We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.


Irish Book Award winners: Roddy Doyle, Darina Allen, David Walsh and Fintan O'Toole

Some of Ireland’s top writers gathered tonight to award some of the nation’s best works.

THE BORD GÁIS Energy Irish Book Awards took place with many well-known Irish authors being comended for their literary work.

The awards, which were presented by RTÉ’s Keelin Shanley and John Murray, were attended a wealth of people from the Irish book industry.

And the winners are…

Winners tonight included, Roddy Doyle, Darina Allen, David Walsh, Fintan O’Toole, Michael Harding and Paul Howard.

Novelist John Banville was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award by actress Sinéad Cusack for his contribution to Irish literature and a tribute to the late Seamus Heaney was screened during the ceremony which featured accolades from former US President Bill Clinton and Edna O’ Brien.

This year’s awards also included for the third year running, the ‘Bookshop of the Year Award’, sponsored by Bord Gáis Energy which was awarded to The Clifden Bookshop, Clifden, Co Galway.

The winners in the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2013 are:

  • Eason Novel of the Year: The Guts by Roddy Doyle (Jonathan Cape)
  • RTÉ Radio 1’s John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award: Staring At Lakes: A Memoir Of Love, Melancholy and Magical Thinking by Michael Harding (Hachette Ireland)
  • Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year: The Doll’s House by Louise Phillips (Hachette Ireland)
  • Avonmore Cookbook of the Year: 30 Years at Ballymaloe by Darina Allen (Kyle Books)
  • National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year: Staring At Lakes: A Memoir Of Love, Melancholy and Magical Thinking by Michael Harding (Hachette Ireland)
  • International Education Services Popular Fiction Book of the Year: Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll-Kelly (Penguin Ireland)
  • RTÉ Television Sports Book of the Year: Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh (Simon and Schuster)
  • Short Story of the Year: The Things We Lose, The Things We Leave Behind by Billy O’Callaghan (The Things We Lose, the Things We Leave Behind & Other Short Stories, New Island Books)
  • Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year: The Herbalist by Niamh Boyce (Penguin Ireland)
  • Best Irish Published Book of the Year: A History of Ireland in 100 Objects by Fintan O’Toole (Royal Irish Academy)
  • Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year: When You Were Born by Benji Bennett (AdamsPrinting Press) [Junior] and Skulduggery Pleasant: Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy (Harper Collins) [Senior]

Column: To be a successful writer nowadays, you have to embrace social media>

Check out J.K. Rowling’s hand scrawled outline for Order of the Phoenix>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.