TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Supporters of jailed Teresa Treacy to protest at Mountjoy

The 65-year-old was sent to prison last week for refusing to allow the ESB to cut down trees on her land.

Image: Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland

FRIENDS AND SUPPORTERS of a 65-year-old woman jailed for refusing to allow the ESB to build a power line across her land will mount a protest outside Mountjoy Prison tomorrow.

Teresa Treacy, from Offaly, was sent to prison last week for defying a court order allowing contractors for ESB and Eirgrid to carry out work on her property. She objected to the power line because it would mean felling a substantial number of trees growing on her land at Clonmore, near Tullamore, and said the lines should be routed underground instead.

She will not be released until she purges her contempt of court – meaning allowing the work to be carried out and making an apology – or until the ESB requests that she be freed.

A spokesperson for the Teresa Treacy Support Group, which is organising the protest, told TheJournal.ie that Ms Treacy will not go back on her protest. “I got a call from Teresa in jail on Saturday. She said she has no intention of purging her contempt and she wants people to come out and support her,” he said.

The injustice is that the ESB have refused to follow European best practice in regard to the undergrounding of power lines. This was a compromise offered by Teresa Treacy as far back as 2007, but the ESB refused to budge. They have bullied an elderly lady and ultimately jailed her. It’s totally unacceptable that an elderly lady should be jailed for trying to protect a natural resource on her own land.

He said he hoped for a good turnout at the protest, which will take place tomorrow at 6pm outside the Dóchas Centre at Mountjoy, where Ms Treacy is being held. “There will be friends and neighbours of Teresa, and we’ve also been getting calls of support from people around the country,” he said.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (51 Comments)

• What a bloody disgrace …

• I hope to make it as a show of support.

• This is disgusting!!

• John 22/09/11 #

And still not one banker or bent politician in jail! Shameful.

• Pardon the pun but that’s shocking behaviour by the ESB and the judge

• This is crazy. It’s the woman’s own land disgraceful carry on

• And Sean Fitzpatrick gets to play golf all-day

• The ESB can’t afford to put the cables underground. They need the money to pay the weathiest electricians in the world for not doing very much work…

• Fuckin’ hell, it’s her land. She doesn’t want them to build through it then she should have to let them. Court order should never have been granted.

• I’m ashamed of our legal system and semi state bodies:(
    Put an old woman in jail and all the bankers/rogue solicitors are all still free!
    Sickening

• Exactly they can make up the legislation and bend the rules to land this poor old lady in prison.
      But there buddies in the banking sector are as always untouchable.
      They are the biggest gangsters in the world, crooks in suits.
      Do what we say or our buddy the judge will put you away!

• This story is unbelievable!! I’m shocked that this was allowed to happen! ESB have more than enough money to lay the cables underground and pay workers to do it!!! They should be ashamed of themselves for bullying this lady of 65years of age, how dare they do this to her, on her own land!! The judge who issued the order in the first place must be a right ass@&le and that judge who sent this poor lady to prison should be shot with his own balls of shite!!!!!!

• The judge is stuck with the draconian laws until they change to protect property owners the judge has to impose the law I know what yea will say to me but the law is so old and crooked at most it protects the wrong people all the time

• why isnt the health and safety authority intervening .THis is a clear state of bullying.I think the whole country should be out in protest.The govt once again stand back.How much did ESB law team cost,and this is a semi state body.!Appalling!civil rights infringed.penal laws.

• mart_n 22/09/11 #

Hints of semi-fascism about this case.. sickening stuff.

• That’s no reason why this courageous woman should have to suffer a double punishment. She’s only standing up for her rights, though it appears she has none. I’ll be at the protest outside Mountjoy Prison tomorrow (Friday) at 6pm and I hope that hundreds, if not thousands of people will take the trouble to turn up.

• Just one more thing…. It is this lady that should be getting an apology from the judge and ESB!!! Not the other way around!!!

• Well done ESB taking on someone ur own size…how much has this court action cost…I’m sure that would go some distance to pay for underground cables…stay strong ms tracey!!

• It’s her land and her resources her livelihood and her hard work they gave away millions away to shell in Mayo and locked up men for trying to protect their lands and here it is again.they say they cannot afford to go underground to carry out this work well if they looked at the Salaries if the top executives 750,000euro a year for the top one if he got a decent income of about 150-200 thousand there would be a half million available and This lady would not be in Court never mind Jail We are a great nation all in-sundry can railroad through your life and get away with it because we are still dealing in draconian laws

• hey why isnt Enda Kenny, the hero, the man of the people, the man who will change everything, the man with the 5 point plan doing anything about this??????

Chucke chuckle

• Amazed that this ever happened. Whose pocket is the judge in?

• I think it is shocking that his woman is in jail, the judge said the world would fall into “anarchy” if people did not do as they said.
    Lets be real this is her land she owns it, so it is her to do with as she pleases. It should be with no one’s right to tell her what she can and cannot so. What type of a state would the world be in if this was the way things were run.

I hope there is a big turn out tomorrow to get this lady out. She should not be in there in the first place. What right do the ESB have to charge her, for not letting them terpass on her land, where has the law gone wrong?

• Lets Start a people’s campaign to free Teresa Treacy and let ESB/Eirgrid know we cant be bullied by them anymore. They have the money to pay their top executives outrageous salaries but they penny-pinch on health and safety issues – undergrounding the lines is European Best Practice.. this might go to the European Courts yet.

• I know where them frickin cables should be put !

• It’s things like this that actually make me ashamed to be part of this farce of a democratic nation!!! It’s backwards we seem to be going!!! Big bullies the lot of them!!!

