We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Mark Stedman via Photocall Ireland

Christy Burke elected as Dublin's Lord Mayor

He will serve for 12 months after which a Sinn Féin Councillor is expected to take over.

INDEPENDENT COUNCILLOR CHRISTY Burke has been elected as Dublin’s Lord Mayor.

The announcement was made this evening at the Annual Meeting in City Hall.

Burke was first elected to the council in 1985 as a Sinn Féin member but left the party three days after winning a seat in 2009.

The election of Burke as Lord Mayor of Dublin was described as “a fitting reward for 30 years of work for his constituents” according to fellow North Inner City Councillor Nial Ring.

Councillor Ring continued that “Christy is a “true Dub” born and reared in the inner City in a “corpo” flat and it is fair to say that he has never forgotten his roots.

This background and upbringing has given him a unique insight into the plight of the less well off and a corresponding desire and drive to help them which he has done with distinction and electoral reward for the past 30 years.

He concluded that “Dublin is a great city and a great city deserves a great Lord Mayor. In proposing my fellow councillor, constituency colleague and friend, Cllr. Christy Burke for Lord Mayor, I do so, safe in the knowledge that our great City will, if you endorse Christy as mayor, get a great Lord Mayor it deserves.”

He will serve for 12 months after which a Sinn Féin Councillor is expected to take over.

Earlier this evening Oisín Quinn described his time as Lord Mayor as ‘a great honour’.

Meanwhile, Sinn Féins Fintan Warfield has been elected as Mayor of South Dublin County Council earlier today.


Read: Sinn Féin councillor set to be Dublin Lord Mayor for 2016 celebrations>

Read: Who is your new local councillor? Here’s a list of everyone elected so far>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.