TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Here’s how the Government plans to create 100,000 jobs

Enda Kenny launched the much-heralded Action Plan today. We’ve picked out the key points from the document.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT HAS announced details of its much-heralded Action Plan on Jobs, which aims to get 100,000 more people working over the next four years.

Small businesses are key to the scheme, with measures designed to increase investment and improve access to mentoring services for startup companies.

The programme details 270 separate ‘actions’ to boost investment and help new business. Each has a deadline and progress will be monitored on a quarterly basis by a civil service committee.

But don’t worry – we’ve picked out the key details of the Action Plan for you. (You can also read the full document here.) Here’s how the Government is planning to create 100,000 jobs by 2016:

• New funds to invest in small and medium-sized businesses, totalling at least €250million. It’s hoped these will also be leveraged with extra funding from the private sector.
  • There will also be measures to improve mentoring services for smaller companies, although only €1.2million in funding has been announced.
  • Measures to encourage members of the diaspora to invest in Ireland, in the form of  a ‘finder’s fee’ scheme for job creators. This will work alongside the Global Irish initiative, which was promoted last week by Bill Clinton.
  • A drive to cut business costs. Government departments have been requested to identify charges or levies on business that can be cut or frozen, by next month.
  • Focus on both Ireland’s traditional strengths such as agri-food and tourism, and emerging areas including cloud computing and other IT sectors. Launching the plan, Enda Kenny called these the “old reliables” and the “new reliables” for job creation.
  • Encourage job-creating innovation by targeting the current research budget of €500million towards ideas with commercial potential, and altering the tax credit system for research and development.

Details of how, when and by whom each of these aims will be achieved are set out in the table of 270 actions published alongside the overall plan. You can read the full list here.

Launching the plan, Taoiseach Enda Kenny said the country had already made “real progress” in dealing with its economic situation and “drawn a line under the banking crisis”.

He said he would personally oversee the implementation of the jobs plan, adding:

The Taoiseach’s department will be working closely with other Departments to make absolutely sure the necessary change is made, results are achieved, jobs grown. There will be constant monitoring of progress with quarterly reports.

Jobs minister Richard Bruton said there was no “big bang” solution to the unemployment rate, which is currently more than 14 per cent. He said instead the plan aims to “rebuild the economy brick by brick, reform by reform, to get back to sustainable enterprise-led growth.”

Read in full: The Government’s full Action Plan for Jobs>

Table: The 270 actions pledged by the Government to implement the plan>

More: Government to launch major jobs plan to tackle unemployment crisis>

Read next:

Comments (118 Comments)

• I’ve just invented a “job creation machine” and I own the patent to it which I’m willing to sell to the Irish government, I’ve also for sale a large collection of magic beans and a goose that lays golden eggs which I’m also willing to sell to the government for a small fee

• franco 13/02/12 #

thanks tom for your prompt reply i didnt expect anything else im sure your ego will always make sure you have the last word, as for your education i dont have a problem with that ,but if you check your own post you were the one who in my revolting peasant kind of way spotted you slagging people who had economics degrees which are ten a penny ,we all cant achieve the dizzying heights you have reached but try and remember as you look down from your tower that there are ordinary people who have lost jobs through no fault of their own , the thing is tom people dont believe a word from enda ,eamon and gang anymore .

• I knew he was 265 points short of a decent cunning plan.

• how about maybe stop taking the spending power of the population and giving it to foreign bondholders?, surely the best way to stimulate local economy is to give the punters incentive to spend? all the cost cuts for small business are for nothing if they have no customers

• Brick by brick…..that’s all we bloody need more empty buildings. Hang on to your jobs folks, if you lost it I wouldn’t want to rely on these guys to get you a new one.

• i hope this works because we aint getting out of this mess through austerity…

• If I didn’t live here this would be hilarious

• Add this to Lucinda Cretin’s millions of jobs and we will be laughing!

• In short – to miracle them out of their arses!

What do they take us for??

• Barty 13/02/12 #

I wonder which TD will be on Vincent Browne tonight selling this fairy tale of an idea, looking forward to VB tearing him a new arse.

• 270 different ways of fixing our job creation. How about just 1…..one plan. Maybe three…3 at most. I despair.

• “New funds to invest in small and medium-sized businesses, totalling at least €250million”
    How about just giving that money to the County Councils so they could reduce Rates, allowing Small & Medium sized businesses to stay open!

• You don’t get it at all, they don’t care if a small business closes down, all the care about is new ones that they invest in so they can boast about all the jobs they created

• I knew they’d get a committee in there somewhere……. Great news about all those jobs tho’, looks like they really know what they are doing.

• Whenever they learn that the government getting out of the way in the market is the best way to create jobs we’ll be out of this mess, or at least on a path to it.

• Well Mark. I certainly don’t claim to know it all. What I do know is that a stress test done by the C.E.B.S.(the committee of European banking supervisors on European banking institutions found that Danish , French and German banks had large exposure to Irish sovereign debt. This includes guaranteed banking debts which the citizens of this country were not responsible for. My comment earlier relating to lack of disposable income in our economy is as a result of austerity cuts to make payments to these institutions. I cited Germany because I feel they are partly responsible for this mess. They drove a low interest policy which suited their rebuilding after reunification. I am well aware that we still have a fiscal deficit. I just do not believe that speculators in a capitalist system should be paid in full when their bets went bad. Doesn’t make sense.

• Let’s give it a year and see what happens. Ya right!!!! There is no way that this will work. No consumer led jobs because there is very little disposable income in the economy. It’s in a German bank. No manufacturing jobs because the corporate world has gone east for cheap labour and higher profits. No construction jobs because we have empty property all over our island. What’s left !!! Tech . Oh sur we are importing people for those jobs . Overall it doesn’t look great. One possible area we should be looking at is food, but the fu…king e.u. has us strangled with quotas and regulations. Good luck with No 4 lads.

• franco 13/02/12 #

best f*****g laugh of the day…

• Kenny and his lackeys couldn’t organise a piss up in brewery!

• I didn’t see anything it the article about getting banks to support & financially back their customers. Until the government sort the banks “non lending” policy nothing will happen. It’s just a load of more “hot air” out of the muppet Enda!!!

• Oh Dear…Endanomics again.

This guy and his cohorts are embarrassing.

Take the cost of operating a small business away from them by getting rid of taxes and charges to the business? Guess who will get landed with the deficit?

• ‘brick by brick’, Really Richard? If you will insist on using analogies pick any industry you like but maybe not construction. Or banking. Or the civil service. Or…..actually, eh, best off not using analogies at all on reflection there Dick!!!!

• 270 different ways to skin the cat. un-believable. why not keep it simple and work to the seven ( 7) point plan that can do the same if not better. I’m in despair over all this rubbish from our ” leaders” What a load bull.

• This is the 4th plan launched.

• Wonder how many people READ through the plan or at least the appendix before slamming it? I’ll admit I didn’t have time to read the whole thing but did read the appendix with the 270 actions to be done. Each has a responsible body and a target date, which is definitely an improvement for a government plan.

And there is some pretty good stuff in there. But then sure its far easier not to read and just to rant, complain and whinge isn’t it? Even if people picked out 1 good thing about the plan before criticising it, it’d be a refreshing change for this site.

• planet dail eireann spin this bullshit every couple of months ………………..the stench of shite from them is everywhere ,

as long as they, the bankers, the top civil servants, county Councillors, the developers (remember their being paid by us via nama get their fat salaries and expenses this country will never be fixed ever.

• You gotta love @Tom Neville’s comments on any government related news pieces.

• This sounds like another 5 point plan. A load of bullshite designed to make us think they’re doing something. I can just see the advisers telling kenny – if anybody asks about jobs just say ’275 point plan’ and repeat.

• If anyone else has a better idea for creating jobs then what are you waiting for?
    All these negative criticisms won;t get us anywhere. I know the Government have made mistakes, Bondholders etc. but we need to get people back working again and spending money.
    I think creating a fund to invest in small and medium-sized businesses is a great idea.

• they wont listen to anyone else, you give me a forum and i will speak, do you think if us commoners had access it would make a tiny difference? some of the worlds top economists are repeatedly pointing out the flaws in the governments actions but they too are ignored

• How about giving small business owners an incentive, in real money terms that when they create a job, 50% is paid immediately and the balance when it becomes a full time position. Should be easy to administer. This to apply to all comers not just the un-employed registered. But for God’s sake don’t let our guru’s in the civil service near the wording of the plan. It will cost too much in advice and legalities before it’s put in place.

• iBob101 13/02/12 #

New jobs come from new entrepreneurs.

If you start a business and it fails guess how much social welfare you get to support your family?

None.

If the business has debts that can’t be paid, guess what happens under the “new and improved” insolvency regime shortly to be introduced?

You’re bankrupted, prohibited from starting another business for 3 years, and spend a total of 8 years trying to pay back the creditors.

Draw your own conclusions on how attractive it is to be an entrepreneur in Ireland. Nothing to help this in the “jobs” plan.

• Revolting Peasent: you have a forum. The stage is yours. Impress me with your next post and I’ll give you a job immediately.

• very well tom, i had my own business and it failed 2 years ago due to lack of customers, i am now studying a degree in economics, ill give you a shout in 3 years time when i get my degree

• You could call me straight away and I’d give you a job straight away if you impressed me. Economics degress are ten a penny. Get a first class honours and I’ll hire you then. Alternatively impress me with your attitude now and I WILL hire you now.

As it happens, I am actually in need of landscaping work. But we have a very impressive (and very nice) landscape gardener already lined up. He advised us to put off the work for few weeks until the worst of the winter is definitely gone. He also mentioned that he has enough work at present. Now I am wondering how he can get customers but you cannot.

• maybe he is in a better location then me, i found i couldnt compete because i wasnt willing to pay less than the legal minimum wage and i showed loyalty to my longer term employees, i suppose in the cut throat world of todays business standards there was no place for solidarity with people that had contributed to the business for years, the guy that out bid me for my largest contract (a personal friend btw) had long ago stopped hiring eu citizens as he could get around the minimum wage, i dont blame him, just my own version of fair play, not everyone went bust tom, only several businesses every day, sure it was all their own fault

• Diarmuid,nobody is been negative here.Kenny is talking through his arse.I would love to see some jobs created,as I am out of work.He is just spinning crap again to soften up the blows he is to inflict upon us soon.Firstly,the big payout to the bondholders,coming soon,and mark my words we will have another budget or two before the end of the year.No way can we pay back all this money to Europe,its just not possible.so the longer he can keep up from marching on the Dail the better.In the meantime,he and his cronies will rake in the money.They are without doubt,the greatest bullshitters of all time.I had no time for Bertie,or Haughey,but at least they told us straight out,that they were robbing us.

• I don’t know what location you are in, but he this magic thing called a car. I’m sure you don’t have one. As for why you can’t compete with him, well if you’ve given up already, I am sure that he won’t mind.

As regards this guy, his marriage broke down, his dad died when he was young, he doesn’t come from money….but I am sure you’ve had it worse than this guy.

• Dermot, I love your opening two lines.
      “Diarmuid,nobody is been negative here.Kenny is talking through his arse.”

Give me a shout when you do start with the negativity. It will be hilarious.

• What’s the job Tom? I have a First Class MA in Economics and Politics and about to leave these green shores unless the right opportunity comes up! Or is the offer only open to Revolting Peasant?

• it has nothing to do with giving up you tool, every business and individual have different circumstances, if you knew anything about landscaping business you would know location has a lot to do with it, if i have to drive 3 hours to do a job who do i charge for that? i held on as long as i could and bankrupted myself in the process, there is the small matter of the cost of running a business and i dont believe for one second that you have one, the way you talk about these things show a distinct amount of bullshit

• Paul, I sent you a private message via Facebook.

Revolting Peasent, Yes, you obviously have all the answers.