• I hope the journal will continue to report on the well-being of Ms Teresa TREACY’s case and wish all the very best and keep strong x

• Colm J J 23/09/11 #

Liberty, the right to one’s own property and to defend it. I have full respect for her. To behave according to their own free will, to stop them from coming on to her own property, and take responsibility for their actions. And she is a strong women, standing by her principles. And truth be told, a couple of years ago I wouldn’t have cared, but came across Ron Paul and his awareness of our loss of freedoms. I joined the campaign for Liberty in Ireland http://www.campaignforliberty.com/intl/Ireland/

• Long live people of principal like Ms. Tracey.

• Kitalpha 24/09/11 #

Let this be a lesson to anyone who thinks buying a house or land gives you ownership. The government decides what you’re allowed to do and they can take it back or mess with it anytime they feel like. We have become such a backwards country, its sickening.

I too hope the Journal continue to report on this story, the support group are looking for volunteers to help plant some trees next week to replace the ones the ESB illegally cut down already or if you have trees to donate.

And what irony that the ESB are sponsors of Age Action Week, makes me ill.

• Another Disgrace to our Nation…Bullying Tactics..Jail sentence to one of our Senior Citizens..Crying Shame on the System and those who weaved the web of Humiliation.!!

• The Government is talking about selling ESB. Well maybe whoever buys it will have better understanding than the bofoons that are running it at the minute. Sell…. Sell…
    They would make you sick to your stomach.

• Wow!! When are the crew from candid camera going to jump out and end the joke that has become ‘the Irish (prepare to p*ss yourself) republic”

• Sorry I can nit be there for protest as I am jointing a protest on Saturday in Roscommon town over the closure of our A&E IN ROSCOMMON…..,,. BUT I would like to WISH YEA WITH PROTEST AND WISHING TERESA TREACY ALL THE VERY BEST

• She was jailed for contempt of court, refusing to allow the esb on her land is not contempt. There must be more to this story that you haven’t told.

• The court ruled that she must allow them onto her land to carry out their work. She subsequesntly ignored the court order and blocked their access to her land. She was found in contempt for refusing to0 allow them access…

• If you read the article it is because she defied a court order allowing contractors on her land (hence the contempt of court). The judge said if she was allowed to define it, “we may as well sink into anarchy”. What a feckin eejit (the judge that is!)

• I’m sorry I’m an electrical engineer, and I have an idea of the extra hundreds of thousands of euros it would cost to put this line underground, chances are the roots of the trees would be disrupted anyway! It’s not just the cost of the line itself, it’s the man hours of planning, applying to bord pleanala, and it would put the development back by 18 months!

I am sorry that she has been made to go to prison, but she’s hindering the infrastructure upgrade of the country!

• Aaron 22/09/11 #

So her rights and her property have no relevance because of the ‘hours of planning, applying to bord pleanala and it would set the development back by 18 months’ ?

Maybe if the ESB had put a bit more thought into this and put the lines under ground when it was suggested 4 years ago they’d have had the job completed by now.

• yeah…. 2007* plus 18 months is at the latest 2009, I can see how someone can see how it would delay it. and how it would cost so much when you apply ohms law to costing and time…

*the year that esb were informed about European best practice and bury the cables.

• Yes Caitriona…the country’s growth is stunted by the delay in getting that one power line up.
      I’m a lawyer and even I can see how ridiculous this is.

• 18 months is nothing. This has been going on for much longer than that. If they had gone the underground route in the beginning the work would be long finished by now. As for cost, how much is all this legal stuff and prison time going to cost?

• Oh! So Catriona if this was ur Mom you would still think it "the right thing to do" to have the ESB stick to their guns to save money and you’r Mom ends up in jail.
      Pathetic.

• Awe how sad this government is closing hospitals A&E’s jobs are being lost people are loosing their homes families are saying goodbye to their Sons and Daughters on a daily basis thousands have been forced and NOT BY CHOICE to emigrate and we are being told about the cost to ESB to go underground and delay to infrastructure of a country that has seen the cream of our young gone and Teresa TREACY locked up UNTILL SHE SAYS OK ESB TRESPASS ON MY PROPERTY AND DESTROY EVERYTHING IN YOUR PATH JUST CLOSE THE GATE AFTER YOU

• Micheal 06/10/11 #

Boycott the ESB ! Turn off your lights for one night at least and light candles in support. Hit them in the pocket folks. That’s where it hurts. Our draconian laws are based on English laws. We adopted new landlords thats all. The Brehon law is a more just law. Beir Bua Treasa… http://www.EcoHomesandGardens.ie

• I think this is a total disgrace sending this lady to prison, I am ashamed to be an Irish citizen. What is happening to us? Do we not care about what really matters any more? Who is going to take responsibility for this lady if anything happens to her in prison? The ESB? The Judge? The Government? They should all hang their heads in total SHAME!! Would any of them like to see their 65 year old mother locked in Mount-Joy because she stood up for herself? She stands alone! To all of these people she is just nobody. To me, she is GREAT LADY, I REALLY ADMIRE HER! This is very sad, I feel really upset. She believes in nature, she grew to love these TREES they mean so much to her. How dare they do this? People are too quiet and we must stand up for what we believe in as this is our given right. WE NEED GOOD CARING PEOPLE TO RUN OUR COUNTRY. WE NEED A GREAT PRESIDENT NOT THE MISFITS THAT ARE PUTTING THEMSELVES FORWARD. WE NEED SOMEONE WHO HAS EARNED THIS POSITION. A president to make us proud WE also need a GOVERNMENT that don’t lead us to believe everything they are doing is supposed to be for the good of the people eg. putting taxes on sugar products is supposed to save our children from getting FAT, NOTHING to do with revenue. I myself would prefer honest good people like MS TERESA TREACY. All she wants is to be left alone and not be bullied by these money grabbing TRESPASSERS!!!!!

Add New Comment