TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

‘Litany of errors’ costing the State millions – PAC chair

The chair of the Public Accounts Committee has reacted angrily to the latest report of the Comptroller and Auditor General which was published yesterday.

Public Accounts Committee chairman John McGuinness (File photo)
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE CHAIRMAN OF the Dáil’s Public Accounts Committee (PAC), John McGuinness, has heavily criticised a number of public bodies following the publication of the Comptroller and Auditor General (C&AG)’s annual report yesterday .

In its report for 2011 yesterday the State spending watchdog said that Ireland spent around €25 billion more than it took in through taxes last year, the largest ever deficit with a number of bodies coming in for scrutiny for their spending.

McGuinness, a Fianna Fail TD, said there had been “once again” a series of lapses by public bodies which meant that it is “the tax payer that is losing out”.

He said that there were a number of areas that he was specifically concerned about including that the National Pension Reserve Fund was “duped” out of over €3 million as the oversight systems in place did not detect this payment and it was only uncovered by chance.

McGuinness also pointed to the finding that the probation and welfare service in the Department of Justice and Equality is leasing a building which it cannot occupy, while the staff are housed in other buildings that were deemed unsafe and of a poor standard.

“This has meant that the State has incurred expenditure of over €2 million just because senior civil servants did not check the planning requirements before signing a lease,” McGuinness said.

He also highlighted the overpayment of salaries to some 4,700 teachers and school workers which amounted to €1.1 million extra expenditure that was due to a seven-month delay in implementing pay cuts to all new entrants.

McGuinness said that “this should not happen with modern payroll systems”.

‘Endless problems’

He also highlighted the C&AG report’s finding that recipients of the fuel allowance were overpaid €1.2 million and said that there are “huge concerns” over the way the rent supplement scheme operates claiming that the State is “distorting the market and also supplementing slum landlords”.

In his report, the C&AG also raised concerns about the efficiency of motor tax collection and of how funds such as the broadcasting fund are being monitored, another finding that the PAC chair highlighted.

McGuinness said there were “serious questions” raised by some of these findings and said that limitations on computer systems were hampering departments despite “years of investment and advances in technology”.

“Some of the decisions announced in the budget appear to cause endless problems in implementation. This should not be the case,” he said.

“I am disappointed at the range of findings in this Report because it shows that things are not getting better and that the reform process is not delivering when it comes to ensuring that tax payers’ money is handled with probity and efficiency.

“And it is the tax payer that is the ultimate loser in this report.”

Read: Ireland spent €25 billion more than it took in last year

Read: Department overpaid teachers and school staff by €1.1 million

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• DubDon 28/09/12 #

Who ever signed the lease for a building that can’t be occupied should be sacked. How that Dept justify keeping him or her on. They have cost the state millions. An investigation into who owns the property and who signed the lease should be carried out immediately. I bet there would be a link between the two. Any money lost should be re-coupes by the state through pension or wage deductions.

• The worst thing about this as in many other cases, is that we the Irish people ending paying for this individuals incompetance. There’s no consequences fr this person, no disciplinary action, no comeback…just a certain knowledge that the same motto comes into play time and time again…they balls it up….we pay.

• Feck all the criticism and wasting even more money on reports. Start sacking incompetent managers and “advisors” and you will soon see efficiency and savings. But the organ grinders are too incompetent to realise this.

• This should be a no brain’er. Make them accountable for the ‘work’ they are paid to do, and put their job on the line if they fcuk up. Simples, surely the tax payer deservers at least that level from their employee’s

• iBob101 28/09/12 #

I’d be surprised if ANY private sector business had EVER signed a lease, then checked the planning rules, and then stayed out of the building while they paid the rent.

• Don’t suppose we can get accountability by any chance…nope ? Didn’t think so….

• More evidence if it were needed that the Civil Service (the organisation) is inept, buffoonishly managed, ignorant of Information Technology and corrupt. And the minister send in to sort it out – a failure. It has bled the nation dry for decades and it is time for the stupidity to stop!

• And they will blame the unemployed for losing millions cos they are so easy to blame….

• All this comes about by using the RFA management system! Ready Fire Aim or a version of same.

• So where are those Croke Park efficiencies now?
    Seems the same idiots are still in charge.

• A bit hard on McGuinness there Kingston. He has always been an independent thinker and didnt spare the previous government either.

• ‘Litany of errors’???

More like a culture of scam-smarts. Not to elbow your way up to the top table by cleverality is considered an indicator of mental deficiency. The Haughy/Dunne/Goodman/Desmond/O’Brien/O’Reilly ethic is that ‘moolah is the measure’, as in ‘greed is good’; and its gone pandemic thanks to our electric priesthood under cardinal Kenny and mudder superior Marian with their regular services to ye olde golden circle.
    Coast to coast truffle-trough snout-snot.

And diagnosing criminal gluttony as ‘error’ compounds the scam. I say criminal because their insatiable inability to have enough is what has half a million idle and 50,000 hitting the exits, yet again.
    We should rename the place Tammany Island.

• That’s where your Household Charge goes lads, not to fix the footpath outside poor old Bridie McGee’s house

• Yawn – another platform for mcguinness to promote himself as the champion of the down trodden SMEs and the gatekeeper to the public purse. Maybe he could set an example an quit FF; a corrupt party that destroyed this economy.

• In fairness to him he did raise these when FF were in power and was a thorn in their sides. Just because he is a member of FF doesn’t make him automatically bad. Much as I hate that party it has hundreds of thousands of members, the majority of whom are decent but tainted by a money grabbing cohort who led it.

• @ Kingstown.
      Bit OTT there. You’re letting your emotions get in the way of the facts. John Mc Guinness has been consistent in his approach to the public finances even when he was in government. A man of honour who resigned as junior minister when the Mandarins in the department of finance kicked up over his questioning of their practices. Try not to tar him with the same brush as Bertie the Bolix and his cronies

• John McGuinness consistently voted for Bertie and his cronies. He backed Willie o’Dea, backed all the bank shenanigans. Talk is cheap and he talked and talked but never acted on it.

Yes he played opposition from the Govt. benches, that party have been doing that for decades.

John is still one of them, not one of us.

• @ Eric.
      Looks like you’re just anti FF and can’t see the good in anyone trying to make a difference.
      We as a nation support the Whip system and as such in order to make a difference politicians need to work within that system. Otherwise we call them ‘ Independents’ and except for some periodic blips Independents whinge and change nothing.
      As for him being ‘ One of them’ Vs ‘one of us’ What exactly is ‘One of Us’ ?

• €25 Billion deficit in ONE year. That’s 25% of the cost of bailing out the Spanish Banks! When are we going to stop spending?

• public sector is just one big mess over paid and underworked and it will never change because if their was accountability for things that go wrong their wouldnt be to many left.

• None of this is going to make much of a hole in €25 billion

• let’s face facts. The Irish just haven’t got a clue how to run a country. We are expert, however, in how not to.

• Fairly ironic/hypocritical to have a FF TD ranting about the State overspending

• Raoire Quinns brother rents property to our government – ethics – I don’t think so. It’s such a corrupt circle just like the Mafia or the IRA. Nobody will talk. Even the media won’t investigate. Our media won’t even report the politicians who are having affairs – why not?

• McGuinness should look closer to home for inefficiency !! Anyone need a hint about my meaning?!?!?!

• McGuinness, a Fianna Fail TD, has heavily criticised a number of public bodies. Could I as Mr. McGuinness if he could re-arrange these words into a well know saying, kettle, the, black, calling, the, Thats, pot. FF spent 14 years in power setting up those public bodies. Thats like teaching your child to seal and complaining when they get caught.

• Bloody smart phones I hate them. That should have read.

McGuinness, a Fianna Fail TD, has heavily criticised a number of public bodies. Could I as Mr. McGuinness if he could re-arrange these words into a well know saying, kettle, the, black, calling, the, That’s, pot. FF spent 14 years in power setting up those public bodies. That’s like teaching your child to seal and complaining when they get caught.

Add New Comment