You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
BUGGING
Surveillance company says Paul Williams report on GSOC was "wholly inaccurate"
Verrimus, which carried out the security sweep of GSOC, has dismissed suggestions made in the Irish Independent today about the source of the anomalies.
10.35am, 18 Feb 2014
A COUNTER-SURVEILLANCE COMPANY which carried out a security sweep of the Garda Ombudsman headquarters has dismissed a report by journalist Paul Williams into the source of the anomalies found in the building.
Verrimus, a technical surveillance and privacy company based in the UK said the story about possible reasons for the security breaches was “wholly inaccurate”.
The report by Paul Williams in the Irish Independent today said that a wi-fi network in a nearby coffee shop had been the source of an external wi-fi network identified as an anomaly in the security sweep.
The report also suggested that the detection of a UK phone network during the sweep was caused by one of the phones used by an employee of the company.
In a statement, Verrimus said it cannot comment specifically on the task for GSOC or its findings, but said it will “correct technical inaccuracies in reporting”.
The company said it was not possible for a mobile phone of one of its employees to have been the source of the detected readings.
“A mobile phone cannot create a 3G base station, so it is impossible that Verrimus operator’s phones were the source of the fake Mobile Country Code (MCC) and fake Mobile Network Code (MNC) that was detected,” the company said in a statement.
It also dismissed the suggestion that the coffee shop had been responsible for the external wi-fi network.
Calls have been growing for an independent inquiry into the covert surveillance of the office of the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission since it was revealed more than one week ago.
Sinn Féin is to hold a debate in the Dáil this evening pushing for an investigation into who was behind the bugging.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
If you wish to vote yes vote yes, if you wish to vote no vote no, if you wish to stay at home stay at home. But please people don’t shove it down other peoples throats.
“Shy” No voters. I think that means people who are afraid to say what they believe for fear of being beaten with the largest politically correct stick we have ever seen.
Aw poor you. A couple of weeks od discomfort because you don’t believe others should have the same rights as you. LGBT people have to put up with the likes of you all their lives.
Well for some that the only problem this issue creates in their lives is that it clogs up their Facebook feed or they see too many articles on the journal. Put yourself in the shoes of gay people who have been under the microscope for weeks in the run up to this, being compared to child abusers and told they’ll want to marry a horse next and all the other rubbish being thrown about.
Vote yes on Friday, you’ll wake up on Saturday with it all over, you’re lives won’t have changed a bit, but it will be absolutely huge for gay people.
“Nothing unusual about that Robert, all the lesbians I know are just men trapped in an ugly fat womans body.” this is what gerry o donnell posted in the article about the new mural and tony kilduff has actually said he thinks homosexuals are pedophiles, I don’t think people should be calling anyone names but in the grand scheme of things which do you think is more damaging, most particularly to teenage lgbt people who see that?
Here Here, it won’t make a difference to anyone’s lives but those it directly effects.
We have moved on from a religious controlled society. And after it all came out in the wash they have no rights to any opinions on this matter. They should have all been burned at the stake for their mass collusion in how they treated the poor women & children of Ireland, America, Austria, South America. Short memories breeds bullsh&t
The Yes vote is crumbling quicker than a Fred Dibnah chimney stack.
We’ve seen it many times before.
Loaded polls engineered to sway public opinion then the opposite happens.
The establishment are going to have egg on their faces after this one.
Hope they go into Anaphylactic shock and implode.
dramatically? its gone from 1/10 to 1/5 still money on, while no side is 3/1. I take it you don’t bet much but if it was a horse race or a football match it would be a grand national winner vs a donkey or Barcelona vs. Cabinteely. Bookies are seldom wrong.
And here is the funny thing, if you asked people if they are ok with SSM a few years down the line after it is passed, you will find that a massive majority will support it.
Why? Because it will have zero negative impact on their lives.
Right now, I think, many will be voting no because they are allergic to change.
As we know, this referendum is being fought on the issue of potential access to surrogacy. Leo said on Claire Byrne last night that the government will ban commercialised surrogacy. If this is true, why didn’t they come out and say it earlier, thus clarifying the issue at the beginning; and why was surrogacy mysteriously removed from the family act at the last minute?
If this referendum is lost, it will be lost on government incompetence. They have allowed the surrogacy issue to boil over when, according to Leo, they could have explained how commercial surrogacy would be banned at the outset, thus assuaging many people’s concerns.
Leo is advocating a Yes vote. It sends a much more powerful message when someone who is neutral confirms that surrogacy is nothing to do with the referendum (i.e. as the Chair of the Referendum Commission has done) than if Leo says we’ll pay commercial surrogacy.
I don’t at all believe that this referendum will be lost because of Government incompetence because ALL parties are in favour of it, not just the Government ones.
An think it is naive to say this rests on “commercial” surrogacy – it may be being used as a convenient excuse by some but commercial surrogacy has exited and been taken advantage of many couples for years without any public outcry at all.
@Anne Marie Devlin: I put it to you that a Yes vote demonstrates approval of LGBT Surrogacy while a No vote is vote against Surrogacy for LGBT. Here’s my reasoning: Justice Cross was on RTE Radio 1 this am. He was clear on two points -but they are contradictory: 1) He said this Ref. is not about Surrogacy 2) He said Surrogacy is currently unregulated here but when the Gov. moves to tackle it, unless it’s banned outright, then, with a Yes Vote, LGBT will be as entitled to it as Hetero by reason of Equality (unless LGBT are deemed bad Parents, but we all know that won’t fly). So, a Yes vote can therefore be interpreted as tacit approval of Surrogacy for LGBT. There can be no doubt about it.
Grey mcgarry. Are you going to try to ban all couples, hetrosexual or homosexual from marrying given that both sets of marriages could lead to surrogacy? No, you wouldn’t darelationship attempt to trample on hetrosexuals right to marriage on the grounds that said marriage may lead to surrogacy. What if the hetrosexual people getting married already know they can not produce children without the use of surrogacy, will you be banning them from marriage as well on the off chance they might try to use it? commercial surrogacy will not be legalised in this country As stated by Leo vradker lastnight. Stop trying to scaremonger, please.
@Dell: Ok, based upon my earlier comment, we all agree that this Referendum has a clear link to paving the way to Surrogacy for LGBT let me clearly state this: I think it is wrong for LGBT to access gestational Surrogacy as it means a biological parent is removed from the life of that child before even he/she is born. Such an issue does not arise for traditional Surrogacy for hetero couples who have fertility issues. That said, Surrogacy is not without its challenges.
Sorry Diarmuid, have to give this one a miss.
I’m busy doing a poll on the Catholic Herald.
I’ll log back in later to check the outcome.
(can’t wait for the informative result)
Tony, totally agree, we need to protect the kids. 13 charities including barnardos and ispcc are urging a yes vote. A no vote sends out a green light to marginalise and bully lgbt kids further, 29,000 called childline last year with sexuality issues. vote yes to protect kids so that they can live in a fairer society.
Don’t you mean protect certain children tony? What about the children who already have same sex parents? Do they not deserve the same rights and protection you’re referring to?
Brian.
They are thinking about not alienating the fundraising. What are the ispcc saying about the huge surge in surrogacy amongst same sex couples in countries where marriage is legalised? How about babies handed over at birth.
Protect them from dem quares, John Everyman. Ye can’t be letting quares have kids and showing them how to do the bumsex the way TomJoe_Kilduff”s mammy and daddy showed him how to do the missionary fully clothed and with no sinful pleasure involved.
That’s one hell of an accusation Tom have you evidence to support it? You think all children’s welfare organisations are placing funding above the welfare of children in their stance on ssm? You really believe that? And you think the government would cut their funding if they were advocating a no vote?
The second referendum has hit a major pothole ..
The Government allocated unfair resources to each topic …. They did not put in a Director of elections for the second referendum – an uninformed public is an illegal voting public …
Too stupid to dot the is and cross the ts legally when it comes to run referenda – I think this is grounds for a general election under Article 6 …
Deliberately underinforming the citizens !
And the Attorney General removes the light-blocking blindfold and realises that the sound she heard was the hull scraping of an iceberg.
A Big one !
Both clear examples of how not to run a business, don’t alienate your customers and they won’t take their business elsewhere? It’s hardly rocket science.
Rebecca,
You think you can tell people how they should run their businesses?
Ashers are thriving while I don’t think the same can be said for Daintree.
Regarding the “smear” campaign and Hanafin, It`s the truth, She did!
A smear campaign, smear tactic or simply smear is a political tactic that is an unfair or untrue political attack, Clearly in this case it is the truth, I for one will gladly travel all over the borough putting these posters up, and would have absolutely no problem with it.
Judging by
Media and celebrity bias , those undecided or impressionable will vote yes.
Albeit I am voting yes I still feel the no side didn’t get a fair share of air time.
The surrogacy issue is surely the biggest red herring ever introduced into any public debate. Now that is has been clearly demonstrated that it is NOT affected by whichever result comes out of the referendum every far minded person who has a vote should vote YES. ( average number of surrogacy cases per annum is ELEVEN most of them involving heterosexual couples).
Lie lie lie
Back up this outrageous lie.
Heterosexuals rarely use surrogacy because they have IVF.
Same sex couples have little other option.
Tell me how Leo will stop surrogacy by making it illegal? The same way they stopped people getting abortions by making it illegal?
Tom, IVF does NOT work for 33% of people accessing it. It is not the end of the road or indeed the only option for having a family. Heterosexual couples absolutely use surrogacy. All in all total numbers from this island will be low anyway. Now, to state again, this referendum is about who should be allowed marry, nothing more, nothing less.
@John Campbell: “Every far minded person” should vote Yes? An insulting and delusionary comment. Every No voter has had to wade through an ocean of Propaganda, Unanimous Government support, €25 Million worth of Yes advertising by Atlantic Philanthropies, let alone vilification & Hatred to arrive at and maintain their position. To suggest it is short-sighted to Vote No is nonsense and precisely the opposite. No voters are ignoring the fact that it is popular now to say Yes in favour of the LONG TERM consequences.
Maybe so Greg, but nobody prevented the YES campaigners from doing their work of convincing people. LGBT people in our society have had years and years of being forced to hide their sexuality and been unable to openly display their natural love. Is it any wonder then that they are shouting from the rooftops that they deserve EQUALITY!
If the surrogacy situation had been dealt with it would be a landslide yes. Nobody wants a situation where gay or straight couples can order babies on demand. Trying to succinctly state that on a poster without looking homophobic is impossible.& looking ahead (which yes side are refusing to do) anyone giving a child for adoption should be able to choose a straight over gay couple without being accused of being a homophobe & taken to court.
@Dell: That comment, ‘…voting Yes or No will have no effect…’ is wholly inaccurate. The Constitution’s intent is interpreted by the Courts. Therefore, people are entitled to seek approval for given actions under the relevant Articles of the Constitution. If the Referendum is carried, LGBT shall be entitled to seek access to Surrogacy, by reason of equity, unless Surrogacy is banned for everyone. Therefore, the way one votes in this referendum is directly linked to the availability of Surrogacy for LGBT.
We don’t even have the marruage format of 2000 years ago. As recently as the 19th century a wife was legally her husband’s possession. Marital rape was legal until 1990. Wives had to resign from the civil service because of church teaching until 1979 which was enforced in law. And of course the big redefinition was divorce in 1995. The no sides arguments are rehashed from the divorce campaign. Even some of the antis are the same eg William binchy.
I would say there will be a lot of no voters in rural areas. No campaigning , or any yes posters whatsoever, the yes side have completing ignored these areas. Where I live absolutely not one yes poster. The 2 towns close to me all have no posters. Think its a mistake on the yes side. As a lot of people who don’t use social media will not have all the information and for this reason will vote no. Almost like concentrate on cities and forget the rest . that could be a major mistake.
Banning surrogacy in this country is irrelevant. Like abortion (which is illegal here), if you want it you go abroad.
Surrogacy will thrive after this vote is carried and there is nothing Leo and his cronies can do about it.
They govern this country and no other country. You want surrogacy, go abroad, which is what most people will want to do anyway to avail of privacy.
Tom, you have been asked time and time again to prove your claim that demand for surrogacy will increase should ask be passed. you continue to pedal your untruths but cannot back them up. A handful of Irish people go abroad for surrogacies, ninety five percent of these cases are heterosexuals. You are scaremongering tom. Provide facts and figures to back up your statement!
Eh by your “logic” Tom, there should be people heading abroad in droves already for surrogacy considering there’s no law against it. No reason why a yes vote should increase the numbers…
So how will Leo stop surrogacy? Will we have military police at the airport stopping people going abroad to avail of surrogacy services?
Just like we stop people going abroad to have abortions or going to Amsterdam to smoke weed.
If people know that there will be legal or even criminal repercussions Tom that will be a deterrent. How is your campaign to ban all marriages coming along, given that all marriage could lead to surrogacy, not just the marriages of one section of one minority group?
The fact is they didn’t think it out and some gays want a no vote because they say that it will harm gay marriage in the long term but my view is that it will harm the family and children under our constitution by removing the family from it rather than adding a clause to it, which they should have done instead.
Have any of the pollsters asked the Nigerian community here, or those who have secured citizenship, how they may vote on this issue?
My own questioning of people from this, and other African countries, is they are wholly opposed to gay’s, let alone permitting persons of the same gender to marry.
If Friday’s vote is tight between citizens who are indigenous, it may be just this section of our electorate which could, although I don’t believe it’s that close, make it NO, rather than YES!
This is of course, based on the particular fundamental religious bias of this section of our community, evangelical Christian and Muslim, if this is so, where do we go from here?
If gay marriage fails this time, then they can hold another referendum on it as it is not the end of the world but if they pass it then it will be the end of the world for family protection under our constitution, do people not see this. It was another rush job by this government where adding to article 41 would have been better than changing it?
Fine Gael to reopen nominations for its presidential candidate
Updated
11 mins ago
Jasveen Sangha
‘Ketamine Queen’ accused of selling fatal dose to Friends star Matthew Perry to plead guilty
59 mins ago
diplomatic flurry
Trump tells Zelenskyy and European leaders that Putin 'accepts' security guarantees for Ukraine
1 hr ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 222 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 155 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 202 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 162 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 126 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 114 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 53 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 129 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 98 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 70 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 122 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say