TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Woman arrested for texting while driving… with a baby in her lap

The US mother’s children were taken into protective custody.

Image: meghannash via Flickr

A WOMAN’S THREE children have been taken into protective custody after police found her texting while driving on the motorway with a baby in her lap.

Shawndeeia Joann Bowen, 29, from Hawthorne, California was arrested on Tuesday afternoon on the Interstate 405 freeway. Another motorist saw her and called police.

Police say Bowen wasn’t wearing a seatbelt while holding her one-year-old on her lap, and neither was her four-year-old daughter. Her two-year-old son was in an unsecured car seat.

Bowen was already on five years of probation for a child abuse charge she pleaded no contest to in 2010 and was driving on a suspended license, the Los Angeles Daily News reports.

Bowen was arrested on suspicion of child endangerment. Bail was set at $131,000.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• What an idiot! No thought for the safety of her baby.

• …and you need a licence to own a dog! Yet anyone can have children. This woman should have the children taken off her and handed over to a family member. She clearly incapable of thinking properly about safety for her kids. Her kids deserve better.

• agree, you should need a licence to have a baby, and have to do a test as well.

• Don’t be giving Noonan new tax ideas…

• Falstaff, you’re on to something there! Perhaps you can forward your idea onto Noonan, instead of the household charge they can impose a child licence together with a bi-annual National Child Care Test (NCCT). The benefits for the state could be great, I’m not sure how many kds are born/living here but initially the govt will get a wad (excuse the pun) of cash for each licence they issue (one per kid), then with the NCCT that’ll bring more cash in too! Looking into the future it could reduce the Children Allowance bill as I will assume there will be less kid borns………..yeah the benefits will be endless!!

I tell ye’, go for it, gvie Noonan a shout, I’d do it but I wouldn’t want to take the credit when it is your idea in the first place!!

• lol jack i think china beat to that. they tax after this first

• Shawndeeia. Christ…

• Rob 05/04/12 #

Are we sure the baby wasn’t driving while the mother was texting?

• She should have committed the crime in Ireland …. the judges in the Family Law Court would say, now run along and don’t do it again.

• Could do with that kind of enforcement near where I live! You see it every day from the many non settled members of the settled community! No seat belts babies on laps no insurance, green diesel and yet never stopped! Ridiculous!

• Darwin award winner 2012

• at least she wasn’t doing her make-up or lipstick ;)

• Anyone texting while driving should be treated the same as a drunk driver. Those who gives thumbs down for this comment should look up facts on text driving

• I have seen Garda driving while using a mobile phone

• In a society where you are paid to have children is it any wonder that neglecting and abusing children is common place.

• They should throw away the key!!!

• Aot of young Irish girls do it all the time.

• Driving while holding a mobile phone is illegal but there is no specific law against smoking while driving, particularly when children are passengers.

• The baby on the lap is pretty indefensible.

I’ll say one thing about the texting though, the 405 between 0700 and 1000, and between 1430 and 1700 is pretty much a car park. It carries an enormous amount of traffic. So she’s quite likely to have been stopped, or at worst alternating between 20mph and 0mph.

I’m definitely guilty of the odd text in heavy slow motorway traffic. ‘very heavy traffic. I’ll be late’

• If words like “some” are generalising I must be misunderstanding the meaning of the word generalising. Im not having a go at genuine single mothers I’m stating a fact that “some” women (theres that word again some) who breed like rabbits to avail of child payments and that why do we find it surprising that neglect of these children is not common place.

• I always thought women were good at multi tasking?

• doing a britney spears on it, stop copying celebrities

• Maybe her local police should show her photographs of dead infants, tot, children that weren’t strapped into seats, their graves. Then give her at least 5 years in jail. For 3 hours a day she sits and watches children and adults in rehab, victims from accidents that were caused by others. The baby would be loved and kept safe from stupidity for that time and hopefully the stupid woman will have learnt her lesson.

Also take her licence from her for 5 years when she gets out.

• sheila wow…just wow.
      I agree she is a stupid woman and that her children are safer without her. She should be sent to remedial driving classes and banned from driving until court appointed classes are satisfied that she has learnt her lesson. Possibly incarceration..no doubt that she is risking her child’s life and the lives of other road users which is inexcusable.
      But three hours a day in rehab while in jail for 5 years?!

• @James,

From your message, it seems you feel I am a little harsh on this woman. A few reasons why I would give her that sentence!

1. Breaking the law in many ways
      2. Endangering the lives of 3 children that have a right to life and to live a full life eg. playing sport, being able to eat themselves, go to the toilet themselves, converse in conversation etc. etc. When she crashes, running into another lane, be in going in the same direction as herself or another poor unfortunate going the opposite way, killing and/or maiming them.

She has now not only destroyed her 3 children’s lives and the lives of others in their cars, but she has destroyed their families also. They will never see them to hold, hug, converse with them again, ever.