• point out whats wrong with my statements tom, point by point argument, instead of these sweeping statements that address nothing, i obviously dont have the answers or i wouldnt be where i am now, all you do on here is call people negative whiners,, i have never seen one post from you that offers any solution to anything, and for someone with a business you seem to have a great deal of time on your hands, people are having a hard time tom, and what is happening to them is valid, when you offer a valid solution then i will happily take your criticism on board

• Actually doing some admin work at present (and will be until about 9pm tonight). I mess about on the net at times at work, but always take time to see what’s going on in the world.

You don’t need me to point out what is wrong with your statements. Put your hand on your heart and ask yourself “Do I come across as someone whom an employer would want to employ or a customer would want to give business to?”

I don’t want to get philosophical on you, but only you can answer these questions.

• jesus tommy boy
      still waving the job around
      or is this a new one on offer?
      nah, don’t bother answering dat as
      i know u’ll be only BSing.

I can just see Enda thinkin to himself
      “Right, banks looked after….check
      Ministers sorted….check
      Satisfied Angie and the Sarcy git…..check
      Mmmmmmmm….what am i forgettin??
      Crap, yeah, the peasants…..
      More big talk about jobs,,,,yeah, that aught to
      keep the greedy plebs off me back for a while…

• Eileen,
      Why am I not surprised that you first post here was abudive? You’re so classy.

Yes we still have jobs on offer. We hired five in January 2012 and we’re still on the lookout for good people.

Now I’ll brace myself for the usual vulgar abuse I’ve come to expect from you.

• Apologies about the typo.

Eileen, I consider you “abusive”, not “abudive” lol.

• Looks like I was right to predict incoherent abuse.

Have a gentle night.

• Tom , Tom Is that all you have got ….
      Have a gentle night !!!! ha ha .

• The kop 14/02/12 #

i reckon Tom must be in the septic tank business….. being best buddies with Phil Hogan and all…. an auld nod and a wink and sure more jobs for the boys…..400000 on the dole and Tom can’t get anyone to work for him….now i wonder what that says!!!!

• Indeed Kop,

You possibly missed the point about hiring five already in 2012.

Perhaps you should read a little slower my friend.

• The kop 14/02/12 #

just one problem there tom….. i’m not your friend…..and with some of the people who you are friends with…i definitely don’t want to be associated with being one of them….
      thanks anyway……

• Ah Kop,

My old friend, life is too short to explain stuff to you.

Have a good one!

• Jobsbridge anyone?

• Dario Fo 13/02/12 #

The only jobs created under the 100 day joke, was for their own cronies, and it cost us a fortune. We will eventually create our own jobs. F.O. Enda. Tax the shit out of your cronies. Leave us alone.

• hahahahah enda u are gas man hahahahahahahhaha af fuck off

• This thread has been a lovely read. Has certainly clarified for me that it is mandatory to wear blinkers if you support this government and its very short sighted austerity measures. As far as the word of the day goes ‘negativity’ is not to blame for state this country is in, it is short sighted and inept politics that include your beloved Enda Tom.

• I believe they can achieve those numbers. Well, I believe the five zero’s show promise but I do have some doubts about the one in front.

• The same comments from the same bunch of whingers and naysayers. By the way should the research budget read €500 million and not €500 billion?

• clap clap enda kenny try ruins everythings agian haha u make me laugh

• Over 250,000 people came to Ireland looking for work, from Poland, since Poland joined the EU.
    In 2014, people from Bulgaria and Romania will be able to come here too looking for work, and I have a niggling suspicion that there will be more than 250,000 coming here from these countries.
    Now, does anyone else see a potential problem here?
    Taking into consideration that the unemployment rate is over 14% at the moment and looks likely to increase ( although emigration of Irish people might keep it balanced for a while).

• Could swear I read somewhere this is a plan. Just check thesaurus.Aspiration – nope, don’t see a plan…

• Thats mad, People have been looking for the goverments job creation plan, here it is and all people say is Haha or good one.
    Damned if you do, damned if you don’t….

• Nothing more certain than the “what can you do for me?” brigade will be the last ones to get a job.

• Moan, moan, moan, moan, moan, moan….and so forth

• Barry……………………I hope you have a bunker!

