TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Reduction in waiting lists welcomed by Health Minister

Dr James Reilly, Minister for Health, said that hospitals have achieved success in reaching a target list for inpatient and day case treatments.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR HEALTH, Dr James Reilly, has welcomed the fact that 70 per cent of hospitals have reached a waiting list target.

It has been announced that hospitals across the country have achieved “considerable success” in reaching the ‘9 month PTL’ target (Primary Targeting List).

The target was set by the Health Minister at the start of this year and required hospitals to ensure that no one is waiting more than nine months for inpatient and day case treatments. According to new statistics published by the Special Delivery Unit, 27 (70 per cent) hospitals fully achieved the target and have no people waiting for more than nine months for such treatment.

Inroads

The figures also show that a total of 12 hospitals have made significant inroads but are left with some work to do. At the start of 2012, 53,513 patients were listed as being on the ‘9 month PTL’, which meant that the non treatment of such patients by the end of September would fall short of the target.

At the start of 2012, a total of 5,119 people were waiting over 9 months for inpatient or day case surgery. At the end of September, a total of 415 persons were waiting over 9 months, which was a drop of 91.1 per cent.

Health Minister Dr James Reilly thanked all those involved and commented:

The development is vital on two fronts. Firstly it is about basic fairness. Secondly it shows that even with reduced budgets and staffing levels, clear, well informed targets assist hospitals to be effective.

Special Delivery Unit

Meanwhile, the Special Delivery Unit announced that in the first nine months of this year, the number of people on trolleys was reduced by 23.6 per cent or 16,659 persons over the same period last year.

At Minister Reilly’s direction the HSE and the SDU have taken a series of actions to prepare for a reduction of the outpatient waiting list. The number of people waiting is estimated to be approximately 360,000 and Dr Reilly has set as a target that by the end of next year no outpatient will be waiting for treatment for more than 12 months.

Read: “Disgrace”: More than 16,000 waiting 4+ years for outpatient appointment>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• A drop of 91% of people on waiting lists from the start of the year to September 2012,, what the hell were the HSE doing before that? If I got 91% more work done my boss would probably say, fair play that’s great, but what the f**k were you at the last few years!

• We gave Mary Harney 7 years to sort out the health service and she made a total mess of it when this country’s government was at its wealthiest, now when the country is broke we want to get rid of a guy after less than 2 years even though he appears to be making some progress. This guy might not be to everyone’s liking but it seems to me he might just be the man for the job bully or not.

• results may be welwcome, but he is not. his actions certainly did not help, this is down to the frontline and emigration again. stats are bull

• Overall our population is in growth and if this is only because of frontline staff then why didn’t they act sooner to reduce these waiting lists?

Emigration is mainly from our young adults, one of the demographics least likely to require treatment.

• I was given an appointment for a consultant for November 2014. So I waited 2 years and 2 months to see the guy to determine whether I need surgery then I wait another 9 months for it!!!!!!! thanks mr Reilly, thanks, that helps

• M Bowe 19/10/12 #

Another con. 350,000 waiting on out patient appointment. No one can go on in patient or day case list until seen by consultant in out patient. So it a case of dont see us and then we not cluttering up our lists.

• A more balanced view of James Reilly’s health cuts.

http://www.facebook.com/thisisiradio/posts/431278063599942

• It annoys the hell out of me that this incompetent oaf is trying to use what should be basic human rights in a supposedly first world country as positive spin to boost his own ratings, when this very development and the ongoing workings of our health system are happening due to the hard work of the frontline staff, in spite of the HSE and James Reilly and not because of their assistance!

• I don’t believe a single word that lad says, something very unnerving about him

• WTF..!!! 9 Months is an achievement now.. Think Dr Reilly is a wee bit delusional.. :))

• If everything is so rosy you won’t mind giving us back our ambulance service on a Thursday in North Kildare so James? Cheers

• Or our A+E in Roscommon which James you Closed on lies and False figures and more lies to try and cover your lies up….

• Micheal 19/10/12 #

Bernadette, if you want to know where the best A&E to be brought to is look at where the staff that work there go. There were no staff being brought to Roscommon, even when it had the backup of being 24hr. Besides, there is a minor injuries unit there, no?

• &Michael…. And the minor injury unit is there BUT ARE ROSCOMMON PROPLE not entitled to a serious injury/Illness A+E and what about the first is critical with Heart attacks trikes Brain /Head injuries etc etc

• Oops I meant ” The first hour “

• Micheal 19/10/12 #

Bernadette, there is one thing that a patient deserves more than an A&E unit, and that is a safe A&E unit. The medical and nursing world has actually assessed what number of each procedures a doctor and a nurse had to carry out in order to practice safely. The fact is that Roscommon A&E was not meeting those standards, and in patients with certain ailments, it is not the speed with which they receive care, it is the standard of care that is most important. When Roscommon A&E was open, it was dealing with an average of 1 cardiac arrest every 2 weeks. That was the statistic of a fully operational Roscommon A&E. In order to be deemed safe at carrying out a resus, you should be carrying one out every 2days, not every 2 weeks.
      Intubation, one of the interventions required of cardiac arrest – used to gain airway control – extremely important – should be carrying one out every working day. Roscommon – every 3 days. You can still be brought to Roscommon hospital if you are in need of stabilising, but once you are stable – you are transferred out to a tertiary referral centre – most likely GUH. It’s not about getting whatever care is available – the people of Ireland deserve much more than that – they deserve something much more important than care: safe care.

• @ Michael and those figures have been proven to be lies and that us where Reilly is totally in the wrong And I agree that other services are important but without an A+E in Roscommon, Roscommon people have a less chance than any other County in the whole of Ireland we are the furthest from any A+E. Walk in our shoes

• The government lied about HIQA saying that Roscommon was not safe .
      I shall repeat that again slowly for you Michael
      T h e g o v e r n m e n t l i e d ! ! !
      Maynooth is down am ambulance service every Thursday , Nenagh A+E is closed ,but Michael you know all of this already !

• Micheal 19/10/12 #

So you mean to tell me that there were cardiac arrests and needs to intubate every day of the week in Roscommon hospital? Limerick Regional hospital, one of the national primary referral centres, sees just over one cardiac arrest a day across the whole hospital, not just A&E! Do you mean to tell me that Roscommon, a general hospital, serving a small locale by comparison, was seeing an arrest on a daily basis? You mean to tell me that doctors and nurses weren’t carrying out unnecessary procedures for fear that they would loose the skills required to stay safe?
      I understand what you are saying, everywhere should have full and immediate access to national primary referral centres – it’s not possible. There is something far more vital than access to care – that is safe care. You can turn up to any hospital in the country, unless the health care providers – nurses, doctors, clinicians, technicians are proficient in their work – you might as well not attend for the amount of good it would do – and in fact – has been shown to be detrimental to the speedy recovery of the patient.

• 9 months?! Sick people are supposed to welcome the fact that they may only be waiting up to 9 months, 70% of the time? Abysmal.

• Is this man serious? He can’t seem to make his bloody mind up on exactly what he deems an acceptable amount of time for someone to be waiting on a list, a few weeks ago he set a target of 1 year.
    On another topic on The Journal today we see that almost every hospital in the country has overspent their budgets, we’ve already seen Tallaght Hospital having to go to a bank to get a loan to tide them over to the end of the year, I’ve heard a rumour that St. James’s Hospital has beeing paying their wage bill before that. So what do they do next year? Close their doors for two months to pay their loan, or continue and take another loan at the end of the year?
    If one or two hospitals were overspending their budgets you’d say they were badly managed or had a problem, something the Minister usually blames for this problem, but when it’s practically every hospital in the country the answer has to be the amount of funding they are getting for what they are being asked to do. It simply cannot be done. He can reduce services and close wards and try to convince everyone to save money, and try to convince everyone that there will be little or no impact in frontline services, but he isn’t folling anyone, except maybe himself. Its conjures up an image of a Captin on a sinking ship telling the passengers that everything is fine, carry on.

• If you think you can do better go into politics and stop moaning.

• Sean if I have a problem with my car I bring it to an expert in the field, a mechanic, if my problem is with my dog I go to an expert in that field, a vet.
      I’m not an expert in politics, but I, like the majority of others, were duped into voting for this man on the basis of the promises he made, most of which he has now broken. He, and his party were supposed to be the experts.
      As a voter I have every right to “moan” about the outright lies, broken promises and questionable practices of those I voted into government, those who are supposed to be the experts, those who we expected to do better because we damn well pay them enough to do the job.

• Can you say “spin”?

• thats hospitals sorted so for gods sake nine mts …..is way to long but what about kids dentists 3 years waiting for an appointment to get my daughters teeth done.She needed one filling and an extraction , their done but didnt tell the school dentist gonna wait and see how long it takes .

• Ah look who’s out from under his rock!

• Minister Reilley can reduce waiting lists relatively easily. By pouring unlimited resources into the HSE. But here’s the catch, we have no money!
    All evidence suggests that our health service is operating at a consistently high level. But people have unrealistic expectations. There is a limited amount of money. Diverting money for one specific matter which is in vogue at a particular time. However reducing waiting times will necessitate cuts elsewhere. Like reduced grants for non statutory bodies like ‘Jack and Jill’.
    Not saying there is no room for improvements but with an aging population and an increasing population an increase in users needs to be provided for by a decreasing pool of taxpayers, we need to change our expectations. We dont have it that bad in reality.

• Micheal, I fear your wasting your time trying to reason with Eileen. She’s much more focused on writing in block capitals with excessive exclamation mark use. The evidence holds no interest to her. Roscommon A+E was dangerous and cost inefficient. The resourses freed up from Roscommon is better spent maintaining services in other areas. Are you willing to see the mental health budget, or the NHSS funds cut in your area in order to maintain Roscommon A+E?
    It’s a simple matter that money needs to be spent in areas where greatest benefit to the population is achieved

• David Higgins ,, ppl are leaving this country by there thousands and you are letting ppl in there hundreds cop on to your self , who is going to be our front line staff in ten years with all the hard working youth gone out of Ireland your a fool and so is your party

• If as you say there is no money in the country then why is it that our devoted loyal and hardworking politicians not taking a pay cut and If they Really do want to see our debt reduce and more money in the kitty why oh why are their Expense accounts So outrageously high

• Because that would divert from the real issues. Their pay and expenses need to be addressed but the billions need in extra resources in the health service cannot be filed by reductions in politicians pay.
      The 50% of the healthcare budget, which pay accounts for, needs to be addressed. But Croke Park protects this.
      While the drugs spend is circa ?2 billion, grants to statutory bodies ?3.5 billion, NHSS ?1.9 billion. The remaining billion goes to the various other schemes including mental health and running hospitals. Where do you propose the savings come from. Investing in one area means cutting another…

• Nor can it be met by HHC or property taxes. But we are the one’s giving all the time , the politicians and the overpaid bankers should be taking the hits now.

• “Dismissal of Minister for Health welcomed by nation”
    No harm in dreaming.

• They have passed away waiting for the doctors too tell them that they have a life treating disease that’s why, like the dole figures going down they have all immigrated, please someone whisper in his ear we are a small country and there a f@@ ing joke

• Yet yer in a deficit of over €404 MIllion

It still takes over 3 hours to be seen.

There is still people who are suffering and who are on hospital trolleys in a corridor.

Who exactly are ye trying to fool????

The Irish people are slowly but surely copping on to the bullshit that ye are feeding us.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• as for A&E waiting times coming down, are you aware that the bed management teams “lie” in their daily reports and staff are encouraged to submit incorrect data…..

By doing that, now they have shot themselves in the foot with an even lower waiting time target!

• Absolute shite. My doctor sent st. Vincent’s a letter for me to see an E.N.T. Consultant for a serious ear infection I was told 3 weeks waiting time. I have been attending St. Vincent’s all my life when ill mainly for asthma clinic. I know the doctors and nurses who have been treating me. My doctor who is based in Blackrock received the letter back and was informed that the hospital policy has changed because I live the north side of the Liffey I could no longer attend and I was to attend Beaumont Hospital instead. I explained to St. Vincents that I had been seen by the same E.N.T. Consultant 5 months ago but they said sorry but we cannot see you again. I received a call from Beaumont today to say the next appointment would be the end of 2014 or possibly early 2015. This is beginning to happen all across the board and a Doctor friend of mine said it is causing severe problems with patients from out of town who have been attending a hospital in Dublin for years and have built up a relationship with doctors and nurses over years when having dialysis or oncology for example who are now being shifted to a hospital closer to them where they do not know anybody. I do not understand the logic. How traumatic for patients who are extremely ill.

• Well it’s still not an overall acceptable level but I suppose we should be grateful for any improvement. Although one does have to ask how such a huge improvement was possible in such a short space of time? What practices have changed and what was going on before this that meant it wasn’t possible?

• With possibly thousands of human interest stories that could be reported on under the remit of the Irish health service it’s disappointing to say the least that this ‘spin’ is carried as news.
    The Kangaroo pictures carry more value.

Add New Comment