Giving her this sentence, may, may rehabilitate her, may not, just hope it would. Now does that answer your question James. As I said to many others, ‘live in my shoes for a day, then give an opinion’

• sheila,
      did you read my comment? I agree with 90% of your points. I am not- in any sense- attempting to defend her reprehensible behaviour.

• @James (Harris)

I got the impression that you felt I was a bit harsh? Well, the 3 hours in the rehab centre to me would be more positive than her looking at 4 walls 24/7. It would hopefully instill into her that she’d never do it again and also advise others not to do it when she finally got out.

I just get angry with the Irish courts when they give a sentence for ‘dangerous driving’ after they’d been drinking all day/night gets into a car a kills. To me that’s at least manslaughter if not murder. We all have a choice to drink and not drive or to drive. Most of us thankfully don’t drink and drive. I feel the law here should be changed and more severe. Sorry for misunderstanding you.

• Sheila,
      I despise anyone who doesn’t respect the sanctity of life. My only objection was that things like seeing victims in rehab should be a short, sharp, shock. One-off. Repeating it would be overkill, possibly having the opposite effect. I should have been clearer.

• @ James,

Yes, maybe, my point/message may have been written with not enough thought. Maybe there should be more advertising on these sorts idiots on TV during the day and evening to make sure everyone sees them. Women, men, young women, and lads. I feel sometimes when I see one add in particular, the young chap with his mother, he’s about 26 yrs old in a wheelchair, can hardly speak, that one is shown later in the evening when a some of these people are gone out drinking already.

Anyway, I feel there’ll always be idiots on the road, no matter how many warnings they are given.

• My point is jack that some women/teenagers have kids to avail of child payments. These women/teenagers can hardly look after themselves never mind children so if the sole reason for having these kids is for more payments is it any wonder possibly like the woman in the article above was driving while texting, with one kid on her lap, one unbelted and another in an unsecured car seat. Places with no support systems are usually countries who’s majority population are poor so the have more kids to look after the parents when they get old. Of course neglect/abuse happens everywhere but if a persons sole purpose to have kids is for payments of course they are not gonna care if their child is in a safe environment

• IFC, you are still grossly generalising without any factual backup. Yes it is an urban myth that there are those who take advantage of our generous social welfare system for single parents (namely single mothers). If we are to take your remarks as litteral, then what you are saying is that all single parents are sponging off the social welfare. I’ve no doubt that there are those that are doing just that, but to tar everyone with the same brush is wrong. In addition to make the assumption that these children are more in danger of neglect/abuse is tottally wrong too. Children growing up with two parents have as much a chance of suffering at the hands neglect/abuse than those with single parents. This is not common place occurance but a minority one, for example you might as well be saying ALL priests are child rapists, and we all know there are some good priests among the bad ones, but the bad ones does not make all of them abusers!!

Your view point is so much in the dark ages, I thought you had all died out! Clearly I was wrong, suppose that’s what I get for generalising!!!

• BTW, your user name of Ireland for Change is abit ironic given your view point. Really you should consider renaming yourself as ‘Ireland go Backwards’, becasue with opinions like that, it is very much the direction you are heading in!!

• In a society where you are paid when you have children is it any wonder that neglecting and abusing children is common place

• Gross generalisation, show us your facts that neglect and abuse is common place? Yes I’d agree it does happen, but it has nothing to do with the payment of the Children’s allowance abuse and neglect happens in other countries that do not have benefits such as childrens allowance. Your point is totally groundless!!!

And if you are referring to the above article as an example, you would know if you had read it that the woman in question lives in California and was at the time driving/texting and endangering her kids in CALIFORNIA!!!

• Fao, old castle , I’m glad you realised your error and took a half hour to google “text driving” and lo and behold there is no such thing!! Yes holding a mobile phone while driving is an offence but for simpletons like yourself you make a straightforward assessment of what ever bit of law you would like it to be,kinda like catchphrase.(say what you see). You would be torn apart in the box. Any more legislative gems you would like to impart with?? Mr Lionel hutz attorney at law,
    Ps muppet

• Any supermarket car park on a Saturday,

• Ah come on! Seriously who here Hasn’t done this?.. multitasking at its very best:)

• Old castle, that pic is me! I work on the m50 (construction supervisor) I’m on my break now sitting in back of van on my iPad,(not a mobile phone)’ you assume a lot. Who’s the donkey?..

• louise 05/04/12 #

Brittany spears the 2nd

• Mr mc Avine. Your right, it’s driving while under the influence of an intoxicant! You must know old castle?.

• Care to elaborate jimbo

• Who asked u,?

• And by child payment I don’t mean only by the state I referring to payments from the child’s father

• Safer drivers, cheaper car insurance? Its about time that little lie was put to bed.

Add New Comment