TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Two protests to be held in support of rape victim Fiona Doyle

The case is listed for mention at the Central Criminal Court tomorrow where it is believed the DPP will make an application to the court.

Fiona Doyle on RTÉ News.
Image: RTÉ News

SUPPORTERS OF RAPE victim Fiona Doyle and other sexual abuse victims in Ireland have organised two protests for Saturday, 26 January. The first will be held at 12.30 pm at Leinster House, the other in Fiona’s father’s hometown of Bray.

Facebook pages and Twitter hashtags, #JusticeforFiona and #Justiceforusall, have been set up to help rally more support for the marches.

They come following the controversial sentencing of her father, 72-year-old Patrick O’Brien, earlier this week. O’Brien pleaded guilty to charges of rape and indecent assault of his daughter over the course of ten years. Justice Paul Carney sentenced the man to 12 years in prison but suspended the final nine years and released O’Brien on bail pending an appeal.

A victim of sexual abuse, who will attend the protest but who cannot be named because of her own upcoming trial in February, told TheJournal.ie she knows what the system is like first-hand and so she wants people to come along “to support the very bad decisions” that have been put through it.

She said that although she doesn’t know Fiona personally, she feels that she needs to “support” her and will attend the protest along with her sisters, who are also victims.

Supporters are being asked to bring black balloons as symbols of anger over the sentencing.

Fiona is not expected to attend either rally but her son, Patrick Griffin will attend the peace protest in Bray. Earlier, he wrote on Facebook:

Just so everybody is clear us protesting and marching isn’t all about my mam. In fact, marching through Bray up to Oldcourt is protecting everyone in Bray and surrounding areas.

Meanwhile, the case is listed for mention at 11am at the Central Criminal Court tomorrow to finalise aspects of charges not dealt with. It is also understood that the Director of Public Prosecutions will make an application before the courts.

Read: RCNI calls for an end to granting bail after conviction for rape >

Read: Fiona Doyle case has ‘filled the nation with revulsion’ – Taoiseach >

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• Such a brave woman, you cant help but feel for her. This country is an absolute disgrace.

• Not the country, not even the Judiciary. Just one horrible little man, Paul Carney. (And obviously her father among others)

• The politicians pick the Judiciary, Carney was a PD member. Look up all the judges and their connections, to parties in Government now and the past. Judges should be selected and screened by a panel of laypeople, held too account and fired for poor performance. Poor politicians picking yes men/women, to act in the interest of politicians and government. Jails are overflowing, because of poor governance and bad sentencing!

• @stephen I agree and disagree with you Stephen. Judges need to have a strict interpretation of the law to deliver decisions. Judicial elections would be a vote of popular opinion. Judicial opinions need to be objective and neutral. What would happen if we all voted for lenient judges in one jurisdiction and harsh judges in another? That would not be fair to people living in different parts of the country as some would be sentenced harsher for similar crimes as other.

On the other hand, I don’t want to see politicians giving the old boys clubs jobs. Are they working in the intrest of the people or their friends. It’s a messy one. One thing is certain – its a total disgrace that Fiona Doyle can walk out of court and her father who systematically abused her for years can stroll out the same door behind her. Beyond belief!

• This woman is my hero.

• Brian- I am not suggesting, electing judges! Judges in this country, were nominated and appointed by politicians and a lot of these judges were/are members of government parties. So these guys, are carrying out the political viewpoint of a particular party. Judges should be selected by a panel of independent people and reviewed annually, If they don’t perform then they get demoted or fired.

• Sad clowns that have given the tumps down to these comments shame on the lot of ye. Just shows you how some people thinks its ok to rape a person and the leech walks free .

• Even worse I thought was the images of her mother ( I presume it was ) walking out of court with the father . It looked as if she was supporting him rather than her daughter .

• The fact that a known, convicted, tried and charged paedophile has been allowed out is astounding. Not forgetting the years of horrible abuse suffered by his daughter, who is responsible if he commits a sexual crime against a child now?

• WTf? why would 13 people thumbs down this , are they right in the head or what?

• http://www.herald.ie/news/i-was-right-to-shake-the-hand-of-jailed-sex-fiend-says-priest-1979286.html

Remember this ?

Thursday December 17 2009

A priest who shook hands with a convicted sex offender in front of his victim said today he stood over his actions and felt there had been a “miscarriage of justice”.

He joined the queue of about 50 people in the court to shake hands with Foley because “I just wanted to support him, just let him know he was not alone.”
      Nightclub bouncer Danny Foley (35) was found guilty of raping a woman, who was discovered by gardai in a semi-conscious state and naked from the waist down beside skip in a car park on June 15, 2008.

The 13 people who disliked Denise’s comment are the same type of people that would go up and shake a rapists hand in front of the poor girl who had been raped, they are disgusting pieces of humanity.

• Only in Ireland. Between judges almost condoning paedophillia and politicians voting to make drink driving legal. Is it any wonder that the rest of the world see us as a third world kip.

• Michelle, most are just trolls at best. Others, empty vessels and best ignored.
      Thanks for posting that story – it makes you wonder, does anything change?
      What is going on in the heads of the people whom we are programmed to trust the most, parents, the clergy, the judiciary? The whole way up and down the line, Fiona Doyle and other victims of abuse are raped and raped and raped again. It’s a mad world.

• sure wasn’t it the case with the magdaline laundries aswel, if a girl was raped she was locked away like she was the criminal and the rapist carried on as normal, that carry one was going on up until 1996, these trolls giving the thumbs down will get everything that they deserve, I believe in Karma

empty vessels is a great description would hate to be them !

• Emma, their sad nobody’s who think their funny by disagreeing with a sensible comment! Country’s full of them, we are a backward nation, always have been. I’m embarrassed to tell people I’m Irish nowadays. I’m going to have to put on a foreign accent and make something up. What a shameful nation and we’re just as bad for sitting on our arses as usual and doing nothing.

• Great to hear that the people are getting out on the streets in support of this brave lady….

• Disgraceful. A man gets six years for not declaring the right tax on imported garlic, and this guy is allowed to walk free, even after pleading guilty in court?? What is wrong with the world these days..

• She has my Support 100%. What an evil man her father is.

• The reasons given for the suspended sentence was his age and his state of health, however the prison services confirmed that they would be able to manage his health conditions. There is therefore no valid reason why that disgusting excuse for a father should be allowed to ever see the light of day again. My heart breaks for Fiona, she is so brave and deserves justice. How anyone could violate an innocent child is unfathomable, and for a father to do that to his own child? How could her mother standby and allow it? My child is the most precious person in my life, so “parents” like that don’t deserve the title!

• Somewhat of a contrast with what happens in the good ol’ USA: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/23/nyregion/nechemya-weberman-sentenced-to-103-years-in-prison.html?emc=na&_r=0

The intro:
    New York Times, January 22, 2013

An unlicensed therapist and respected member of an ultra-Orthodox Jewish community in Brooklyn was sentenced on Tuesday to 103 years in prison for repeatedly sexually abusing a young woman, beginning the attacks when she was 12.

The therapist, Nechemya Weberman, 54, a member of the Satmar Hasidic community of Williamsburg, did not react as the judge sentenced him. The victim, now 18, who delivered an impassioned statement asking for the maximum sentence to be imposed, dabbed away tears.

“The message should go out to all victims of sexual abuse that your cries will be heard and justice will be done,” Justice John G. Ingram of State Supreme Court said before imposing the sentence, which was close to the longest the law allows. Justice Ingram praised the young victim’s “courage and bravery in coming forward.”

Not much likelihood of that judicial attitude from “Justice” Carney…

• It is very difficult to accept that a father could rape his daughter and the mother ignore this, but then our judicial system fails to administer justice even after the man admitted to possibly one of the worst crimes that a human being could commit.
    He got a mock sentence and a telling off, that is what it amounts to. The Judge still is in a job and has a pension to look forward to.
    Carney is a disgrace to humanity, this is not the first time that he has made a decision that would cause sane people to wonder.

• Carney needs to be investigated, only a person who does not see a problem with paedophilia would show so much compassion to a paedophile. If he doesn’t come under major question after this debacle it is because he is being protected from “higher up”. I would hazard a guess Carney is also a paedophile and would be 99% sure I’m right. It’s the same with priests and clergy who protect each other, paedophiles see nothing wrong with paedophilia and cannot understand normal peoples horror regarding it. Hence the sentence.

• Poor girl feel so sorry for her and that so called thing of a father been left out of jail discrace !!!!! He’s private parts should be cut off him in sences He want a bullet the bastard

• I’m truly amazed by what gets thumbs down in these comments. As a nation we should be critical of what happens in our country. It’s not that we don’t love this country… It is our love for this country that we want to criticize and bring attention to how bad and backwards our systems are.

Alone, one individual can make a positive impact on our society and government. But with the combined weight of the people the noise that can be generated through discussion then action can move a nation.

It has been done before and it can be done again. Let us not cower behind injustice and stupidity. Let’s make a stand against it!

• CRIME: Bulb of Garlic tax fraud
    SENTENCE: 6 years
    OUTCOME: financial retribution made. .V.
    CRIME: Rape of a little girl for years
    PUNISHMENT: freedom
    OUTCOME: childhood lost and a life scarred.
    A society is judged on how it treats its most vulnerable. How could anyone not see the horror of this case, let alone the Judge. If you have a rapist pleading guilty to10 years weekly/nightly rape and he doesn’t get sent to prison, what can Victims and Gardai do in the future. Shame on our legal system.

• Eleen 23/01/13 #

I can’t believe the amount of red thumbs people are getting here. We need to do something about our justice system or at least some of the judges.

Especially Mr Justice Paul Carney. The man who used the phrase “an opportunistic spot of rape”. The man who jailed a woman who’d taken an overdose the night before trial because she couldn’t bare facing her attackers in court. http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/gangrape-woman-arrested-during-trial-following-overdose-3017017.html

• Regardless how you paint it! Regardless how you spin it! Regardless how you see it! Regardless how it embarass you! Regardless how it angers you! Regardless where we were! It boils down to this… We are a backwards country and we have a lot of work to do move us forward. So we are no longer the butt of jokes.

Free to drive and drink. Free to rape and walk. Free to openly steel from the people. Free to collect high salaries for political work that’s not as world impacting as other English speaking countries.

• Pedophiles have always been harboured and protected in Ireland , things have not moved on much from the dark days of the industrial schools

• cant believe all the dislikes on these comments showin support for the lady

• A bullet in the head for both the father the abuser and the mother the enabler. Judge needs to grow a pair. And to Fiona I salute your bravery and you can now be the one to change the system to prevent this from ever happening again.

• Judges in Ireland are of the ” jobs for the boys” brigade and as such are not their “Own” men but lackeys to their political bosses and therefore never able to grow a pair !

• An uninterrupted power supply, a shovel and a bag of lime appears to work wonders in some jurisdictions.

• Alabama has around the same population as Ireland. They also use the electric chair. In 2011, the last year that I can find statistics for, there were 1,371 rapes recorded in Alabama, 474 in Ireland.

• Voodoo

Alabama does not execute rapists.

Egypt
      Guyana
      China
      Iran
      Iraq
      Kuwait
      Pakistan
      Saudi Arabia
      Sri Lanka
      Tajikistan
      Thailand
      Vietnam

If your found guilty of rape in the above mentioned jurisdictions, capital punishment is on the table.

Great cure for recidivism.

• In Ireland there were 7.9 rapes reported per 100,000 population in 2006, in Thailand there were 7.9. Clearly not having that much of an impact.

Most sex offenders aren’t recidivists, the recidivism rates for sex crime are actually very low, somewhere around 12% in Ireland, according to the Prison Service.

If you want to do something for victims, call for funding for ongoing victim support, something like the probation service to work with them and help them get through.

Bleating on about electrocuting rapists doesn’t help anyone.

• Oh I see. Perhaps you can explain your theory to those victims who fall into the 12% category. After all, as you say it is so very very low. That little actuarial nugget will no doubt bring with it a cause to celebrate and commence immediately with the healing. I’m sure they will understand where you are coming from. That is, when your finished explaining the fact that they are unfortunately in terms of policy, statistical anomalies.

Voodoo, You may in your wisdom conclude that I sound like a sheep, on the condition that I may in turn assume that you sound like a politician, or a civil servant scratching away at a misguided policy directive for victims of crime.

Last thing rocket scientist, do yourself a favor and have a look at how the probation service is currently resourced and managed in Ireland. Pay close attention to the management and supervision of violent sexual offenders upon release from custody when you write that policy directive of yours. Then go back to the 12% that fall victim to the 12% and invite them over to your constituency office for tea and biscuits.

• this sentence must be reviewed ,.now .and anyone who abuses and rapes a child over years .really should hang .but as we dont have this option ..life should mean life .`like say 50 yrs he wont see the light of day again .so SOB STORY he is sick .so what ,lock him up and give him the meds .

• In my opinion, what this country needs is a good kick up the arse! Disgusting how easily people are getting away with this crap. The older I get, the more ashamed I am to be Irish..

• https://www.facebook.com/events/512032985486163/ march in bray please attend & share!

• Its disgraceful that a legal sentencing system would allow this man to not go to prison for what he did to his daughter.
    However I think it’s a detriment to her own courage and the spirit of the Irish people that a march in protest of the sentence has been organised. Hopefully, the application the DPP will put before the courts will be successful to reexamine the sentence put on her father.

• The Judges in this country learn nothing, so many convicted criminals are released on bail and commit more crime while waiting to be sentenced as they have nothing to lose, remember that young student who was raped and murdered in Galway, the guy who done it was out on bail at the time. Judges need to be held accountable for their actions, it is time to get tough on criminals in this country, they seem to have more rights than their victims, this needs to change.

• On the face of it there seem to be a great number of instances where the judges apply apparently inappropriate sentences. If we were living in a proper republic this wouldn’t be happening. All our governing institutions, financial institutions and courts seem to have totally lost the plot. The rest of the world looks on with amazement and amusement at the shenanigans here.

• Coming from a legal point of view, regardless of the heinous crime that took place, there is very little guidance here for the judiciary. The judges are basically said that the maximum sentence is life, but are left to determine if the maximum sentence should apply.

I believe that there needs to be reform of the sentencing in Ireland. There needs to be a set guideline available to judges because if people allowed judges to make a decision based on their emotions and their own personal biases then we have another flawed legal system. Guidelines need to be established, but they also cannot be the be all and end all. Every case is different and that does need to be acknowledged.

I also am not a fan of the American system because it can be extreme in some instances. The sentences handed down of 100 years have been applied to people have a record of petty crimes, the three strike system it is better known as. I think the English system, which has life sentences which usually last 30 years would the better model to base any reform on.

• The sentences are way to lenient regarding sexual assault, rape & incest in this country. Yesterday a man was sentenced to 8 months for slapping a woman unknown to him, on the bum on a beach. He claimed to be high at the time. Meanwhile a self-confessed serial incestuous, paedophile is let off scott free due to his self-induced smoking related illness. The message: It’s okay to rape and sodomise your daughter for over a decade because this centre right country is way too left when it comes to crime and the protection of women and children. Today on the 6-1 news proposed legislation which will limit criminals from holding PSV licences has put sex offenders in the same category as burglary, limiting the ban for 2 years max. Murderers and terrorists, however get lifetime bans. It has been proven the world over that recidivism is highest among sex offenders, yet this country refuses to acknowledge the gravity of these heinous crimes which affect women and children the most with emotional scars that never heal. Arguably the most vulnerable in society. We need benchmarks and mandatory sentences and the guarantee that rape victims are not gang raped in public by the judiciary. Shame, Shame Shame on them. They’re as bad as the serial abusers in the Church

• Maybe you should do your research properly sex offenders have the second lowest reoffending rate. First are murderers for obvious reasons. Drug dealers burglars have the highest rate. read the cso figures before you make a idiotic statement. There are people being freed on bail and committing crime who have over 30-40 previous convictions. Funny how no one is calling for harsher sentences for them. A mandatory sentence of 10 years for Drug Dealers was passed and has never been implemented but yet no one says anything about that. Oh and just so you are aware there are people out there that even have convictions in the and over the 100 mark.

• Well if I can get a baby sitter I will show my support on Saturday and I will be contacting a TD when I find the right one , because there the ones who should being hearing from the public at how the sentencing in all cases involving sex crimes need an overall !
    PS the red thumbs are easy to knock off when scrolling on phone ,people prob did it loads of times without realising it.

• This is the sort of rally I’d go to.

However if people were really serious about cracking down on abuse, then not highlight the fact that Irish society is managed by the threat of violence? What do you think prisons are? Every position of authority is back by the threat of being but in a caged to potentially be raped. Then of course there is Catholic Church which the majority of people support.

• How wonderful for Fiona that she was believed. How wonderful the world stands behind her. Let us raise our voices so the children of the world can hear us – let them hear us tell them the preciousness of children and childhood – let them grow with confidence in their hearts that they are good, It is the confident voices of our children, which, in the end, will bring the barbaric practice of childhood rape — all forms of sexual abuse — all forms of violence and abuse — to an end.

Here is a 13 minute documentary of my own healing journey. “I reach back now to every child on the planet suffering violence, and say, hang on, have faith, you too will overcome.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXUOfq9kg1I

Re*.:#AlITY bearings

what is reality to a child of nine
    when even my own body isn’t mine
    and everything inside me is feeling bad
    and I don’t even know how to reason I am sad

what is reality to the lonely girl aged nine
    who suddenly discovers there is such a thing as kind
    even though the kind they speak about
    lives somehow only in my mind
    a man who came and touched my heart
    and made me want to start to pray
    for they said he hears all we say
    and all we have to do is just believe
    which is easy cos I realise I do
    dear Jesus I know you are really true
    please come for me and I will go with you
    dear Jesus please please please please come
    with you I wouldn’t have to run
    please come dear Jesus I will take your hand
    I know that you will understand and love me
    already I feel very very happy
    I will not have to change at all
    you’ll love me just because I’m small
    and I’ll love you forever
    just come for me and please take me away
    please

what is reality to a young girl nine years old
    who’s learned that I must do as I am told
    no matter what it is
    don’t you dare to disobey
    there is no grey
    life is only black and white
    make no mistake
    “grown ups are always ALWAYS right”
    and I believed
    or at least I never questioned
    not til 1993
    when I watched my third born playing with her toys
    and realised that I was watching me
    and from that new perspective
    I could finally see
    the reality of being only nine
    as I saw my daughter’s innocence there was mine

when did I start to think I was indecent
    that it was my fault I was so slow
    that I didn’t fight and didn’t shout “No!”
    didn’t even try to raise myself up to my highest height
    or see he just pretended to be nice to me
    and was lying when he said that he was sorry
    and that it wouldn’t happen again
    and I forgave him
    they said we should forgive and so I did
    but I was just a kid
    and when I found out that he lied
    I found a way to hide away so well
    that it’s taken forty years
    to break the spell
    and crack the shell I built around my core
    where I’ve been stored
    quite safely
    whilst I waited for my grown up part to grow
    and come and get me
    and set us both free

An extract – Melody Ann Wood.

• look part of the problem is the judges were all barristers who were all solicitors who all came out of the kings inn. in addition the fact that the judges are appointed politically lends itself to corruption as even when a politicians retires he has a man on the inside as it were. The whole lot of them all know each other and if you “hire” the right one it makes things go a lot simpler. The whole lot of them judges soliciters and barristers are so far up each others h…les the Irish legal system has become one big mutual appreciation society. this happened before cue the Anthony Lyons case and will happen again. if the state is that worried about saving cost’s a cheaper solution would be to castrate him and leave him in jail for a couple of months or so. assuming he does not do himself after that then attach ropes to his four limbs and have him pulled apart and left for dead. i hate to say this but if this was america he would be coming out of prison in a box, but then again at least over there they try top protect their citizens from dangerous elements. BTW where is the Irish council for civil liberality on this one they scream blue murder if prisoners rights are impeded what about the rights of a little girl to grow up without being attacked by a demonic pervert twice her size

• If this gets put in jail the state will pay for his health care as he is in the care of the state .he will probably need 2 nurses round the clock ;and very intensive medical care .him not being in jail puts himself in charge of his own health care .is taking on this responsibility a good idea for the state

• ah no him not being in jail puts every female he comes in contact with at risk.
      him not being in jail puts every female child he comes in contact with at risk
      him not being in jail sends out a message to child molesters that they can engage in this heinous act and expect to walk away if they get away with it for long enough
      him not being in jail sends a message to every deranged psycho who has ever physically mentally of sexually assaulted a woman that they can expect to get away with it
      him not being in jail is sending out a message to young men that it is ok to beat up you wife/girlfriend as long as you get the right judge. and btw no matter whether he is in or out of prison he gets free health care vis a ve the medical card

Add New Comment