Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now

The country will have two new TDs today*


Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

IT SHOULD BE known at around lunchtime today who has taken the two vacant Dáil seats.

Counting in the by-elections in Roscommon-South Leitrim and Dublin South West gets under way this morning. Voters are choosing replacements for new MEPs Luke Ming Flanagan and Brian Hayes.

The 11 candidates in Dublin South West will make their way to Tallaght to see who has taken the Dáil seat, while the ten hopefuls in Roscommon will congregate at the Hyde Centre in Roscommon.

The picture should become clear at around lunchtime.

By-elections have been fruitful for the coalition since 2011. They have won three of the four votes, but lost the most recent one, the Dublin West by-election. will be at both count centres today. For the latest news from both Roscommon and Tallaght, follow @TJ_Politics

Read: Fine Gael’s John McNulty has lost the Seanad by-election – and here’s who beat him

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

Read next: