TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Two arrests as 800 cannabis plants seized in Virginia, Co Cavan

Gardaí raided a warehouse in a planned operation which yielded plants with an estimated street value of €640,000.

TWO MEN HAVE been arrested in connection with the seizure of 800 cannabis plants from a warehouse on the outskirts of Virginia in Co Cavan earlier today.

Gardaí arrested the two men this morning after a planned operation which led to the discovery of an “extensive” cannabis cultivation operation in the warehouse.

Plants with an estimated street value of between €640,000 and €700,000 were seized in the operation.

The two men, aged in their 20s, are currently being held at Bailieborough Garda station. The scene has been preserved for a technical examination.

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Explains why Tesco was selling all those chocolates in Baileborough.

• So that comes to just under €3 million worth of plant matter seized in 2013 reported on this website. If estimates are true and only 10 percent of the total product in circulation is being seized that is €30 million a month taken out of the legitimate economy put into the hands of criminals and alot of foreign criminals at that.

Criminals that don’t ask for ID, people that will try sell harder drugs to young people exposing them to debt and violence, we cannot ask kids to trust us with these out dated laws in place that only help to supply criminals with a massive industry. How many Garda stations could be saved if resources we directed from non-violent drug offenses to actual crime?

When a young person finds out for themselves there are safer alternatives to Alcohol and Tobacco that are illegal how can you ask them to believe any message you send about other substances!

• Virginia Flake

• To be honest, I am absolutely sick to death of having to pay 50 euro for a shitty bag of 2 or 3 grams of weed. Legalise being able to grow three plants for personal use, for the love of god. Why am I paying some fool making money off me just because I want a smoke? No dice!!

• I don’t smoke it but I think it’s time to legalise it and take the power away from the criminal element. We might all chill the feck out if we all had an odd splif.

• It would be a great step, decriminalise drugs, money towards fighting proper crime, sale of hemp and its products, the expertise that we could export, the tax from all this.
    Many people are growing their own now anyway, why not bring it in from the cold, literally!

• Alcohol is a drug right? Yet it’s the most accepted and abused drug in this country costing us millions in healthcare and clogging up the system. Who knows how many road deaths, crimes, suicides etc have been caused by alcohol problems?
    It’s so heartening to see how many reasoned arguments for legalization of some kind here, and I was a little surprised at the widespread support!
    Maybe thejournal.ie should do a poll on this issue.

• Funny when they report finds in the uk they estimate around 2000 per plant whereas in Ireland they estimate about 9000 , there can’t be such a difference in price can there ?

• It’s actually about 2-3 oz per plant dried and cured. At 300 euro an oz that’s about 700-800 a plant. The estimates that are thrown around are woefully wrong. The fact that they weigh the plants fresh out of the soil says it all. Only the dried, cured buds are worth anything.

• Sigh… Arresting people for growing plants. When will people wake up?

• Watch THE HOUSE I LIVE IN ‏@DrugWarMovie see what the war on drugs really is about.

• phil 11/02/13 #

I wad wondering why there was a shitload of cops across the road all morning. It was in an old factory warehouse. I never noticed a thing.

• bummer man

• Great work…
    Another criminal gang upset with their lose!!!

• … or two young lads sick of their lot, depression and this country, who were growing some plants to leave their shitty life behind?

• Well that’s just great, lets all start growing cannabis plants!!! Problem solved, the country is saved……

• John old mucker , it’s not just criminal gangs growing marijuana,when I lost my job I was on verge of losing my home,so I grew a few plants to pay the mortgage and pay the bills, I don’t claim anything of the state, and where I live in rural Ireland there isn’t one job..

• I appreciate what you are saying but I will have absolutely no sympathy to what you are doing…. Your after openly admitting you are a drug dealer & that’s reality!!!!

Yes you say it’s only cannabis.. Bla bla,,, but the people you are poisoning with this illegal drug are sure to experiment with harder drugs!!

Once the person can say to themselves I’ve takin cannabis before & it was grand sure ill try somethin else…. Be fine.

It actually disgusts me that you have the bear faced cheek to openly say you sell cannabis……

• Ah the gateway argument from the dinosaur

• Say what you like about me, i really don’t care. It’s very sad when you can’t stay on the topic & feel the need to resort to insults.

Anyway, I’ve said what I have to say on the matter. Good day to you sir …

• You have a small mind John, nobody in A&E at the weekend from smoking a few spliff’s, more and more country’s across the globe are starting to legalise & regulate, and as for that old chestnut of a spliff leading to stabbing yourself with needles, has proven to be nonsense !!

• John, you’re clearly entirely clueless about this subject.

• If people were legally allowed to grow their own or purcahse it from a licensed vendor, then yes a huge problem would be solved, the criminal gangs would be quickly shut out of the business, the market place would be regulated making it much safer for adults to consume and underage use could be reduced by implementing age restrictions similar to what we have for alcohol. It would also free up our already over stretched gardai, so that they could concentrate on more serious crimes, not to mention the other economic benefits that could be acheived by legalising it.

