#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 16°C Wednesday 29 June 2022

Dublin South West and Roscommon South Leitrim by-elections to take place on 10 October

The empty seats are because of Brian Hayes and Luke Ming Flanagan’s election as MEPs.

Ming Flanagan's seat is up for grabs.
Ming Flanagan's seat is up for grabs.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT HAS moved the writs for the Dublin South-West and Roscommon-South Leitrim by-elections.

It made the move on the first day back after the summer break, meaning that the by-elections will officially take place on Friday 10 October.

The vacancies arose in May after Fine Gael’s Brian Hayes (Dublin South-West) and the independent Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Roscommon-South Leitrim) were elected to the European Parliament.

This meant that they automatically and immediately vacated their seats in Leinster House.

By law, both by-elections must be held within six months of the seats becoming vacant. This means that November is the last possible month that they could take place.

It was speculated that the Government would want the elections to take place before the Budget on 14 October – meaning that the writs would need to be moved as soon as the Dáil returned today.

#Open journalism No news is bad news Support The Journal

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support us now

By law, polling day must be between the 18th and 25th day (excluding public holidays, Good Friday and Sundays) after the writ has been issued.

The candidates are:

Dublin South West

  • Sinn Féin: Cllr Cathal King
  • Fine Gael: Senator Cáit Keane
  • Fianna Fáil: Cllr John Lahart
  • Labour: Cllr Pamela Kearns
  • Anti-Austerity Alliance: Paul Murphy
  • Greens: Cllr Francis Noel Duffy
  • Independent: Declan Burke
  • Independent: Cllr Ronan McMahon
  • People Before Profit: Cllr Nicky Coules

Roscommon South Leitrim

  • Sinn Féin: Councillor Martin Kenny
  • Labour: Senator John Kelly
  • Fine Gael: Cllr Maura Hopkins
  • Fianna Fáil: Cllr Ivan Connaughton
  • Independent: Michael Fitzmaurice
  • Independent: Gerry O’Boyle
  • Independent: Tom Crosby
  • Independent: Cllr Des Guckian

Read: Here’s why Fine Gael transfers could decide the ‘Ming’ by-election>

Read: It’s on… All the main parties have now picked their hopefuls in the battle for Dublin SW>

Read next: