TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Taoiseach reveals how Action Plan on Jobs is progressing

The Taoiseach has launched the plan’s fourth report, saying that the rate of unemployment “remains unacceptably high” in Ireland.

Taoiseach and Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

UNEMPLOYMENT IS STILL “unacceptably high” in Ireland, An Taoiseach Enda Kenny has said.

He made the comment while launching the fourth progress report on the Action Plan for Jobs today, where he was joined by Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Minister Richard Bruton. The launch was the latest opportunity to inform people how the plan, which aims to get 100,000 more people working over the next four years, has progressed since it was first introduced in February 2012.

Framework

At the launch, he said that the action plan puts in place “a comprehensive framework to deliver 270 actions and reforms right across the public sector and in partnership with industry”.

The government has delivered 249 of these 270 actions over the past year.

“This delivery rate of 92 per cent is a demonstration of the clear and strong commitment that this Government has to addressing the fundamental challenge for this country. The delivery rate for Q4 itself was 90 per cent,” said the Taoiseach.

Clearly, we are not satisfied that 21 actions that were due for delivery in 2012 have not been delivered on time. One third of these relate to legislation, and were included in the Plan based on their importance for the enterprise environment and ultimately on job creation and retention. We will continue to work to implement this legislation as a priority.

The Taoiseach said he acknowledges “that we have a long path to travel before we are out of this unemployment crisis”, but is confident we are on the right track to recovery.

He said that exports continue to perform at historically high levels, while the country has a young, well-educated population “known for its flexibility and adaptability”.

The reforms and progress made in the Jobs Initiative of 2011 and the Action Plan for Jobs 2012 are just the beginning. The continuing scale of the challenge is evident and though it is falling gradually, the rate of unemployment at 14.6 per cent, remains unacceptably high.

The Government will launch the 2013 Action Plan for Jobs shortly.

Response

Peadar Tóibín, Sinn Féin spokesperson for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation said:

The target for the jobs plan was 100,000 net additional jobs for the economy by 2016. Since it has been launched 20,000 jobs have been lost in the economy. Over 87,000 emigrated last year and unemployment rates remain the same of when the government came to power.

He said that he believes “it is clear that policies of the government will not lead to growth nor will it lead to the substantial job creation needed to get our people and businesses back to work”.

ISME has expressed its concern “at the lack of a realistic comprehensive economic plan for the country, which is feeding the uncertainty”.

ISME Chief Executive Mark Fielding said:

Self praising reports from Government do little to assuage the concerns of SME business owners across the country, struggling with rising costs, reducing turnover and a non-performing banking system. The ‘successes’, so well described in the latest spin document have been welcomed, however this is no time for complacency.

Read: Here’s how the Government plans to create 100,000 jobs>

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• Let me guess,he’ll say its a success!

• Hmmm, He doesn’t really have a lot of substance. He kind of floats in and out, like a son who has been parachuted into his fathers business empire. He has picked up the buzz words over the years but never really does anything. At all. Ever.

I’m onto you K bangers,
    A to the Bayo

• ya nailed it there Adebayo
      he (like ) all politicians uses buzz words and name tags for high faluetin expectations of jobs to come ( 5 point plan etc) to con the people who elected them gobdaws into office

• malcom 01/02/13 #

More nonsense talk from a failed dreamer

• Philip 01/02/13 #

Screw you Enda, I’ve to emigrate tomorrow morning an leave my partner an 4 week old child at home in this kip!

• Phillip, it doesn’t warrant a thumbs up or down for your comment , because either way it’s negative. You are DAM right , SCREW YOU ENDA ! How is your Action progressing , Enda? This is your answer. I’ll wish you the best of luck Phillip , though those are probably not the words you want to hear.I feel your pain and I am awaiting a phone call to be dragged from this land or rather PUSHED overboard by Enda et al.

• Good luck Philip. Remember who strarted it all. It’s irrelevant who is in power now. The damage was done along time back. Endas biggest failing is he couldn’t even capitalise on the advantage given to him. To me that’s almost as inept as FFs wanton recklessness at destroying the country’s finances. You are better off abroad anyway. Ireland’s shite.

