You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

you told us

Top comments of the week

Did you make the cut?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about another Greek election, being a parent and losing a loved one.

So here, in no particular order, are the standout comments from the week that was.

The 5 most popular comments this week

1. TotalScrotal got 2,085 green thumbs for this comment on a story about a guy having to sit beside vomit on a flight.

Good thing he had that masters in marketing or he wouldn’t have known that not cleaning up vomit is bad for business.

2. John Reese wasn’t impressed that two people complained about a Sky News presenter saying ‘f***’ live on air.

Ah so bloody what. Get over it. There are much worse and more important things going on it the world.

Some 1,891 of you agreed.

3. On an article about baby names, stephen kavanagh asked: “Where are Hayden, Jayden and Kayden?”

To which Sunshine on a rainy replied:

In jobstown Garda station

That one got 1,820 green thumbs.

4. A lot of you were disgusted when it emerged a dog died after having his throat slashed in Cork.

Adam Walsh got 1,632 likes for this comment:

This wasn’t a human being who did this , this was a f****** disgusting creature who should be locked up for life, the poor dog and its owners.

5. Dermot Lane and 1,488 others are impressed with the marketing that went into one of Ireland’s most successful tourism initiatives:

You have to admit, though, that coming up with the Wild Atlantic Way concept was a master stroke, repackaging something that was always there as something new.

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

1. I’m Irish, but the Irish don’t know that I’m Irish (414 comments)
2. We need to take back control of our country, before it’s too late (354 comments)
3. Protesters march to Tallaght Garda Station in solidarity with ‘The Jobstown 23′ (281 comments)
4. Protest planned outside Tallaght garda station in support of the ‘Jobstown 23′ (279 comments)
5. Labour at lowest rating in nine months in latest poll (269 comments)

Standout comments of the week

Johnny Lyon’s sudden death resulted in an outpouring of tributes.

11855828_10153243426472585_7974943071003864711_n-390x285 Johnny Lyons 98FM 98FM

Here’s what Peter Clarke had to say about the much-respected sports journalist:

Terrible news. We knew each other in UCD in the 1980s as we shared a passion for footy and loud music. We both had long curly hair back then. Never saw him again until 2014 at a debate on Irish football arranged by Antonio Mantero of thecoachdiary.com website. Johnny was compère for the night. During a break I went down to the stage and said “Johnny Lyons, it’s been 25 years”. Not put off by my now shaven head he looked at me, took about 2 seconds and said “Clarkie! You still listening to 70s Genesis?”. Thankfully the answer was no. As an aspiring music hack in the 80s he got an interview over the phone with Tony Banks, keyboardist in Genesis. It was a long interview and to Johnny’s horror the tape recording didn’t work. He rang Tony again and said that there’d been a problem and luckily he was given the interview again. Great voice but more important, great passion for our game. Very sad to hear this but I’m glad I got to meet him again. RIP.

immigration Bashir Otukoya

An article on immigration led LesEnfant Perdu to share his own story:

I’m mixed race, born here in the 70′s. There were only 2 other boys in school who were non-white (500 pupils). Catholic upbringing (now lapsed), Gaelic speaking, played GAA (badly). Overall my experience growing up was positive (testimony to the kindness of the Irish) but I never felt that I fitted in. Until the 90′s, people, especially children would stop & stare as I walked down the street (Patrick St in Cork not some small town!). I got the odd bit of abuse mostly name calling but 3 times I was physically attacked by gangs – again all before the mid 90′s. Then I lived abroad for a few years in various countries and I realised that I was unmistakably Irish. Everyone knew me as the “Irish guy.” I came home and realised that I was home, here is where my heart resides. I think Ireland has changed for the better since the 70-80′s. Not sure where I’m going with this comment, but that’s my 2 cents. Slàn folks!

Stephanie Rainey / YouTube

A lot of you were touched by Stephanie Rainey’s video ‘Please Don’t Go’. It shows people with photos of their late loved ones and then holding up signs where they write how the person died, what they miss most and what they would want to say to that person.

Diana Moynihan summed up the overall response:

What a beautiful video, it is so powerful. The song itself is fabulous too. Captures the heartbreak of loss in its raw state so well. Something we all have to experience unfortunately. Well done to all involved for sharing their experiences so honestly.

An article on becoming a parent inspired parents to share their own experiences, good and bad.

jack frost is now a bit follically challenged:

Day 1. Started to go bald.
Day 9125. Am bald.

Pat Sheehan is missing certain TV shows:

No more adult tv. Peppa fecken Pig, I will leave it there!

Simon Moore is having his own issues:

Tip 13: Getting poop on your thumb is no longer grounds for amputation.

Meanwhile, Lisa Smyth realises ‘once a parent, always a parent’:

I’m a 38 year old mother of two. I’m also one of 3 children of a 75 year old, who was sure that by now his fatherly duties would be done. He was wrong. He has rescued me from so many situations, I constantly look for and need his support, mostly emotional/needing some sound common sense – sometimes financial. My mam who, God bless her – does not RIP as we all constantly look and talk to her for guidance and to help us now she’s on heaven’s side! No, once a parent, always a parent. And however frustrating it gets, the frustration is only temporary, but the love is for all eternity.

11902268_10153482417283211_7628438378264945262_n-375x500 Gracie and Liam O'Flynn Facebook Facebook

Speaking of parents, Susan O’Flynn got in touch about her son Liam. He donated his Communion money to buy toys and ice cream for the children in Temple Street Hospital. Here’s what she had to say about her very generous eight-year-old son:

Liam’s life is simple. He said ‘Gracie is well so why do I need the money’. She’s been fighting cancer this past year. Cancer removes all the noise and just leaves the simple things exposed. No hidden agendas I promise. Just the want for people to feel better. I will go with the Liam4taoiseach though.

While marriage equality got the Irish public’s seal of approval earlier this year, not every country is in the same boat. A story about an elderly gay Australian couple who want to get married got a lot of you talking.

Nicholas J Campbell had this to say:

I hope you get what you wish for. Everyone deserves happiness. We only get one spin around.

Meanwhile, Ronan Stokes had this idea:

We should crowd fund their flights and accommodation to here.

On a different note, Eannán Monaghan was quick of the mark with a Fr Ted reference on a thread about an Irish tourism initiative in China.

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads.

There are very few situations in which a Fr Ted reference won’t work, to be fair.

greece

Meanwhile, Michael Stack shared his thoughts on being Prime Minister of Greece:

It’s like the position of ‘Defence against the Dark Arts’ professor in Hogwarts

We’ll leave the last word to KMac, who’s staying positive despite the lack of sun:

There’s no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing choices. Get out there & enjoy yourself!

See any good comments? Send them on to orla@thejournal.ie