TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Teachers sought increase in breastfeeding time allowance

INTO conference motion from Enniscorthy district sought to double teachers’ breastfeeding time entitlements.

A MOTION ON the final agenda of the Irish National Teachers’ Organisation conference sought to increase the one-hour time off allowance for breastfeeding teachers from 26 weeks to 52 weeks.

The motion, which was put forward by the Enniscorthy district, stated:

A teacher who is breastfeeding within a twenty six week period after the birth of her child is entitled to time off, one hour per day, without loss of pay as a breastfeeding break. Demands that this circular be amended to read 52 weeks.

Under Irish law a woman in employment who is breastfeeding is entitled to time off to breastfeed or express milk under Maternity Protection Regulations 2004. This means at any time an employee whose date of confinement was not more than twenty-six weeks earlier, who is breastfeeding is entitled to one hour (with pay) off work each day as a breastfeeding break. This time may be taken as:

• One 60-minute break
  • Two 30-minute breaks
  • Three 20-minute breaks

The motion which was not discussed due to time constraints at the conference sought to double the amount of days that women in other areas of employment are entitled to under law.

A spokesperson for the INTO said that the motion never got discussed during the conference adding:

In general, the INTO would argue that this facility should be extended to all working mothers regardless of occupation but as we represent primary teachers only we can only seek change with their employer, the Department of Education and Skills. Over the decades the INTO has a good record of securing improvements for its members many of which then had a wider application.

Read next:

Comments (101 Comments)

• Ah come on, they’re just milkin it now!

• the union making a tit of it again lol

• Teachers have the right to EXPRESS themselves.

• Far eastern countries who are doing well economically are laughing all the way to the bank when they read headlines like this.
      The western world will pay dearly for all their mistakes. Including breastfeeding.

• I. N. T. O
      You are a sad outfit living in total ignorance of the economic damage you are causing.
      You are an organisation of spongers.
      As if ireland wasn’t in a bad enough state already.
      Shame on your exploitment.

• You should be supplied with a free Kit Kat along with your free newspaper whilst taking your paid breast feeding break.
      It’s a bar because you lot have takien the biscuit.
      Shouldn’t a male teacher be given 3 x 20 minute paid breaks to prepare formula?

• Trying to get my teet I.N.T.O. this and spit it out.
      I think I have a grasp and it sucks.

Teachers AVONMORE paid time off freeding kids gets up my goat.
      From mammary, you get 26 weeks paid already and you want the udder 26 weeks too?.

You can’t see past-your-eyes. The Country has been milked already.
      It’s bull. It’s over. No more tit for tat
      It leaves a sour taste.

• Expensive milk by the looks of it.
      There is a cheaper solution though.. Milupa, Cow and Gate etc.
      Only kidding.
      Not kidding about the demand by I.N.T.O though.
      You are a bunch of greedy and irresponsible dimwits.
      I wish a Maggie Thatcher style politician were around to break up your cushy club.

• I’ve aboslutely no problem with the principle of breastfeeding breaks, and think all working mothers should have the right to avail of them up to two years. This is the World Health Organisation’s guideline age for weaning. Some may see it as a luxury we can’t afford but human milk is the biological norm for infants and leads, not surprisingly, to the best health outcomes. It’s about time we cherished our children and saw them as the future they are.

An hour a day seems excessive though. Of course primary teachers put in more time than they are technically “on” in front of the children but they’re totally free to express during this time. I’d have thought a longer morning break would be sufficient.

• It was a motion put forward by one district, which didn’t get discussed.

• I’m a primary school teacher and in all my years teaching I have never met anyone with the neck to take an hour off everyday to breastfeed. surely after 6 months maternity leave a feed before and after work and nighttime should be enough with bottles in between? I’m all for breast feeding but not at the expense of 30 children missing out on valuable teaching time (substitute cover is not provided so colleagues would have to pick up the slack). this is a perfect example of a tiny minority of teachers absolutely taking the $%&*. I love my job and getting the most I can out of my little pupils and it makes my blood boil to hear this rubbish.

• This whole story sucks.

• This is a non story. The motion was proposed but not discussed.
    The media setting private sector worker against public again to keep our eye of the big picture.

• I am an avid supporter of Breastfeeding, having breastfed my first two children for two years and currently breastfeeding an 8 month old. I am also a primary school teacher currently staying at home with the children until they are older. However I did manage to go back to work after my first child and successfully continue to breastfeed with no supplements. Actually once the baby is established on solids they can have a feed in the morning, a feed when you get home. My babies usually sleep with us so they can help themselves during the night at the all night cafe!!!! So giving solids and water in between would probably suffice. However, if you wanted to supplement with expressed milk you would need only one feed and that would take you 15 mins to express. So I don’t think that a mother of a baby over 6 months needs an hour off. Under 6 months, yes, but there are very few teachers going back earlier than their 26 weeks off so the issue rarely comes up.

I now have a child in primary school and I wouldn’t be overly happy with a teacher taking an hour off to express. They could use the 15 minute morning break and the 30 minute lunch break. I would be very much more supportive of the system ensuring that the teacher got her breaks and a space to facilitate the expressing rather than having them take an hour off a day.

• if you were a teacher you would understand how infuriated I am with this nonsense. I’m delighted to hear that you breastfeed and have an understanding boss but for teachers we get six months maternity leave and after that its back to work. and can’t a teacher express milk for bottle feeds during the day without taking an hour off work?

• It’s an hour total for the day, can be taken altogether or split into two or three “slots” and can be used to express (all of this is in the article), it’s a bit worrying that,as you are so dedicated to your job, you seem to have managed to miss the whole point of the article?!

• If a teacher is still breast feeding when she returns to work and decides she wants to continue doing so, does she bring the baby to school with her and leave baby in the staff room with a child minder? Or does the child minder bring the child to school 2 or 3 times a day? If not I assume that these new mothers will be expressing which can be done during the 2 break periods.

I’d also like to know if second level teachers have classes for every period. To the best of my recollection they dont as there was always a teacher or 2 in the staff room, and I’m not reffering to the head and 2nd head teachers

• This smacks of a conspiracy!!! I bet it was a private sector person that got the public sector teacher pregnant!!!!!

• Ok I did breastfeed for 9 months so here’s my two pence on the subject.

Right primary school teachers work from 9 – 3ish

At 6 months old a baby has started to be weaned onto solids so is less dependent on Mothers Milk.

If a teacher has a half hour commute we presume she begins feeding baby at 8 and ends circa 8:15. At this stage of breastfeeding it is actually a speedy process with a feed been done and dusted in approx 15 minutes.

Next feed would be due circa 12 – not 100% sure what time teachers get there breaks at but it won’t do any harm if it’s half an hour later. Teacher can express on lunch break – takes 15 minutes pumping + 5 for washing up.

Next feed would then be due at 4 – by which time teacher is home.

So in reality because teachers work such a short day anyway they would only need circa 30 minutes .

I did breastfeed so I really don’t see what the fuss is about. The hour they get as it is is sufficient.

• Peter 22/04/12 #

This is going a bit too far… Are we not broke as a nation?

• Why is this only looked for in regard of teachers? Are all other women who choose to breast feed and are working not classed the same. Why is this being branded as being another special requirement only for teachers. Every woman who chooses to breast feed should be classed as equal. No specisl treatment for any single sector of society.

• As a teacher who also worked in private sector it annoys me this general opinion that teachers have about themselves that they have more stressful jobs than others. Yes it is a stressful job ( what job isnt?) but holidays more than make up for it. Yes I work hard, yes I do a lot of work evenings and holidays..so what, that’s my job, I love it. If I stayed in my private sector job it would have been 50/60 hour weeks with 4 weeks hols. (which prob include working on a laptop during those hols)Teachers don’t do themselves favours gloating about doing “extra” work… “God love us” as other posters have said… I truly feel it is part of our job, it is not extra. And we do gets LOADS holidays, fact..
      As for breast feeding, I’ve breasted both my children for nearly a year, I think extra support should be there for ALL women who choose to breast feed in ALL jobs. I’ve been extremely fortunate to combine 26 weeks paid leave with few weeks unpaid then summer off paid. Effectively nearly year off, I’ve seen huge benefit this has been to both my children and myself, I think it’s very hard for women in private sector to not have these choices that we teachers have. Mothers or fathers should be given up to be year off maternity IMO!!

• Feed your child all you like.
    YOU pay for a substitute.

• For those who say teachers are always on complaining that their job is harder than others, I would say that it is a minority who complain. Nobody I know is disputing that everyones’ jobs are hard. What doesn’t happen is the utterly spurious and ridiculous demeaning of any other profession I can think of. I don’t know of any other profession where members constantly have to justify their jobs because of ridiculous stories such as this one. There seems to be a complete disconnect between what parents (in the majority) say to us in thanking us for the jobs we do compared to the nonsensical arguments that appear because of ridiculous journalism such as this. Could the author not have identified some of the motions that were actually discussed and passed at the three teacher conventions which took place over Easter? At least that way we could have a serious an informed debate surrounding real issues unlike this one.

By the way, this is a storm in a tea-cup. It was a motion proposed at branch level which was never discussed because there are far more important things in Irish education which need immediate attention. In fact this proposed motion is given more publicity here than it even got at the INTO convention!!

• I agree…….. But decrease bloody Easter holidays, absolute joke the amount of holidays, bank holidays kids seem to be getting these days…… And don’t dare for a second tell me about teachers work this, work that, I know too many for your argument to be anyway correct… Teachers have a very good life, simples .

• @ Dave. You obviously don’t see the work all the teachers you know do behind closed doors. As a teacher myself, I can tell you that a lot of the time work needs to be done during all those holidays. For example, christmas test corrections during Christmas holidays, mock corrections during February break, not to mention corrections of the draft of the state examination projects during the Easter break. I’m not saying I agree with the article. But people are always complaining about teachers but don’t realise that the amount of work that takes place outside of the classroom is quite significant. If I was to put together teaching time, planning of class lessons, putting together resources for my students, copy and test corrections I would often do a 40 hr week and more. I don’t walk out of school at 4pm and say that’s it until tomorrow. It’s not a job you can leave in the office when you finish.

• Hi Niamh
      After careful deliberation I have to bow to your obvious knowledge of the teaching system because as you have said, you are a teacher…… After a little more deliberation I have to say my heart goes out to you. I cannot believe that you have to do a 40 hour week, this is bordering on slavery, I will put pen to paper ( finger to I pad) and immediately contact my local representative ( who is probably an ex teacher) it begs belief that in the normal scheme of things you have to work these absurd hours.

If my maths are correct you are probably on average doing 18.7 hours a week and are payed quite handsomely, I am an ex soldier and have many qualifications as I was in third level, during my 24 years I worked on average 65 hours a week and was payed s***e , got the compulsory days off (public service) and was on call 24 hours a day but hey this about the teachers milking time.

• @Dave if you think teaching is so easy why don’t you try it for a day. There are very few jobs where you are constantly being impinged from doing your job (class behaviour) throughout your day. As someone who has worked in both teaching and non teaching positions, teaching is by far the most draining of all.

• @Dion …. Never said it was easy but as hard as it is I am sure he 6 months off softens the blow.

• Miss Ni Dhonnchu,

(hand up..”me me me”)

You do a 40 hour week…for how many weeks of the year?

My heart bleeds

• Feed your babies on your own time.

• Crikey, the teacher bashers are up early this morning!

