TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

What are the Bilderberg Meetings – and what’s Michael Noonan doing there?

Michael Noonan is among 145 people attending the annual meeting of the secretive ‘Bilderberg Group’. What’s that?

A Department of Finance spokesman said Michael Noonan was attending this year's Bilderberg Group in order to help promote inward investment.
Image: Virginia Mayo/AP

YOU MIGHT HAVE NOTICED that finance minister Michael Noonan – perhaps the one man with the most to gain or lose from the outcome of the Fiscal Compact treaty – wasn’t appearing on TV or radio much in the aftermath of the Yes result.

That’s because he’s spending the long weekend in the United States – attending the annual meeting of a secretive group which has no fixed membership, charter or stated public purpose.

Noonan is in Chantilly, Virginia, at the 60th meeting of the Bilderberg Group, an annual conference attended by a select group (never larger than 150) of the world’s people of influence.

While the 145-strong group’s real purpose has often been the subject of theory and hypothesis, its own stated function is to give leading figures from the corporate and political worlds an opportunity to engage with each other on a more cordial setting.

How is that possible? By excluding anyone without an invite – and that means the press, general public, or anyone else who may wish to attend.

As the group says on its own website, its first meeting in 1954 was prompted by fears that Western Europe and North America weren’t doing enough to work together on the pressing matters of the day.

Given that the United Nations spread too much weight among members from outside these continents, a separate group was formed – comprising two members (ideally one liberal and one conservative, though this has dissipated slightly) from each participating country.

They meet at the Hotel de Bilderberg in the Netherlands (hence the name of the group) in an off-the-record forum which has continued to meet annually – in a setting which apparently allows participants to speak more freely, and therefore to reach more meaningful conclusions.

Though this can no doubt have its advantages, the fact that most participants are unelected (being either academics, corporate figures, and occasionally publishers) means many have complained about the potential for a politically imbalanced discourse.

No mandate, no conclusions

Each year’s agenda includes around a dozen points of discussion, though the meetings – having no democratic mandate and only a loose internal structure – do not reach any formal ‘conclusions’.

The points up for discussion are usually only published at the conclusion of each summit, though it’s speculated that this year’s meeting – which includes the foreign affairs minister of the Syrian national council – will spend quite a lot of time on regime change.

As with last year, there are three Irish people in attendance in 2012: Noonan, former attorney general and Goldman Sachs International chairman Peter Sutherland – who sits on the group’s steering committee – and the last government’s attorney general, Paul Gallagher.

This weekend is Gallagher’s third meeting in succession; last year another former attorney general, former Tánaiste Michael McDowell, was among the attendees.

A spokesman for the Department of Finance told TheJournal.ie today that the event provided “an excellent opportunity to sell Ireland on the international stage”.

“The Minister is working to promote a positive image of Ireland and to attract investment and jobs into Ireland,” the spokesman said.

Among this year’s other attendees are Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands, Google executive chairman Eric Schmidt, LinkedIn chief executive Reid Hoffman, Economist editor John Micklethwait, Senator John Kerry, Henry Kissinger and White House national security advisor Thomas Donilon.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• I’ll assume he’s on holiday and paid for this himself, yeah? Otherwise, if on official business, we should be allowed question what went on and request some sort of record or minutes of the weekend… no?

• Gavan, fair play for covering this. I’m sure minister noonan will hold a press conference when he returns and inform the public who put him in his job, what was discussed, what he agreed etc. FG do transparency, right?

• Amsel (Amschel) Bauer Mayer Rothschild, 1838:

“Let me issue and control a Nation’s money and I care not who makes its laws”.

• After I read this article, why does The Stonecutters song from The Simpsons enter my mind :)

• How is a bunch of billionaires and government ministers meeting in secret with forced media blackouts in any way democratic?

• Dave 02/06/12 #

We have a right to know what was discussed at this meeting given that Noonan attends in his capacity as Finance minister of Ireland. And if I have to listen to Higgins or any other of the Del boys of blueshirt youth try to argue this point (when they dont have a leg to stand on), I shall go berserk.

• Peter Sutherland unelected Emperor of the Irish, advisor to Biffo & Lenihan on bank guarantee.
    Goldman Sachs Financial terrorists responsible in part for Greek woes.
    Michael Noonan should provide a full report on his meetings with them.
    Would he have been invited had the treaty been rejected?

• Paul Oh 02/06/12 #

Sounds like a back slapping eyes wide shut kind of get together for the most egregious parasites in the world.

• Serious conflict of interests at this and who has the most representives at it, Goldman Sachs. It stinks and makes a mockery of democracy.

• “The Bilderbergers are searching for the age of post-nationalism: when we won’t have countries…” We”ll have “a global economy, one World government(selected rather than elected) and a universal religion. To assure themselves of reaching these objectives, the Bilderbergers focus on a ‘greater technical approach and less awareness on behalf of the general public” – William Shannon
    A good reason a NO vote was critical. How do we turn this around?

• Its important that we press this issue and find out what was discussed at this meeting.

At every opportunity we must plague him with the following:
    1. Who and how was he invited?
    2. Who picks up the expenses bill?
    3. What was discussed?

Its essential to make as many people aware of who really pulls the strings here.

• they have one aim, to make sure the rich stay rich at any cost to everyone else

• Choooon 02/06/12 #

New World Order puppet masters meeting perhaps? He is probably over there getting a set of instructions for how to impoverish us even further!

• ‘People of influence’?????……Noonan??…seriously???

• Not true Tony – Noonan is a BAD influence

• I recall David Icke being routinely ridiculed during the nineties, because of his criticism of the Bilderberg group and the people attending these meetings. He was roundly dismissed as a paranoid eccentric, because of his assertion that humanity in general, and the Bilderberg group in particular, was infested with ” lizard people” who were not quite human, and were intent upon using the ordinary human population for their own selfish purposes. At the time, I remember thinking that he has a point about human beings being ruthless, uncaring, remorseless, etc.. The Lizard people thing I could never accept, or grasp. But here’s the interesting thing. Since studying psychology, and in particular psychopathology, what constantly turns up amongst victims of socially adept psychopaths, is the victims descriptions of the perpetrator as snakes. Hence, partially why the world renowned expert on the subject, called his most recent book on the subject, Snakes in suits, When Psychopaths go to Work. This matter is unclear. What is clear. is the fact that in Ireland, and other countries two to three per cent of the population are psychopaths. That the majority are skilled at deception regarding their nature, is shockingBear in mind, that Ireland has over one hundred thousand psychopaths amongst it’s population. Most are socially adept and go unnoticed by the majority of people. They see people as objects, and therefore see no reason to feel remorse, whether they steal from them, rape them, or even murder them. They would certainly have no qualms with covering up a crime, no matter how heinous. This is their nature. They are described by professionals in their area of expertise, as intra species predators, that is, a species within a species. Admittedly, this sounds like some nightmarish scenario from a horror movie, but it’s not, it’s our reality. The sooner we come to terms with this terrifying reality, the sooner we can deal with this problem. Pedophiles within the church and outside it, are most likely psychopaths, and they most likely chose their path, in the case of priests ,to gain easier access to vulnerable children. Psychopaths choose the path of least resistance, amongst other avenues. They also target professions that seem to give them an exalted sense of respect. It is not only priests that we should be on the lookout for, though,but the psychopaths donning the garb of priest, or politician, or swimming coach, or whoever is flavour of the moment, regarding unquestionable high morals.

• Yeah but they might bring jobs like the Chinese , do what’s your point! Jobs jobs jobs- whatever about your soul or morals just bring in a job!!

• Excellent comment poster. I’ve worked in a Dublin City centre university, and I can tell you that the psychopaths I had the misfortune to meet there are comfortably the worst I have met anywhere. Well to do, and fully confident in their ability to make problems “go away”, as they put it to me…. psychopaths indeed !

• That’s certainly a winning smile in that photo.