• David Higgins, Young FFG contributor on this site, no doubt, will come on here and tell us what a fantastic job FFG are doing since coming to power … Over 160,000 men and women have emigrated, since FFG came to power, and yet only yesterday, he was on this site, espousing the great job they have done. They have reached their pension time limit. They should now take their criminally insane pensions and depart the stage, and make way for people with a real vision that can help stem the tide of emigration and joblessness.
    They are beyond incompetent. Having pledged in their manifesto to drive 60,000 people out of the country, for every year they are in power, should be grounds for charges of Treason.
    They are not working for the good of the people. If they were, they would have reduced their salaries and pensions down to EU norms … (I am not even asking them to go to the average industrial wage, just go down to the average total compensation paid for someone in their position across the EU).
    Instead, they pay themselves 3 times the normal EU average compensation of their EU equivalents. This is criminal and treasonous in my opinion. The sooner they go the way of FF and the Greens, the better off Ireland will be.

• and who do u suggest takes over ?

• Paul, in truth the IMF would do a much better job, than FFG/Labour/FF … They went into Latvia and over a 2 year period, reduced Politicians salaries by 45%. It meant that the Politicians didnt look at the role of members of parliament as a gravy train. Look at what our guys are doing… They actually increased their allowances to themselves in the last budget, but dressed it up that they had reduced them. This was another act of treason as far as i am concerned. What do you think?

• By the way kenny has made an arse of it ,anyone of the 400,000 on the dole would do a better job

• A one Part State Cal?…………I wonder which Party?

• Richard/Paul, please respond to my comments .. Do you think its acceptable that your favorite party get paid criminally exorbitant wages for doing a P*ss poor job… ?

• Cal the elite would s*** themselves if the Troika decided where the cuts should happen.

• Cal
      Simple response……….all Members of the Oireachtas are overpaid relative to the size of the State and it’s current finances. All servants of the State should only receive one Pension . So whether you started out as a Teacher and later became a TD and subsequently were elected President you were only ever an employee of the State and your entitlement would be for a Pension based on the number of service years at the final salary or under the arrangements of an average salary.

• Thanks Richard for the feedback … Do you not think its crazy that Ireland pays its TDs, Ministers and Taoisaeach 2-3 times the EU norm is criminal?

• Cal
      You use the term “criminal” both inappropriately and or too loosely. I have already stated my long held views on both salaries and pensions but you must remember that these were independently awarded sums so the suggestion that the Taoiseach or any of his Ministers are paying themselves monies in a corrupt or illegal fashion is both inaccurate and inflammatory and when the accusation is made publicly by a Sinn Fein supporter or Party Worker it takes on unpleasant tones.
      Let’s look at the sums of money drawn from the British Exchequer by Gerry Adams in the form of expenses for a position he refused to take up as a Member of the UK Parliament. Enough tax free money to buy three houses in Donegal which prompts the question as to whether this was immoral or not and should he not return the sums involved. Expenses according to the English language are to compensate for monies used in the carrying out of ones duties. Making a profit is totally wrong and I assume you agree with me!

• Sorry cal I was away, well I haven’t got a favorite party I just love coming on here and watching people go mad over the government not doing what they said they would do before they got elected. Every election I’ve ever seen England America Ireland anywhere the politicians have said they would change everything and then they get into power and nothing happens and this has happened time and time again yet people are always surprised when it happens.

• And I do agree there pay should be cut , but it should still pay well because if it doesn’t pay well why would educated people go for the position if they could get paid more for doing something involving else work. And pensions of government past should also be cut rapidly brian cowen is off paying for an education with our money in California.

• Richard, what are you smoking?
      “when the accusation is made publicly by a Sinn Fein supporter or Party Worker it takes on unpleasant tones.”
      I admitted i voted for SF once, and you come out with this garbage as a defense of the indefensible….
      Please tell me, that you will refuse to support a Taoiseach and Ministersand Partys that think it is OK to pay themselves 3 times the EU norm … unless of course you think they are worth it…. Do you ?
      What the UK pay themselves is their business… i couldn’t care less to be honest. The UK do not pay their ministers and head of Government the total compensation package that the Government in Ireland pay themselves, even though they have 13 times the population.
      I am living in the 26 counties, and i want my Government and Dail members to pay themselves along EU averages. Otherwise, i think it stinks to high heavens with corruption and treason. Its abuse of power entrusted in them by the people of this country. You can play whatever ‘whataboutery’ on single individuals in other jurisdictions have done, but you are not addressing the questions i am asking.
      How in good conscience, can you vote for a party that thinks they are worth those crimninally extrortionate total compensation packages.

Paul thanks for the reply, i honestly thought you were one of the FFGer’s who think their party leader deserves the 500,000 euro per year total compensation package, as well as refusing to hand back the 500,000,000.00 euro to the Irish people, that he and the other party leaders ran up in legal fees during 2 tribunals, playing their delaying tactics.

• You’re right Cal, too often I come on here and give an overly positive rating to the government. For once I’ll sit back. Instead listen to the views of Howard Lutnick, CEO of Canton Fitzgerald.

He knows way more about creating jobs than I do.

Here he is speaking about Ireland at Davos last week. From 1:50

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAf921BSAHQ

So last night I met the Taoiseach, which I only learned this trip is the Irish Prime Minister. What I thought was really interesting was that he was focussed on business. His whole group is here to say we’re open for business, we’re focussed on business.

Ireland was completely focussed on trying to bring jobs in, to try and get his young people jobs, he was focussed on building and I thought that was really refreshing.

• “I think we’ll add hundreds of jobs there. It’s a friendly environment, great education, Dublin’s a great city. I think they’re really going to build themselves out. They’re doing a great job coming back from the bailout and the way they’re doing it is focussed on jobs, jobs, jobs”

• David, you have given a positive message about Enda Kenny, coming from the CEO of a Bond holder firm …
      I have posted many quotes and links coming from Nobel prize winning economists, who said that the Irish Governments strategy is going to leave Ireland in the economic wilderness for at least another decade. The same Nobel prize winning economist said Ireland had no obligation or duty to pay the bond-holders on the failed gambles they took.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JJcZ_ij_ac

Joseph Stiglitz is much more respected than any CEO of a major bond-holding institution. I also note that Enda, according to your dialogue, did not request that the Bond-Holders take their bookie-office ticket stubs and put them in the bin where they belong.

I also note that you have not addressed the question i asked, how anyone in good conscience can support Partys that continue tp pay themselves 3 times the EU norm on compensation packages for the office they hold.
      I went head to head with you on this question before and i provided facts, links etc on this … Do you want me to do it again?

• Julie 01/02/13 #

https://www.youtube.com/embed/51-Jfh6ADH0

David , icelands prime minister was at davos too and this what he had to say ..smart people them icelanders simple solution they use though ..

• Great link Julie .When ll is said and done really it all depends on the men running your country and if their on your side or not.

• @paul, Jerry Adam,s ha ha only messing. I’d nearly give the dog on the street a chance now to run the country.

• Cal
      I have answered all of your questions honestly and openly. You haven’t responded to my question about Adams looting the British Exchequer while masquerading as an MP and using the money to become an absentee landlord.
      You were quite balanced until I asked a very specific question of you and you also made claims about my voting preference when you know nothing about me other than my defense of this present Government agains the extremism of the Hard Left which creates nothing.

• Richard, i dont know if you know this or not … while not taking their seats in Westminster parliament, SF did actually have fully functioning offices in Westminster. That is what they claimed the expenses for. They vouched their expenses, and trust me, every expense in the UK parliament is scrutinised 100 times more closely than our own. MPs have had to resign over 19 pound unjust expenses. so if you are hinting that SF abused the expense system there, you are out of your mind. The DUP/UUP/SDLP would all have fully scrutinised the expenses (every expense) submitted by SF.
      The DUP/UUP are both extremely critical of SF claiming wages/expenses from the UK exchequer, because they are so annoyed that SF members refuse to swear an oath of allegiance to the Queen.
      Voters who vote for SF in the North are fully aware of SFs stance on swearing the oath to the Queen, and still give them their vote. This is called democracy. It doesnt stop SF MPs doing work for their constituents, they just dont do so in the Parlaiment itself, but rather in the Parliamentary buildings.
      Think about it like this, not a lot of work gets done in the Dail itself, most of the actual work is done in committee rooms around teh Dail. That is where SF have been very very active.
      Good question though, i hope i have clarified the Westminister wage and expense issue for you :)

• 01/02/13 #

David Higgins said about our glorious leader : “What I thought was really interesting was that he was focussed on business”

So what ? My dog was focused on his dinner last night – there’s the same chance of my dog focussing on his dinner and Enda Kenny focusing on business actually making any difference to the economy.

This man and his ilk have lost all respect and credibility from the people since they came to power. I,for one, actually don’t give two hoots what he and his ilk say. I’d rather listen to my dog.

• As usual. Paddy takes on the colonized role of comparing himself to the old master. The UK and Ireland bear the least grounds for comparison in the EU. yet we continue to judge ourselves by the UK.

• sorry This is in reply to David higgings

• Inhale dude,relax!

• Cal Mooney played an absolute stormer with that one.Back into your box lads……..