• @Dave most primary teachers work 10months of the year, with xmas, Easter hols excepted. Of course, this is great and is not something new for generations of kids and teachers worldwide. But it does gives students a well deserved break too. There has been a 10% drop in CAO applications for teaching. New teachers now earning 30% less and many unemployed due to staffcuts.

• Dave I think you hit on a good idea in your original comment. If breastfeeding teachers are looking for an additional 26 hours/year leave for breastfeeding breaks, all teachers (including breastfeeding teachers) could give up 26 hours in holiday leave at the summer or Easter break.

• Hi Niamh,
      While I’m not a trained teacher I did do substitute teaching in a few (disadvantaged) primary schools a number of years back. I got lots of work due to teachers on sick leave (stress-related) so I recognise how tough the job can be.
      However, IMO, the hours and holidays are amazing, relative to 95% of other jobs. Do teachers at primary level really spend all those extra hours on test corrections? I wasn’t that skilled but it took me max an hour after the kids left at 1.30pm.

• @Niamh… 40 hours a weeks and all that time off in the summer! How do you survive under such harsh conditions

• Apologies 26 x 5 = 130
      130 hours leave forfeited for the breastfeeding teachers.
      Think about the babies.

• @Niamh teachers working 40 hours is not uncommon. Many of my friends are teachers and I know they have a tough job. Just like I have a tough job in my industry. Every day I have, is stressful. Dealing with high stakes in a high pressure environment where management expect an awful lot out of us. I earn today what I earned 10 years ago. But what grates me about any conversation about teachers is the attitude teachers have about their own plight. They give an impression, intended or not, that their job is more difficult than others and so deserve everything they have. If only they would argue with balance to show that they understand and acknowledge that their work circumstances are quite favourable in comparison to those who don’t teach instead of trying to push home some agenda which doesn’t actually reflect reality. The reality is we all work hard, many times more than 40 hrs a week, for very average pay. I’d like to see teachers argue with more balance. You don’t help yourselves.

• Dave, you got paid shite? Thats your own fault for picking that job, no one elses.

• Very true Ciara. I hate when people moan that they’re in a job that doesn’t pay feck all. For the most part you get paid relative to the skills you have. If its a job that a monkey could do how can you expect to be paid more than peanuts?

• Chris 22/04/12 #

@Dave, why is kids having holidays a bad thing? And why should teachers work these days if there is nothing to do?

@Alan Hit the nail in the head there. I believe teachers do have a tough job for the time they work and a lot of people dont appreciate this due to incorrect information/opions being pushed on them. I do also believe that teachers should acnowledge the fact that when u consider the amount of summer, easter, christmas time they have off.

At present the system is ok, teachers need to stop giving out though. There is no reason to get them to work more hours and a pay cut would result in poorer standard of education, they dont get paid that much as it is.

• I have been a teacher for 34 years. I apologize for loving my job! I am however sick and tired of the continual teacher bashing. I acknowledge that lots of people work hard but it is very demoralizing when others see teaching as just the holiday periods. Just this past week I took my students to complete a required fieldwork section for the Leaving Cert. I left home at 8am and returned at 10.10pm. This week end I have worked at the presentation of the results for class on Monday for several hours. This is only a snapshot of lots of other examples during the school year. Personally the holiday period is also a time when I update resources and plan for the following school period too. Again I apologize…as I also take holidays during that time as well. My wife is a Primary teacher and she has never left school “on the bell” ever. Most work on preparation is done at home in the evening and weekends, and I might say using computers and ink and stationary that was paid for by ourselves. Next time you visit a school , just look at the walls and think! How and when was all this work done?
      My daughter works in the private sector and I too see how hard she work as well. However she is well aware of the time that we spend at home working on school related “stuff”.
      About time this nonsense of looking from the outside and judging anthers job. Finally as a teacher, I have never in 34 years had a bonus nor overtime payment or expenses of any nature. Irrespective of how many extra hours I put in there is no way to increase my salary. My salary is down 22% in the last 3 years .

• @ciara.. There were not many opportunities in the early 1980’s for families of which I came from, I joined the army in 1984 as an apprentice fitter, that was huge for me, my career was very successful and it was a vocation for me, I like many others in my situation upskilled at every chance I got but you see Ciara the army was always the third class citizen in the public service and we knew that but we persevered and got on with the job, whilst you were tucked up in bed reading ” hello” magazine I was either on bomb disposal duty or standing between two warring factions trying to make a difference , we asked for nothing as soldiers, just what was acceptable and the fact that pay was bad made us get up of our arses and nickser, just so we supplement our income. So now all he teachers are back a week after the Easter , let them look forward to the bank holidays just before there 3 months ( on average) PAID leave. Oh by the way my teacher friends have booked there holidays in Australia where there back packing for 8 weeks, such trials and tribulations .

• Dave, I was 8 in 1984 so i wasnt reading ‘Hello’ mag then or now. Im from tallaght so there wasnt a massive amount of opportunities for me either until i was 25 and got up off my arse, took out a massive loan and went to college for 5 years.
      The irish army? seriously? Youre not exactly on the frontline in Kosovo or Afghanistan now are you Dave? You werent exactly fighting the Nazis either.
      You chose that job, no one told you you had to do it. When you got older you could have made a change but you didnt and now youre complaining about those who have the bottle to get out there and defend their rights in the work place? Your problem, not theirs.

• @ ciara, well looks like you know little or nothing about the Irish army, you don’t have to be ” on the frontline ” to risk your life, not going to scribe my resumè here but it’s safe to say after 8 trips to Lebanon, kosovo, Bosnia and Liberia I have seen my fair share of death and in many cases lucky to be still intact… As for not supporting others in their quest for better working conditions,running home to breast feed your baby is way down the list for me, it’s on the list but down near the bottom.

• “The irish army? seriously? Youre not exactly on the frontline in Kosovo or Afghanistan now are you Dave?”

Sigh. Ciara, the army is in both of those places

And even if it wasn’t, denigrating someone else’s job in order to speak out against people denigrating other people’s jobs is so hypocritical I’d swear you are doing it on purpose

• @ chuck… I am not denigrating her job, I just think that whether the job is difficult or not, they have enough time off without another 26 hours to breast feed

• @Ciara I’m not in the military nor do I know anyone in the military, but I do find your attitude towards Dave and his chosen profession highly derogatory. These guys are in some of the most dangerous places in the world and do us proud. Taking a cheap shot because the teaching profession itself has been criticised is one of the reasons why teachers get jumped on at every turn here.
      I’m all for fair and honest criticism from both sides. We should respect each other’s work and life because we all work hard. All of us.

• Sorry for re-post. I posted this as a single response when I meant to post it as a reply!

For those who say teachers are always on complaining that their job is harder than others, I would say that it is a minority who complain. Nobody I know is disputing that everyones’ jobs are hard. What doesn’t happen is the utterly spurious and ridiculous demeaning of any other profession I can think of. I don’t know of any other profession where members constantly have to justify their jobs because of ridiculous stories such as this one. There seems to be a complete disconnect between what parents (in the majority) say to us in thanking us for the jobs we do compared to the nonsensical arguments that appear because of ridiculous journalism such as this. Could the author not have identified some of the motions that were actually discussed and passed at the three teacher conventions which took place over Easter? At least that way we could have a serious an informed debate surrounding real issues unlike this one.
      By the way, this is a storm in a tea-cup. It was a motion proposed at branch level which was never discussed because there are far more important things in Irish education which need immediate attention. In fact this proposed motion is given more publicity here than it even got at the INTO convention!!

• And I find Daves attitude to teachers and nursing mothers derogatory.

Dave O’Shea, Id put a nursing mother providing the best start in life for her baby near the top of my list along with providing the best education so that people dont have to go into jobs they dont want to do.

• I see now ciara your veiled attempt at degrading what’s a fine job.. You are very obviously not reading the posts properly,I will simplify it for you.
      A. I never said I was in a job I did not want to be, I said the pay was S….e for the amount of hours we do.
      B. I don’t care if a teacher wants to breast feed or not but if she does let her do it in her own time.
      C. Please refrain from undermining my education and intelligence , my CV would blow your mind ( had such an excellent addition to that but I will hold back)
      D. Irellevant what anyone says on this thread, teachers ( of which I respect on the whole) have a very generous amount of time off and everyone who takes their profession seriously works after hours etc etc. so don’t try to justify after hours work.

• While the merits of breast feeding are what they are, I think there needs to be consistency when it comes to time of work for parents, as all parents need time off when a baby comes along. Motions such as this are put forward in a democratic forum and the proposers are entitled to put forward their views, however Ciara is right this should not be used to bad mouth teachers as they do a tough job but it’s a career they picked and at this point in time I think they have enough benefits to go along with decent salaries. I also hold a strong believe that far too many people employed
    in the public sector are over payed and have cushy jobs with lots of extra benefits while those who are skilled and efficient and are doing the hard work all get tarred with the same brush.

• you’re right ladies, I know nothing about breastfeeding, but priscilla, 3 twenty minute periods a day , add up to 26 hours over 26 weeks which equals the children losing nearly a full week of teaching time. I fully intend to breast feed if I’m lucky enough to have my own babies, but I can only imagine difficult but how wonderful it is. if I’m lucky enough to have a baby then after maternity leave I will limit breast feeding to outside of work. you don’t know much about small primary schools if you think supervision is always available because its not. how in gods name in a three or four teacher school is a teacher able to leave their own class to supervise another?? I don’t know any teacher and have never heard of any teacher that takes this hour off or the two variations of it because sub cover is not provided and its unfair to other staff members to take up the slack. children go wild without their teacher in the room

• @Niamh, you “often” do a 40-hour week? Well 10 out of 10 for brass neck!!!

I wouldn’t fancy being you on Monday morning, facing your colleagues after letting the cat out of the bag! At least you don’t have to see much of them in the workplace!

• @ Sean. I was merely pointing out that teaching involves a lot more work than people realise. My job isn’t just about class teaching time. I don’t have a brass neck for trying to point that out. Neither am I saying my job is tougher than anyone else’s.

• couldn’t they do it in class, what better education could children get?

• How did we ever manage to get out of the cave?

• Absolutely agree. I don’t understand the backlash? Breastfeeding is supply and demand. If you don’t pump or nurse, your supply goes down, in addition to being at risk for plugged ducts and mastitis, which would lead to days off to deal with the illness. A healthy breastfeeding relationship is crucial to babies AND the mothers.

• well written Carol

• Phil G 22/04/12 #

@Niamh, what sort of work do you do from June to august ? And sure the primary school teachers have it handy as they have no corrections to do during December and February … Of course they have 4 less weeks off in the summer than your 12 weeks..

• Women have every right to breastfeed for as long as they want to, however only as long as they are not neglecting their other responsibilities. It seems you can never argue this or have a reasonable debate with the breastfeeding fundamentaists. They ride the highest horse, they are modern martyrs.

• So they should neglect their child?

We shouldnt even be debating this, its ridiculous that we have to fight for the right to feed our children the way they are supposed to be fed.

• thank you Helen I haven’t missed the point, expressing can be done at home so that the baby can be fed breast milk while mum is teaching if that’s what suits all concerned.

• eight hours (approx) of not expressing, depending on the childs/breastfeeding regime, would not be feasible as supply would reduce, blocked ducts etc. Im expecting a baby (3rd) in v near future and hope to be able to breastfeed for as long as possible, for the health of baby and bonding, Im not a teacher but work in public service, my first concern was that the hour a day (split up into different periods) would not actually be long enough , and also the attitudes of people who would look down their noses because of taking time to express/feed. Its no wonder the number of breastfed babies in the country is so low, obesity levels are so high among children. Its not a bad thing to want to feed your baby naturally, its not an attack on teachers. It is an opportunity that can be availed of, if desired, and in my opinion its only right. No wonder its still taboo to feed your child in public! I also think that paternity leave right should be available for men if they want it

• No wonder our kids are so thick ;)

• Teachers’ union taking the piss again. What’s wrong with expressing on your own time? It’s high time government tackled the unions head-on, for common sense to prevail and to bury this ridiculous PC nonsense.

• Would they be obliged up prove (somehow) that they were breastfeeding? Such a tiny percentage of babies in Ireland are breastfed past 6 months that this should only affect a handful of teachers each year.
    However, I suspect it would be used by all teachers returning from mat leave as an excuse for a shorter working day.

• What a disgraceful comment. The teachers in the Primary sector do a fantastic job with your kids! Check out the inspection reports on http://www.education.ie/insreports/school_inspection_report_listing.htm. Take your time to inform yourself without the warped view you apparently have.

• Cathy, the entitlement for breastfeeding breaks/time to express for one hour a day in schools already exists, so to say that it would be used by all teachers returning from maternity leave as an excuse for a shorter day is a bit disingenuous. Hardly anybody is using it as it is. I can’t speak for all teachers but I have yet to meet a teacher that has used it. As you said, breastfeeding past 6 months in Ireland is not that common, so I can’t see where teachers are taking advantage here when the provision is already in place.

• Would never be allowed half this in the private sector….

• MOG!

• They’ll just end up hiring less women as a result of this, are they mad?

• I agree wholeheartedly to this well done the teachers!! Shame on those who would argue against breast feeding men or women, if they wish to put their children long term health at risk for capitalism then that’s their choice but hands off other people children. If you you don’t like your lives in the private sector stand up for yourselves or else stfu.

• That is a joke! Don’t they know we are in a recession! Kids are young and tired As the year moves on, therefore needing a break but teachers are adults!!

• ffs they only work part time as it is if they get any more time off they may as well not work at all Mothers that work in the private sector have to get on with it if they were to look for this time off i know what they would be told for such a bunch of educated ppl they should cop on to themselves when i had my children maternity leave was only for 14 weeks and 12 if u were not returning back to work and u had to finish up 4 weeks before babies due date i think 26 weeks is plenty of time to get yourself sorted unless u had a very premature baby these mothers might need more time paid leave

• I was extremely lucky and grateful to have a very understanding boss, who herself as a mother who gave me the year off of work as I was breastfeeding.

I fully support the teachers in this, as I do any other person wishing to take 52 weeks maternity leave whether they are breastfeeding or not, six months is not long enough and I think anyone with a small baby will agree wholeheartedly.

Ciara, you obvioulsy are not breastfeeding, my god it always breaks my heart to read such ignorant remarks, in particular from a woman about breastfeeding. in relation to (surely after 6 months maternity leave a feed before and after work and nighttime should be enough with bottles in between)

I hope if you ever do choose to breastfeed, you get the support you need.

• unfortunately to burst your bubble I am not stupid or ignorant but a well educated young woman who takes her job seriously. After six months its time to get back to the real world. this is not about taking a years maternity leave its about taking an hour off EVERY DAY TO BREAST FEED leaving a full class of thirty children unsupervised and without a teacher.

• I like ciara

• You obviously haven’t read the article properly either. A teacher returning after 26 weeks maternity leave is already entitled to take breastfeeding breaks for an hour a day for the following 26 weeks if she so chooses. That brings her up to one year in total. This motion is seeking to bring that up to 52 weeks which would be 18 months breastfeeding. I am a teacher and I don’t know anyone who has ever used the breastfeeding breaks. Also because of the way holidays fall in teaching, teachers are generally running maternity leave into holidays, e.g. a teacher going on maternity leave in December will have maternity leave run out in June, but is going straight into summer holidays and will not return to school until the end of August. With the 6 month breastfeeding break provision already in place on return to work, I’m really wondering why it was felt by this branch that it needed to be extended to a year. The fact that it came from one town/regional branch rather than a county branch suggest perhaps that one teacher is pushing the motion and no one opposed it.

• Ciara, I just said your remarks were ignorant, not you. You, and most of the other commenters are ill informed about breastfeeding, thats all.

Carol – I read the article, if you re read my comments – I support the teachers and I also support anyone wishing to take 52 weeks maternity leave.

• Found your tweet-link to this article to be very depressing, as are the ridiculous comments from your normally erudite readers. Breast feeding is not a luxury, is not ‘time off’ and is, in normal modern society, celebrated and allowed for in the working environment. Your Irish readers could bother to inform themselves before spouting off ridiculous statements like I’ve had to read this morning.

• Ciara you know noting about breastfeeding, if a woman does not continue to pump every 3 hours there supply will drop and they will no be blue to produce sufficient milk for their baby. As it was also said not expressing/pumping can lead to certain health issues including block milk ducts and mastitis the later being a serious infection to the mother, also without expressing frequently your breasts at the beginning will engorge and leak, surely it’s not appropriate for a teacher to walk around leaking everywhere! In a work day where teachers work 9-4 it would be impossible to nog pump in that time, granted with school breaks a teacher could work in a pumping schedule without taking the hour but there is more to pumping than just actually pumping and it can take sometime including washing and sterilizing after pumping do pump is ready fir the next session. I know I am going to get backlash and comments saying I am part of the breastfeeding brigade but I am a new young mother who yes breastfeed and It would be hard if my employer didn’t allow me time off to pump when I go back to work next month. Ciara wait till your a mother and see if you ate complaining about 6 months off I emigrated and I get 3 months off and none of which are paid, but that’s life. Three 20 minute periods ate not going to adversely hurt A child’s education, and they would not be unsupervised. Cover is always available. My God people you would swear it was a hour off a day do she could go smoke crack! Recession or not Ireland needs to remember its heart. And no I am not a

• eh priscilla I’m not complaining “about six months off”! everyone is entitled to maternity leave !!! I’m a teacher and from a teacher’s point of view I don’t agree with an extra 26 weeks of breast feeding during school time bringing it up to 52 hours of lost teaching time! I doubt too many parents would like their children to be without their teacher for five hours a week either!

• Priscilla, I don’t think any teacher on here is anti-breastfeeding/expressing, but the reality in Irish schools is that lessons on average are 40 minutes long, so if you are to take 3 20 min breaks per day, everyday for 6 months, that is potentially 15 classes a week that get disrupted. So it’s a case of ‘Well I’ll take my breaks during 1A Irish, 2B Geography and 5C Computers on Monday, and during 2D Irish on Tuesday….’ some students could end up losing quite a lot of time if their teacher is missing for half a class a few times a week. What if you are a practical teacher (home economics, science etc)? Do you just leave the class in the middle of a cookery session, science experiment? I’m not against time for expressing milk, but school timetabling is a little more awkward to factor in than say working in a job where there are other people doing similar work and are able to take up the slack.

• Teacher. Apologies for typos, iPhone and it’s 4am where I am and I am
    feeding my baby.

• 26 weeks maternity leave? When my 1st child was born almost 18 years ago we got 14 weeks maternity leave and could take 4 unpaid leave, we couldn’t afford for me to take unpaid leave so our baby was just 11 weeks old when I went back to work! As for time off for breastfeeding I’d say my male boss would gave collapsed if I’d asked for that!

Add New Comment