#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 13°C Monday 27 September 2021

Best Irish scripts short-listed for ZeBBie Awards

Parked, Love/Hate and Trade – just some of the scripts in the running for awards.

Love/Hate script nominated for ZeBBie award
Love/Hate script nominated for ZeBBie award
Image: (Image via RTE)

THE IRISH PLAYWRIGHTS and Screenwriters Guild (IPSG) has announced the nominees for the 2012 ZeBBie Awards.

The awards are held annually to acknowledge the best scripts written by Irish playwrights and screenwriters during the previous year.

TRADE, written by Mark O’Halloran, has been nominated for Best Theatre Script.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie about O’Halloran’s nomination, THISISPOPBABY who produced the play said:

Mark O’Halloran is a rare and brilliant writer shining a light on rarely seen parts of our society. At THISISPOPBABY we were thrilled when he accepted a commission for TRADE and we are very proud of our collaboration at last years Dublin Theatre Festival. We are delighted that Mark’s hard work has been acknowledged by the Zebbies and we look forward to this beautiful play having a long life.

Damien Owens, who has been nominated for Best Television Script, told TheJournal.ie: “This is the first time I’ve been nominated for anything, so I’m seriously chuffed. Apart from anything else, it’ll be a great chance to meet other writers and steal their ideas.”

The IPSG is the representative body in Ireland for writers for the stage, screen, radio and digital media.

The awards will be held on Thursday 10 May 2012 in The Sugar Club in Dublin at 8pm. Tickets are available on the IPSG website.

The nominees are as follows:

Best Television Script

  • Ronan Bennett for Hidden, Episode 1
  • Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate, Episode 6
  • Damien Owens for Trivia, Episode 1

Best Radio Script

  • Carlo Gébler for Charles and Mary
  • Joe O’Byrne for The Blue Hyacinth
  • Karl O’Neill for Think Well, O Singer

Best Theatre Script

  • Nancy Harris for No Romance
  • Pat Kinevane for Silent
  • Mark O’Halloran for Trade

Best Feature Film Script

Best Short Film Script

  • Claire Dix for Downpour
  • Phil Harrison for Even Gods
  • Colin Thornton for Two Hearts

Read next: