TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Video: Springsteen and McCartney have mics cut at London gig

Bruce Springsteen was joined by Paul McCartney on stage at Hyde Park last night but the duo left in silence after the concert ran over.

ROCK LEGEND BRUCE Springsteen and ex-Beatle Paul McCartney had the plug pulled on them at Hyde Park in London last night after their concert overran.

Organisers silenced their mics just as they finished a thrilling rendition of The Beatles’ I Saw Her Standing There and Twist and Shout.

In videos uploaded to YouTube, ‘The Boss’ can be seen trying to speak to the crowd at the end of the concert but to no avail as the star had exceeded the time limit for the Hard Rock Calling event.

YouTube:

Springsteen, who plays two concerts at the RDS in Dublin this Tuesday and Wednesday, had been playing for more than three hours, according to BBC News.

But he and McCartney had to leave the stage in silence along with the rest of the E Street Band.

Guitarist Steven Van Zandt was not happy with what happened.

On his Twitter account, he sent out a series of tweets about the conduct of local police: “English cops may be the only individuals left on earth that wouldn’t want to hear one more from Bruce Springsteen and Paul McCartney!”

Springsteen tweets

Read: Baby, was he born to run? Springsteen favourite to be New Jersey governor

Read: Springsteen sax player Clarence Clemons dies

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• They should have had it in the Phoenix Park instead, anything is allowed there, apparently

• Maybe they were lining up for the frog song and the cops took humanitarian action to stop it…

• This pair wouldn’t be my cup of tea whatsoever, but it shows amazing disrespect for the audience to do that.
    And I’m sure those tickets weren’t cheap.

• mcbab 15/07/12 #

The organisers are at fault here. The cut off time is strict because if it is breached future licences for concerts are put as risk as people who may object would have strong ammunition for their objection.

• Jeez Sean for someone who doesn’t like the aboved mentioned you sure know enough of their songs !! ;)

• All concerts have to finish at a certain time in England, it’s to do with the law on noise pollution, facts before comments about promotors , sound engineers etc

• I thought the “Sound of Silence” was a Simon &Garfunkel song though…confused ;-)

• That area in London is home go the super-rich. Prices for the apartments in 1 Hyde park start at £20M. Better not upset their bedtime.

• Jesus christ, that sound engineer should be shot! How ignorant is that!! That happened us years ago in a crappy halfhour gig slot in Dublin as we went 3 mins over time. It was annoying, embarrasing and the sound engineer was told exactly what we thought of him. But doing it to two of rock n rolls greatest legends is a different story altogether!!

• Two points to make:

1) With regards to your band getting cut off for going overtime, tough. The reason you get cut off is because if you go overtime, the band after you loses time. Get over yourself, it’s only some rubbish gig in some crap pub. It’s also not up to the sound man who get’s what timeslots, it is however enforced by him for small gigs.

2) The last time Bruce Springstein played here, he got a 60,000 fine for going overtime. For a gig this size, there are extremely high fees. I’m a huge Beatles fan, so I get how awesome it was, but they knew well beforehand what time the cut off was, and they probably went well over it. The sound man travels with Bruce Springstein, it’s not in his interest to cut off the sound without getting fired. He was either forced to, or had power cut to his desk by the people running the venue.

Once again, they know the cut off time. It’s strictness probably varies country to country, but they still know what time they have to stop making noise. By going on longer they’re also causing the crew (between 20-50 people) work much later into the morning. If they want to play a gig that long, they can just start earlier and everyone is happy.

• Get over myself? It was a crap band i was in years ago. It was a crap venue and crap gig.

In that instance the timeslots were up to the sound guy…

So get back up on your horse there

• Get off my high horse? You started your post with “that sound engineer should be shot”. You then compared the happenings of Bruce Springsteen and Paul McCartney to something that happened to your band. And I’m on my high horse?

All I did was try to explain that the sound man is not at fault here, the length of the concert is nothing to do with him and the PA being cut wouldn’t have been his decision.

• Everyone always blames the sound engineer, when in fact they don’t pull the plug the venue manager does.

• Laughing at the talentless trolls dissing 2 of the best musicans ever. More probably to do with their own shortcomings than anything else.

• Could understand if it had been Jedward.

• Each to their own.

• Have ye no sympathy at all, how would you like to have your mics cut off?

• Who was the sound engineer, James Cordon?

• Theres a special place in hell reserved for people who pull the plug on a gig especially when theres a Beatle on stage

• Love Steve’s last tweet “England a police state” Bang on the money and people want us to leave the EU to join back up with the Brits? Hell no.

• McCartney’s life support should be cut off. He may have been a Beatle in his day but it’s time he just went away now.

• Mcartneys mic should have been cut of years ago… He just can’t sing, the minute ya get a knighthood a think ya shite don’t smell…. As for Springsteen , well he’s alright…just

• It’s slap bang in the middle of a residential area. Too right they were cut off. They knew how long they had before going on stage and should have stuck to it.

• Usually bands like that have their own sound engineers who tour with them. I get the feeling there’s a sound engineer getting his p45 today.

• Springsteen sucks anyway. Cliched Denim Rock: Bryan Adams, John Mellencamp, Springsteen, etc, singing about clocks striking midnight, small town USA, grabbing their 6-strings, open highways, etc.

• The boss is a genius man.

• No he’s not. His lyrics are naff & cliched. His music is mediocre and forgettable. Each to his own. Keep wearing that bandana around your thigh though, Kevin!

• Sean, please enlighten us as to who we should listen to….

• Make your own decisions, Ferg. I’m not your life coach. If you like clichéd demin rock, then you like clichéd demin rock – I’m just saying I think it sucks…. but you’re free to like it if that’s what makes you clap your hand in the air to the bass drum.

• It’s more I’m just amused at your level of intelligence.
      I’m not a Springsteen fan, however I can appreciate his music. To say his lyrics are naff is a ridiculous statement. The River and Thunder Road come to mind.
      I get that you don’t like him but there’s no need to be a troll about it.
      I’ve no doubt the issue here and the reason you didn’t answer my question is that you’re just a little scared/embarrassed to tell us all what music you like.

• Ferg – I’m more amused by the arrogance of the Springsteen fans on here – I never once said that they should stop listening to him – I merely stated that I don’t like him and I think his songs are naff. But because I donpt like him, I get fro havign a different opinion. Seems like fans of “The Boss” will hate on anyone who doesn’t think like them. Very closed-minded.

And FYI, I like GNR, Steely Dan, Alice in Chains, Pink Floyd, Soundgarden, Primus, Greg Howe, Tribal Tech, Faith No More, Metallica, Beatles, Jane’s Addiction, Bob Dylan, Zappa, The Flecktones, Kate Bush, Lemonheads, Pixes, RATM, Stone Temple Pilots, Rory Gallagher, Pumpkins, Smiths, etc, etc, etc; and not ashamed at all – but what I’m into was never the point. It’s irrelevant. I stated that I thought Bruce was crap, and everyone got defensive.

• Comparing Springsteen to Bryan Addams, what you been smoking Sean? Listen to the River or Badlands and tell me what Adams or some other MOR artist ever produced that touched those heights.

• Well said Sean. Springsteen’s music makes me cringe. The very worst of everything USA. Soft rock for idiots.

• Sean..you are a legend. Totally agree…Bruce is a sh*te singer, crap songs and everyone on your list the same..including Cohen!!

• Niall 16/07/12 #

Shows what you know about music dude. You don’t get your lyrics and themes studied in some universities if you are a denim rock singer! He’s up there with Dylan as one of the most relevant writers of all time. Not to mention there is nobody better live. Anywhere.

• @niall, I’ll know more about music than you will ever know. I have had this discussion with many famous musicians as to their opinion about these lot. All of them agree. You see most people are completely tone deaf, they are sheep of music, following the crowd, liking U2 because you have to to somehow prove your irishness despite how crap they on actual fact are. The one thing people can relate with if they can’t hear how bad a song is actually player or assembled is lyrics. Almost everyone can read therefor its the one part of a song where they can actually understand and replicate somewhat.. Now, most of the population are incapable of hearing a groups musical inabilities they are able to make a comment on the bad poetry they call lyrics and also assume the lyrics are the most important…music has nothing to do with lyrics, it’s the sounds made by the instruments including the sounds made by the singer in the form of lyrics. All of the “artists” above are incapable of singing on key or in anyway pleasant to the ear by any musical persons standard.

• That was supposed to be ” I ” not “I’ll”

• Niall 16/07/12 #

@shit you not. Take a chill pill. I was referring to that guy Herbert who started the thread. Don’t know where you got that I was referring to you from. Nearly fell asleep reading your post too.

• Niall 16/07/12 #

@shit you not. I was talking to you so mind your own business. I was referring to the clown who started the thread. Your text was a complete snooze fest by the way.

• So who exactly are you taking to you? You’re telling me you are and are not talking to me?!?? Anyway, I did not realise it was a private thread!! Anyway, what in gods name are you talking about “Dylan is the most relevant writers…”?? Thats a typical statement of a musically regarded hipster that would only listen to music from a vinyl as digital is for the philistines.. Dylan writes poems and admits himself that he prefers his own songs when performed by other people as HE CAN’T SING. Cohen is a junkie, Springsteen cannot sing either. His band are hired and are good musicians and in fact the least talented out of them is brucey himself.

• The cajones of whoever pulled that plug! Yeeeeeikes….

• I really hate Springsteen fans. There’s a medical explanation for them. It’s where the ear canal is connected directly to the anal cavity.

Add New Comment