• They said Jim Corr was nuts a few years back, not looking too mad now?! Funny how the world works – behind our backs…

• mart_n 02/06/12 #

I don’t get how people can be so flippant of this meeting. If it was a bunch of Cardinals or Public Sector bosses meeting annually people wouldn’t be called wacko conspiracy theorists for wondering what they were discussing. I doubt much of what they talk about is menial, or of little importance to any of us.

Kissinger is attending, I see.. I wonder if he’s pitching any of his old ideas on how to starve people to death as a means of maintaining America’s interests. See – ‘NSSM 200′

• We should be extremely wary of any group or organisation that has the likes of Kissinger and Noonan as invited guests … enough said!

• Do you have to have a big hand to get an invite to the Bilderberg meetings? Probably got it from shovelling all the money to the bondholders and the Bilderberg boys.

• Thanks Gavan for bringing this out. The Journal will now be the only publication in Ireland to mention this Elitist meeting. I expect you will be on the no fly list now, or subject to genital rubdowns by the TSA for daring to mention their secretive little talking shop. Anybody interesting in what’s going on with this should hit infowars.com..

• Did Bertie attend these and if so surly anything Bertie did we should now do the polar opposite. eg. DDDA we will pay forever for his cronies lining their pockets.

• ‘An excellent opportunity to sell Ireland internationally’ …

Surprised they couldn’t see the heavy irony there.

I’d put this down to projection, where they actually say what they most want to hide.

You see this most often in the States where a congress man or pastor comes out with enormous hatred for gays or counter culture (their words) and sure enough you’ll find they are found out to be the gayest gay in the village.

Peace.

• I wish Ireland had a politician who stood up for it’s people like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jbTxbY6-Oo&list=PL2C765D0FF38FB23C&index=40&feature=plpp_video

• Anyone who thumbs down Ron Paul is a self serving greedy parasite.

• I like Ron Paul, but this is not the time to be dismantling ones monetary system, especially when we share ours with so many other countries!!

• paul 02/06/12 #

What’s Noonan doing there David?

• limofax 02/06/12 #

Selling us out again

• A homophobic racist????? Is that really what you want for our country, more right wing extremists??? I may agree with his fiscal and other policies , but you can’t ignore the stance he has taken in the past, he has changed parties and allegiances many times in the past,, I don’t think he is the one to have the fortitude to “take on and rebuild” the American political system and policies ,,

• @David
      Did you have any luck finding out why fine gael were deleting mine and other peoples comments and opinions from their facebook page? they were just deleting anyone who didn’t agree with them, kinda the same as they do in real life. And David try and be a bit positive, out of the great messages and opinions Ron Paul has, the only thing you can do is talk negatively about him, kinda the same as Fine gael do about any possible alternative to their moronic plan of piling debt upon debt, well actually that was fianna fail’s plan, which fine gael rejected until they got into power but you’s were too lazy to come up with your own solution so you just followed on with fianna fail’s except somehow you’ve managed to make things worse. If you are thinking about getting into politics I’d suggest you stop listening to worn out men from fine gael and start listening to someone like Ron Paul. What do you like about him anyway? What does he say that you agree with?

• Michael Noonan should be pressed publicly on what went on at that meeting because he is the Finance Minister of this country is accountable to the people plain and simple…..this is not going to go away Mr Noonan…….you are accountable to this country and it’s people.

• Coment on the Guardian website:

“The Bilderbergers are niw more or less out in the open. Ireland voted yesterday to confirm itself as one massive bank loan at the mercy of the IMF and European Central Bank, these institutions must get paid on time before any essential state services. These are the sort of people of the now not so “Shadowy Elite” who have been designing new economic principles at Bilderberg meetings for years.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/us-news-blog/2012/jun/01/bilderberg-2012-chantilly-occupy?commentpage=2#start-of-comments

• My last comment on this, I promise!

Isn’t it interesting that Garret Fitzgerald attended one of these meetings in 1985. His goon son Mark (of Sherry Fitz) has since become insanely wealthy as a result of our property bubble, buoyed by corrupt politicians, bankers etc.

