We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Derry's Conor Glass with the league trophy. James Crombie/INPHO

Derry defeat 13-man Dublin on penalties after football league final thriller

Donegal held off Armagh in a pulsating finale to land Division 2 league title.

The 42 is the home of quality journalism for passionate Irish sports fans, bringing you closer to the stories that matter through insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting.


Derry 3-18

Dublin 2-21

(Derry win 3-1 on penalties)

THE LAST TIME Derry won the Division 1 football league title, it wasn’t even played in Croke Park.

It was all the way back in 2008, against Kerry, in Parnell Park. The win was seismic back then. They repeated that feat today after penalties against Dublin in a Croke Park thriller.

A madcap finale saw two Dublin players dismissed at the end of extra-time, Brian Fenton with a straight red card offence and Paddy Small shown a second yellow, yet they were the ones celebrating as Greg McEnaney blasted home the goal that dragged Derry back and tied the teams.

Yet Derry celebrated at the finish after 3-1 penalty shootout victory.


Donegal 0-15

Armagh 0-14

JIM MCGUINNESS IS not just winning matches again but silverware too as Donegal finished strongly at Croke Park to claim the NFL Division 2 title.

Trailing by a point entering stoppage time after conceding five Armagh scores in a row, it looked like an injury hit Donegal side may come up just short.

But the 2012 All-Ireland winners ultimately outscored Armagh by 0-3 to 0-1 in the closing minutes with Aaron Doherty supplying the winning point at the death.

ciaran-thompson-and-captain-patrick-mcbrearty-lift-the-trophy Ciaran Thompson and Patrick McBrearty lift the trophy. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel