TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Woman challenges airline after ‘too fat to fly’ incident

Kenlie Tiggerman says Southwest Airlines need to be clearer about when an overweight passenger needs to book an extra seat.

Image: AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast/PA

A WOMAN WHO says she was humiliated by being told by airline staff that she was ‘too fat to fly’ on their plane has filed legal action against the airline.

Kenlie Tiggeman writes in her weightloss blog that she filed a lawsuit against Southwest Airlines over their policy regarding extra seats for overweight passengers.

She says that the airline needs to give “overweight and obese Americans a clear definition of their rules at the point of purchase” instead of at the point of departure.

Tiggeman says she is not advocating obesity, but believes that obese people “deserve equal treatment and the opportunity to clearly understand the rules” and that airline staff have taken different approaches to the situation on different occasions:

The problem I have with Southwest is not that they may want me to purchase two seats. It’s that sometimes they want that, and other times they don’t.

The airline’s ‘Customer of Size’ policy says that passengers who encroach on neighbouring seats should book the number of seats they require for their journey in advance:

Customers who encroach upon any part of the neighbouring seat(s) should proactively book the needed number of seats prior to travel. The armrest is considered to be the definitive boundary between seats and measures 17 inches in width. The purchase of additional seats serves as a notification to Southwest of a special seating need. Most importantly, it ensures that all Customers onboard have access to safe and comfortable seating.

Southwest Airlines told ABC News that if providing an extra seat doesn’t deny another passenger a seat, they will refund the extra charge.

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Hate to say it, but if you need two seats you should book and pay for two seats.

• Sorry Ma’am but you need to buy an extra seat! Here’s your two seats, 5A and 37E

• Unfortunately I have to agree with the airline. If you need 2 seats then pay for them. Anyone who has ever flown knows how small the seats are and if this lady is a frequent flyer she should have known to check things out at point of purchase.

• she was only humiliated at the point someone else told her she was too fat …….. therein lies the problem me thinks.

• How about she puts her energy into loosing weight instead of going to court?

• I can see Ryanair coming up with a body weight charge! €30 per kilo for everyone over 80 kilos!

• In 2003 a MidWest beech aircraft crashed & accident investigators found that because people were on average 20lbs heavier than anticipated the plane was overloaded & crashed. There was also a few maintenance issues in this incident also but because of this accident in America the national weight average went up by 20lbs to accommodate for overweight passengers in the weight allowances in planes. Unfortunately everybody in this accident died so I can understand why airlines can be fussy with overweight passengers.

• @Michael…. an auntie of mine could not look at a dry slice of toast without gaining half a pound.

Eating McD and buckets of Ben&Jerries….. is not a disease. Thats self inflicted…..

If your hand luggage does not fit the measurements…. you pay…. or leave it behind…
      If your arse does not fit the seat…. you pay….. or loose weight

People cannot help beinv gay….. people can help being fat

• If you read her blog it states that she is not seeking damages, so it’s not about money. She is not arguing that she shouldn’t have to pay for two seats. What she wants is for the airline (or all airlines presumably) to state at what weight do you need to buy two seats or what girth you have to be.
    One question I think rises from a debate about paying for extra weight, does this apply to someone who has a healthy bmi but is extremely tall so is ‘overweight’? They certainly can’t help or change their height. And what about a rugby player, not fat but big and bulky, they get in their neighbours space on flights, should the buy two seats?
    Or maybe planes should start putting in a few rows of seats to accommodate ‘abnormal’ people? Extra wide seats, extra leg space, no overhead lockers so tallies don’t bang their heads…. Every time you book a flight enter all your stats so you can be seated with people of your own kind.. Segregation makes everyone happier.

• Only problem with her booking two seats is she’d have to get two meals, so it’s a vicious cycle. Flying to fat camp, and eating twice…

• All jokes aside, I
    Think she’s upset that sometime they charge her for being over weight and other the leave her off.

• Have you ever tried booking 2 seats with the same name !

• Not quite there is a lot more choice involved. It is closer to calling an alcoholic a “drunk” or a drug addict a “junkie”. Not much choice in being a traveler, gay or disabled.

• And now imagine her in sinking ship situation…lifeboat can carry only certain number of people…why somebody has to risk their lives just because she takes 3-4 peoples places? If you look like 3 persons you should pay like 3 persons. Just my 2 cents

• Obesity is a disease, a lovely delicious disease!

• No sympathy for her! Frivolous law suit.

• Ah Southwest….the Ryanair of the USA!

• I always bump into an American in an airport!

• Several hard unsympathetic comments above. Many missed the point, she had accepted that she may have to purchase 2 tickets because of her size. Sometimes this rule was enforced at the time of purchase and sometimes not. On one occasion when it hadn’t been, she purchased only one ticket and was later prevented boarding the plane. She is only looking for consistency.

• Some ignorant comments on here. May I suggest that you read her blog with more information on why she is suing.

She is successfully losing weight and has lost a considerable amount to date. Buying a second seat is not an issue and she has gladly done this before and will do again if needs be.

The issue is that in one airport the airline staff say no you don’t need a second seat and on the return journey she could be asked to purchase one. She is suing for consistency in the policy so the same treatment happens at all airports with southwest staff.

That only seems fair to me.

• And their point is there is a policy with specific measurements which passengers can use to make a decision. Ryanair etc have a 1 bag 10kg hand luggage policy but who amongst us has not tried to push our luck. “it’s only a small extra handbag”, “11kg is near enough”. She was trying to see if she could get away with it

• I am nowhere near perfect and did not mean to offend! And maybe this lady should read the terms & conditions first before booking her flight

• I have no sympathy for her. She should lose some weight first.

• Could they not put her in the hold, plenty room there for here!!!

• 2 seats?….you sit…. and you ‘encroach’ on either side…. that makes 3.
    or do they suggest the fatso sit with a cheek on each seat…..
    with the armrest up their enoumous……

• Thanks for that fine mental image!

• calling an obese person “Fatso” is the same as calling a homesexual a “faggot”, a traveller “knacker”, or a disabled person “retard” or “spastic”… ignorance is bliss in your life I guess Ed!!

• @michael,
      That’s a bit of an ignorant comparison,
      Old or disabled or both does not matter when you are unconscious in an emergency blocking the escape, when you are the weight of 3 people it’s different.
      Face it mick, if you take up the space and weight you pay. Makes sense to me,
      What would happen if the whole plane was booked out by herself and similar people, apart from them not fitting, the plane would be dangerously over weight, more fuel burned etc

• @Perky I have no problem with someone having to pay for two seats, if they take up two seats. I do have a problem with obese or overweight people being called inappropriate names (not by you) that’s just unfair and uncalled for. And also regarding such people as a risk to safety in emergencies is no different to anyone else who doesn’t fit the “perfect person” criteria. After all, I have being tripped up by children, and never by an overweight person, so should children be barred too?

• Michael, being fat is a choice.

• Prejudice is a live and well and living in Ireland!!

Michael Hegarty is spot on. What’s with all the name calling, people?

To Censored et al — Being fat is not a choice. Ignorance is!

The fact is that obesity in Ireland (23% . . . nearly 1 in 4 people!) is as much of a problem as in America (30% . . . Mexico is higher!) as anywhere else in the modern world. Open your eyes and look around. People in this country live on Supermac’s, McDonald’s, Burger King, KFC, Abrakababra, etc. Chippers and Chinese take-aways are everywhere. Media pushes unhealthy food and we eat it up. Go into any shopping centre in the country with a food court and the number of people eating unhealthy food is much greater compared to those eating healthier choices. And it’s not just overweight people eating at these places. I’ll say it again, 1 in 4 people has a weight problem in Ireland!

And there are a huge number of people who have legitimate medical reasons for being overweight. Men AND women. Women carrying weight could be suffering from some very serious medical issues, like poly cystic ovary syndrome, endometriosis, or some other hormonally driven disease. Men carrying weight, particularly in areas where women carry it, probably have too much estrogen in their hormones.

And then there’s depression, low incomes, and simply poor education when it comes to what’s healthy and what’s not. Nutrition is not taught in this country, either in school or at home. There’s not one of you here who can say you ONLY eat healthy choices. Every one of you on this thread is guilty of poor eating habits. You may not think your health is suffering, but even if you think you’re healthy and still eat poorly, even if you’re not overweight, effects of a lifetime of poor eating will haunt you at some stage, either with heart disease, diabetes, stroke, cancer, etc.

Regarding the woman in this article . . . we don’t know her whole story, and to tar and feather her as a ‘fat American’ looking for an easy pay off is arrogant. I have been on flights where overweight people are made to sit ON TOP the armrests during take off and landing because of FAA regulations. Once the seatbelt signs are off, the person can then lower the armrests to sit more comfortably, but how safe is it to sit on the armrests?!

Even if an overweight person is made to buy two seats, there’s still the issue of safety with the armrest grating on the spine the whole flight, which can cause numbness and paralysis in the back and legs. Or worse.

I’ve seen cases like this in the past and the issue isn’t about whether to buy or not buy two seats, but to have larger seats for the people who need them so they can fly safely. Just as the physically handicapped, the elderly and babies are catered for, so should the overweight. Obesity is a modern day handicap and 17 inches is not a lot of room in today’s world. People are eating more and growing bigger . . . that included height and not just weight. Airlines are designed to pack us in like sardines, even for long haul flights. While planes are getting bigger, the seats aren’t. They’re just putting more seats on board.