• richard just because its the “norn” does not make it right or reasonable
      and it treasonable to pay yourself the sort of wage people can only dream about in this day and age
      €140 odd grand of a pension for a t.d/teapot,minester per year while pensioners are expected to live €10K per year thats an insult

• Ryan'O 01/02/13 #

Epic Fail Kenny!

• A young well educated population . Who are leaving this sinking ship in there thousands . Yes no balls enda your doing a great job

• Wasp 01/02/13 #

Enda:” we’re turning a corner.” ….(reality is we’ve made a u-turn towards deeper recession since he’s in charge)

• Enda blowing smoke up people’s arses as usual.

• yay, an action plan that is fairly useless…and an unemployment rate that has not moved more than .5% since january 2012…our government are a bunch of muppets literally laughing at the people they are supposed to look after…enough is enough!

• we have turned that many corners we have gone round in a circle and back where we started

• Can you imagine the difference it could have made on the jobs front if this cretin had stopped a SINGLE payment to unguaranteed bondholders and invested it in employment instead?

Just one.

• Clearly the big problem here for the government , is that there are not enough people leaving the country to bring the unemployment rates down, the real thinking around the gathering 2013 is that you come visit Ireland and hopefully bond with one of your long lost relatives , feel sorry for them, and take them away from this country , then unemployment rate will drop and Enda can pat himself on the back again as a job well done. Good man Enda.

• Ah sure kenny has a five point plan.
    Stability,jobs.growth…. Yeah right !

• Kenny is right . We have a young educated population … Unfortunately they are all on planes and boats out of here ! Just imagine the number of unemployed if they were all here … Joining the dole queue .

The truth of the matter is that the government has failed to deliver on any substantial job creation .

• A picture of Enda Kenny the word job, the word plan, the word action is it april fools already.

• I see the resident troll is up & at ‘em again.

• Definition of a spectacular failure: Kenny and Gilmore leading government

• Every single thing that Enda said would happen as a result of them being elected has not transpired. Not one solitary promise made has been kept. In fact quite the opposite. He’s got the Midas touch in reverse & anyone of the sad folks who post here in support of him & his party of self helping liars deserve all they get. The man is not up to the job & it’s that simple. Nobody believes him or has any faith in the overpaid political elite anymore – they’ve blown their chances in spectacular style.

• Maybe it’s finally the time to change the Regime in Ireland?!

• they are better at massage than a thai brazzer,, 0ver 100,000 emigrated,, 40,000 on fas courses,,throw in another 20,000 on the slave trade internships long term unemployment up and the over all unemployment figure still at 14% plus who do these clowns think they are fooling

• Try and help keep the people we have in current employment, employed first and then come up with a suitable strategy for the unemployed. Have a look at the retail sector for example and stop ramming tax after tax down there throats! 107 companies per week closed in January, any chance of looking to try and stop this?

• No goverment has or will solve unemployment in this country and to say they have a plan is just bullshit talk. High cost of rent,insurance,rates and vat,as long as these remain so high jobs will not be created, as am ex employer i could have employed an extra 8 staff on the rates and high rent high vat and high prsi i had to pay and when the money stoped coming in the cost remained the same and when i asked for help the bank turned its back and the county sherrif said if i didn’t pay the rates he would shut me down and the tax man said the same so they put 14 people on the dole, where is your plan Enda, blah blah the smell

• B*ll*x. Highest labout cost in Europe is not the way to create jobs!

• Another Failure, where are the FG footsoldiers? maybe they can give a better explanation, look into your crystal balls guys!

• Minister John Bruton ????

• Michael 01/02/13 #

The broken glass fallacy comes to mind

• Tommy 01/02/13 #

87,000 people emigrated? That is horrifying! :O

• the journal love putting this stuff up and waiting for the dole Que to come on and give him abuse ha wait and see.

• Interesting that the Department of Enterprise issue some seventy two thousand work visas in 2012.
    That means that this number of people had travelled to or were about to travel to Ireland from outside the EU and take up an employment contract for which no suitable Irish National was available.
    While there are no official statistics contributors on this site continually hit out at the massive levels of emigration and the estimates for last year are similar numbers to this above. It is also reasonable to assume that those who left are shores were largely unemployed!
    There must be something wrong with these data somewhere otherwise our employment figures would be up substantially and the numbers drawing benefit down!
    The only other conclusion is that those who left were in employment and didn’t leave because they were jobless.
    This would substantially alter the debate on such matters.

Add New Comment