have traveled the world extensively and have never had to use Dublin or Cork to start my journey. Shannon – a fine piece of Clare infrastructure indeed.

And it will be Shannon Development (HQ in Shannon Co. Clare) that will drive the future of the Shannon region, not Limerick County Councillors who have their own headaches to contend with. Look around Limerick, most of the industrial zones are Shannon Development owned.

Its thanks to the great vision of a great Clare man – Dr Brendan O’Regan that it developed the way it did. And I thank Clare TDs Joe Carey, Pat Breen and Michael McNamara for at least taking swift action on the Shannon independence issue so quickly into their term – unlike Limerick TD (and former minister) – Willie O’Dea who had 15 years and couldn’t have cared less about the issue.

Up the Banner!

• @ Harry Coffee
      Your parochialism is the very thing that needs to be destroyed if this Country is to be a success story. Shannon Airport is not about you, or County Clare, It’s about the Mid-West and the Shannon Region.

Have a look at my post above about parochialism.

• Maybe you should check your later post (the one I’m am refering to now) for contradictions. You label and attack two other areas of the country and make out like Limerick is the centre of the universe in the process. And I’m not been parochial, just stating the fact that as an Ennis man I am proud to have a international airport where I can access the rest of the world – nothing wrong with a bit of pride in ones own neighbourhood. I was also stating other facts, both in reality and historically. Yes it is about the mid west. We have a local governement body for it called the Mid West Regional Authority. And I know how much you would love to extend Limerick city boundaries into Clare – but that aint going to happen mate. This is a democracy we live in, and people are entitled to keep their identity.

• Identity …LMAO….Clare has no identity, it’s named after an English mass murderer, before that it was part of the Kingdom of Thomond, which had it’s seat of power in Limerick.

There are no Clare people under the age of 25, 90% born in Limerick, 10% born in Galway. The Clare hurling team is in fact the Limerick B team.

It was Limerick people who kept West Clare and East Clare going and prevented ye from starving.

I never said Limerick was the centre of the universe and I never attacked or labelled any other part of the Country.

• No maternity hospital in Clare County. Closed down in 1987.

• So? And…?

• “Limerick is full of murderers and delinquent children” That’s exactly how I know that I’ve won the argument with you, you have to lower yourself to prejudice hatred. Up the banner county indeed, if it wasn’t for Limerick ye’d be nothing.

You were probably born in Limerick yourself.
      Limerick kept West Clare alive for over a hundred and fifty years.
      Limerick fed the starving people of East Clare during and after the great hunger
      Limerick fought tooth and nail for Shannon Airport and had some of the biggest demonstrations in the state for that Airport.
      Limerick all but built that Airport

Clare gave Limerick nothing,
      Clare never helped Limerick even when we were been attacked everyday by the Dublin and Cork media.
      Clare sided with Dublin and Cork against Limerick
      Clare was once part of Limerick
      Actually scrap the first line……………..Clare gave us prejudiced people like you.

• Youre only a filthy troll – so your irrelevant arguement is invalid.

I was born in Clare before the maternity hosptital was closed. “That’s exactly how I know that I’ve won the argument with you”, you might want to reconsider that statement seeing as you started launching a tirade against Clare, Dublin and Cork for no good reason.

About the famine – WTF like? You sound like some sort of fundamentalist the way youre going on about history.

• Chances are then that you have Limerick children or at least Limerick nephews and nieces. LMAO…you look at them knowing that they were born in Limerick, must be heartbreaking for you. You look at your neighbours Limerick children and say to yourself, “sure they were born in Limerick too”.

Clare people use Limerick Creches, primary schools, secondary schools, colleges, theaters, restaurants, cinemas, hospitals, In fact, ye are Limerick people…….you troll…now go troll somewhere else and don’t be annoying me.

Take a good look at Ennis before you abuse Limerick, I worked in Ennis, I know all about the place.

• Shannon Airport – A Clare Airport. Always has and always will.

I’l get my coat.

• tim 10/12/12 #

It’s a cul de sac ,a dead end,an emergency landing spot for transAtlantic flights .

• seems like there’s a lot of red Dublin thumbs here…..

• Sounds like something Michael Lowry might come up with. Maybe he might turn his attention to building his super casino there?? In all honesty, they’ll be doing well turning Shannon into a tourist hotspot. Sure if the Chinese can allegedly move to Athlone, anything can happen

• The only people interested in Shannon are Sinn Fein. Nudge nudge wink wink.

Add New Comment