FitzGerald junior was also a director of property portal MyHome.ie, which Sherry Fitz set up in 2001. MyHome was sold to The Irish Times in July 2006 for the mad price tag of €40 million. This direct result of this transfer of wealth has been the deterioration of The Irish Times.

• And the Secret bond holders slapping him on the back no doubt….

• One thing’s for sure, Fionnan Sheahan is not going to ask him what he was up to. Nor Stephen Collins. Maybe someone honest such as Senator John Whelan could do the needful. Noonan is a creep.

I agree with @Dhakina’s Sword’s post on psychopaths but it’s closer to 5% of the population. Many of us are in denial thanks in part to our religious upbringing.

• Relax People , Who Didn’t know Looman or his little lackies were going to sell you out right from the start , a long time ago in the Past. Pieces of paper and words mean nothing . Real Stuff means something when People are ready to do it

• Its stuff like this, secrecy behind closed doors which bring about uprisings ! , and some People think that a yes vote was the right thing to do for our Country , wait till You see whats coming next, as a result of Your ‘yes vote’! maybe People will now start to wake up!

• what’s Michael Noonan doing there? Well, if you gave away trillions of dollars worth of Irelands natural resources of gas and oil for peanuts, to the IMF- Rothschild / Shell oil Trillionaires, I think you would be there too….

• Anyone know if this would be accessible to a FOI request? A few emails into the Indo, Times and see if we can’t get one?

• Anyone can make a Freedom of Informaton request Steve. Don’t you think if the Indo, Times etc were remotely interested in informing the public about Bilderberg meetings, they would have done so already? This is clearly a matter of public interest. I’d love to know a bit more about the political process, would Noonan be required to produce a written record of his attendance, and if not, why not? In other words, would a FOI request produce anything other than confirmation that he attended, which we already know, or would it be futile?

• finbar m 03/06/12 #

Are we going to be 53 state ????

• here is a quote that I retrieve at the electronic reading room from the US Secretary of State Freedom of Information Act website

it is from a conversation between Henry Kissinger and David Rockerfeller in April 1974,,, they are discussing a recent Bilderberg Meeting they had just attended,,,

“And then we discussed the possibility of joint ventures
    in third countries and instead of just saying this is the end, they said, well, we would like
    to study it

and it was agreed in the end that new US/USSR Council
    would be

asked to set up a task force
    to see what might be done in this area” – David Rockerfeller

• here’s the link to four conversations that Kissinger had that mention Bilderberg,,,
      foia.state. gov/
      SearchColls/Results.asp?ResultMaxDocs=-1&ResultCount=50&SortField=DocDate&SortOrder=Desc&Page=1&Collection=state&DocumentClass=Kissinger&QueryText=bilderberg&Search.x=25&Search.y=18

you need to remove the spaces between state. and gov/,,,, as well as gov/ and Search,,,,

• subject and context would go a long way here!

• here is another Rockerfeller quote,,,

“And he brought up an interesting idea and that is and
    he really wanted me to take this up with you and he said how about US and Soviets
    participating in the construction of nuclear power plants in third countries. In
    other words this is a variation “of the idea we had advanced only doing it
    in a different way and then we saw Deviseonne(sp7) and he is pretty clearly I think
    and put the idea in his head but he would really like to do this and I think it
    is an interesting idea.”

• A homophobic racist????? Is that really what you want for our country, more right wing extremists???

• It does stink of undemocratic elitism, but perhaps this is part of how the western developed world operates. Maybe we can get some investment into the country. Why burn a bridge that could be of benefit at a time of desperate need?

• lol, good one Karl, of course it’s how the western developed world operates, that’s the problem, we’re not even an afterthought. They’ll rob you blind then tax you for it, leave you for dead then get you to pay for their troubles. You are nothing to them. Don’t forget it.

• not much positivity around here……come on, pig out with the red thumb downs…………if that makes ye happy.
    aah, gwon gwon gwon…….

• Always referred to by hacks including in this article as the ‘secretive’ Bilderberg Group – but it lists all the participants!

Add New Comment