It stands to reason that if 23% of Irish are obese, then shouldn’t flights have 23% of seats available for overweight travelers?

And not everyone can afford business or first classes, even if they can afford to buy two coach seats, which is significantly less than one in business class where seats are wider.

So it’s not all about food, folks, and to slag off overweight people without knowing who they are or why they’re over weight is ignorant and unsympathetic, and it’s a sign of extreme prejudice . . . prejudice isn’t only about one’s race!

And the name calling is totally inflammatory and uncalled for. Save it for the politicians, not the people who may have a disease-driven condition, people who might eat because people like you continually belittle them and suffer from continual depression (especially in today’s economy when so many have lost their jobs, their homes and some their family) . . . and perhaps eventual suicide (BTW, the suicide rate in Ireland is one of the highest in the modern world!) . . . people who just don’t know how to eat healthy or can’t afford it on today’s economy . . .

It’s completely and unbelievably embarrassing and humiliating that in today’s Ireland that so many people are still so ignorant. I know it’s tradition to kill what we don’t understand, to do harm first then ask questions later, and live in such self-centered worlds, but come on! Grow up. Be adults and set good examples for our children. Otherwise we’ll all be party to creating more of the same ignorance for future generations!

Ignorance IS a choice!

• Must be more to the story! Sad to read comments where they just slag her for being fat.

• @padraig flavin the article said the lady was overweight, not Dumb being overweight does not make you stupid!

• I’ll probably be shot down for this un PC comment but maybe she’s suing for the funds for the skin tuck she’ll need when she loses all her weight? I know what I’m talking about and I’m a stone overweight so if she’s carrying significant extra weight, she’ll need major cosmetic surgery to be rid of excess skin!

• I thought about that….she’s insulted because it was pointed out that she was too large for the single seat she paid for. She should have paid for the room she will be taking up as you do when you bring your family on a flight. Because she’s offended,she’s angry and because she’s angry she’s trying to make them look bad. I’m on the airlines side and that’s something I would rarely (if ever) say. If she doesn’t want to pay for 2 seats then she should loose some weight!

• I think her problem was that they don’t make it clear about their weight/chair requirements at the point of purchase and waited for point of departure.
      She was not arguing that she wouldn’t pay for 2 seats but that they should have told her before she was denied access to the flight.
      People with other special requirments are generally prompted before purchase.
      Also she was trying to loose weight. Hence writing about it on a weight loss blog. But losing weight is a process and it can take a lot of time to do it healtily.

I find it distressing to see all the sizist comments on this comments thread though. For all the people commenting sating being overweight is a choice? For a large amount of people it is laziness. For a significant number though it is genetic or related to illness. Simple things like having your gall bladder removed increases you chances of gaining weight. Metabolic disorders, tyroid disorders, physical disabilities that may not be apparent but lead to the person being unable to exercise such as chronic arthritis, severe asthma etc.

Also children who tend to be obese often grow to be obese. This is a pattern than starts in childhood, wholly because of lax parental responsibility, you cannot blame a child for being overweight. But often this continues on to adulthood.

People who wish to be healthy should be supported and encouraged but slagging people off about says does them no favours, makes assumptions, and creates a world where being overly thin is more prized than being healthy and well nourished.

I’m 5’3 and weigh over 10 stone. However I am fit and do not look my size. I rarely exercise atm because of focusing on my studies. Technically by BMI I am just pushing into the overweight category but am a size 10-12. I have friends of similar height and weight who are not so fortunate and are sizes 14-16 and suffer a lot of flack for this fact. Because I have better muscle density than my friends and a better metabolism do they deserve more flack than me because people assume I’m less lazy than others?

How many people here are throwing words like fatso around but have been lucky enough to have a fast metabolism and have never honestly struggled with their weight?

It’s easy to throw stones but it takes empathy not to paint everyone with the same brush.

• Mx 05/05/12 #

She sits down to write her weightloss blog everyday while eating crisps and cakes

• Anyone see her before and after pic? She was some size!

• glamviva 05/05/12 #

@alan what a stupid comment. I am just stating the facts as they are. My size does not come in to it.
    Fair play to kenlie for standing up to what’s right and fair.

• American director Kevin Smith got in a smiliar kerfuffle with them two years ago.

• alan 04/05/12 #

ground all overweight people. a good incentive to start taking yourself seriously and losing weight

• I am nowhere near perfect! And did not mean to offend! And maybe this lady should read the terms & conditions before booking a flight.

Add New Comment