• Scarr 11/02/13 #

I can brew my own beer why can’t I grow my own weed without running the risk of being criminalised?

• John, you said above – “Yes you say it’s only cannabis.. Bla bla,,, but the people you are poisoning with this illegal drug are sure to experiment with harder drugs!!”

Firstly, cannabis unlike most other drugs (including alcohol) isn’t a poison, there’s been zero deaths attributed to its use over its 5000 year history and you cannot die from a cannabis overdose. And to say that people will surely go on to use harder drugs after smoking cannabis is just ridiculous; as there’s nothing in cannabis that makes the user want to try harder drugs. If anything it’s the fact that cannabis is illegal and is often supplied by the same people who also sell harder drugs is the real problem – Another reason why cannabis legalisation makes sense!!

• @john It sickens me that you unashamedly have a closed mind and waffle on here.

• U need to learn about drugs John, they are not all the same and cannot be put under same umbrella.

Also 800 plants = 640k,, wtf, est are always way to high( pardon the pun)

• Gorilla – Cannabis is a dangerous drug which causes psychosis and paranoia. Some of the people who have smoked your drugs are probably in psychiatric wards. Can’t someone track you down threw Facebook or Twitter? I don’t want to make you paranoid. I’m not gonna tell the Gardai.

• Zoltar 11/02/13 #

If your against regulation of cannabis you have to stand against alcohol legalization also otherwise you’re an absolute hypocrite. Some poor people may be in a psychiatric ward but this is the result of a crap life/past which they’ll try and supplement with all types of substances or actions that can be harmful in excess.

consider the crap that is legal before running your mouth with parroted nonsense…

“Alcohol has been identified as a contributory factor in 97% of public order offenses as recorded under the Garda PULSE system”
      “Almost half of the perpetrators of homicide were intoxicated when the crime was committed”
      “Every seven hours, someone in Ireland dies from an alcohol-related illness”
      “There are almost twice as many deaths due to alcohol as due to all other drugs combined”
      http://alcoholireland.ie/alcohol-facts/alcohol-related-harm-facts-and-statistics/
      Cannabis comes in last place in personal and social harm out of 19 drugs legal and illicit substances of a survey of 300 hundred clinical experts in Scotland. Alcohol comes in 4th most harmful and Tobacco 7th.
      http://bmjopen.bmj.com/content/2/4/e000774.full

Cannabis has never been recorded as a cause of death in 10,000 years of human use, every time you champion prohibition of this plant your directing young people towards the more harmful legal alternatives.

• Wow Zoltar. You’re really anti alcohol. Comparing cannabis to alcohol is like comparing chalk to cheese. Like comparing lung cancer to liver cirrhosis. Like comparing schizophrenia to alcoholism.

• Keith 12/02/13 #

John u haven’t a decking clue..moron

• Zoltar 12/02/13 #

On the contrary I like to get pissed occasionally but have to admit cut down alot recently but that is my choice either way. I have to disagree that you can’t compare alcohol to cannabis, they’re both mind altering substances it’s just the effects and social consequences are vastly different for example…

Alcohol has a 35% dependancy rate, cannabis 9%
      Alcohol is a upper/downer while cannabis is an antidepressant
      Alcohol is toxic, Cannabis is anti-toxic
      Alcohol kills millions a year, cannabis no recorded deaths
      health and police costs due to alcohol are MASSIVE! compare this to the patients able to get off many addictive liver toxic pharmaceuticals and use cannabis to heal holistically or control illness safely.
      hangover, no hangover etc etc etc.

The vast majority of the issues with cannabis come from it’s illicit status, solved through regulation.

• You make some good points. I’m tired of debating against cannabis. But.. Cannabis is not an anti depressant. That’s bullshit. People feel crap after taking it. Escitalopram is an antidepressant not cannabis.

• Zoltar 12/02/13 #

I’m sick of debating too but in the state with these laws more than half of my friends and I are considered criminal I have no choice but to debate, me personally being able to consume cannabis would not affect your life whatsoever and in a societal context would probably improve things if you study other countries logical approaches to this problem as a benchmark.

I’ve taken cannabis for regularly for 13 years I don’t feel like crap, I’m not a schizophrenic and have good relationships likewise with 15+ of my friends.

The rate of cannabis use has dramatically increased since its prohibition and schizophrenia and other mental disorders have not risen concurrently, keep an open mind, not all drugs are the same and should be treated as such. good night

• MrBuzzB 11/02/13 #

The Cavan 800!

• I agree John. Free thinker and his cronies are just lining the pockets of these drug dealers.

• Yawn

• Lets be real here …. If they legalised it & regulated it in this country ….they’d make a B#%+¥X of it …..pure & simple …. I don’t smoke either cigs or weed but I like the occasional drink …. But if that’s what you want to do & it’s your personal choice …. GO AHEAD

Add New Comment