• No wonder the Country is in trouble if the whinging and negativity above is representative. But I don’t believe these views are representative at all. It is far more likely that many of these rants and ravings come from a very specific and organized Political Party who feed into the fears and worries of ordinary people while whipping up a frenzy of anarchic type views.
    Let’s look at Greece and the millions of ordinary people who are affected by austerity measures yet the cameras show us just a tiny number who destroy property and throw Molotov cocktails at the police.
    I suppose the origin of that term give us an idea of the leanings of these “outraged citizens”
    We have seen the same manipulation of people’s fears about drugs on the streets and our so called friends are there immediately to help.
    Extremists can so easily hide themselves using digital media and for this reason we should all be careful as to what our views are really supporting.

• of course they are all extremist because they do not agree with you, i wonder how many of the 430k unemployed people in this country are all negative, or maybe the 100k odd people about to lose their homes, or 20k odd that already have done, or the 50k plus that have emigrated due to economic mis-management by our great leaders, how dare they be negative, we should be happilly singing and holding hands as we skip merrily over the insolvency cliff, wouldnt you think that the number of protesters is representative of a far bigger number that arent protesting/ in my experience there are usually a much greater number of people that dont protest but agree about the reasons the protests are happening

• Just curious as to which political party you work for Mark. As the old saying goes… I do not necessarily agree with what you or anyone else may say, but i’ll die to defend your right to say it. Yes there are Trolls on this and every other site just there being paid to cause trouble or denounce others and there are also real people with completely opposite views to you or I but they are (for the time being) entitled to hold those views and air them. Now until Mr Sherlock manages to enact his and other bills to stop the freedom of speech. We just all have to abide with it… remember that you as an adult have the ultimate power in controlling what you read or don’t… unless you are one of the poor helpless incompetants that rely on others to tell you what is safe or not for you to look at… which i assume you are not. Enough said?

• Mark, there were estimates of over 80,000 people on the streets in Athens on Sunday. not exactly a tiny number, not exactly extremists either.

• Negativity,how about positivity,I”m alright,Fuck you Jack

• Cheers Eileen. Don’t you know that we are not allowed back slap on err !!! Someone might think we belong to a political party and have some hidden agenda !!!! Ha! Ha!

• Some people always find away to turn positive news into negative news.

• Thank you for your application above!
    Due to the considerable levels of interest in the positions offered we have decided to eliminate all candidates that express negativity and unfortunately that means you ! Yes every single one of you!
    Off you go chaps and find another potential employer who wants that kind of attitude within a mile of any decent Organisation.
    Yours etc.

• lol ‘attitude’, so u havnt lost your house,job family etc?

• You my friend are not in tune with whats going on in this country. These clowns dont have the know how to create jobs. I was in business for 13 years & employed 12 people. Not one of them has come to me to ask about providing real sustainable jobs or any of the real business people I know have not been asked. I just found out that a very large company that I know has gone bust. They were in business about 40 years. These jobs they talk about wont even keep up with the ones being lost. When you have a hole in a bucket its better to fix the.hole rather than just keep filling. Yes filling it works but its a waist of resourcesæ

• why not let been riot like in london and irish people just moan moan not fight chicken lol

• enda should sort money first back owe money after when all sort out and can plan it they plan same time and ruins i wish go dail house bomb hahahah

• Karl I have a question that I believe is usually on the list as a Mandatory one;
    Please indicate the to readers the sum of Irish monies received by German banks over each of the least three years.
    For additional marks please indicate the proportion of Irish debt held by German banks.

You see Karl I don’t think you know what you are talking about.

• So Karl you basically don’t have an answer other than a need to express your old fashioned anti capitalist dogma which has worked wonderfully in the Soviet era and look at how well off those people in Cuba are under those ideas.
    Germany has a large exposure to Ireland and we have an even higher one to them. There is nothing unusual in that as funds as ordinary as Pension investments ( I presume it’s ok to have these type of investments) move from Government Bonds or Gilts to Equities such as BMW or Mercedes for example. This can help Karl to ensure more self reliance for our elderly if that’s ok in your anti capitalist world.

Add New Comment