This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 22 °C Tuesday 4 August, 2020

Fianna Fáil councillor Paul McAuliffe elected as new Lord Mayor of Dublin

McAuliffe becomes the 350th Lord Mayor of the city.

Lord Mayor Paul McAuliffe
Lord Mayor Paul McAuliffe
Image: Twitter

Updated Jun 7th 2019, 10:22 PM

FIANNA FÁIL COUNCILLOR Paul McAuliffe has been elected as the new Lord Mayor of Dublin. 

McAuliffe was elected by fellow councillors this evening at the Annual Council Meeting and becomes the 350th Lord Mayor of the city.

The Ballymun-Finglas councillor takes over the role from independent councillor Nial Ring, after receiving 35 votes from his fellow councillors.

Independent councillor Anthony Flynn came second with 17 votes, followed by Fine Gael councillor Ray McAdam with 9 votes. 

McAuliffe was first elected to Dublin City Council on 6 June 2009.

He is currently the chairperson of the Kilmore West Youth Project.

He also holds the position of chairperson of the Dublin City Brexit Summit and chairperson of the Dublin City Local Community Development Committee.

Speaking to councillors after his elections, McAuliffe paid tribute to his rivals and urged his fellow councillors to work together for Dublin City during his term.

He also thanked outgoing Lord Mayor Nial Ring for the enthusiasm he brought to the position, and said he planned to continue the high standard set by his predecessor in office.

“To be chosen to be Lord Mayor of Dublin is a special honour,” he said.

“I feel a huge responsibility… I have to admit to being a little overwhelmed, but I promise the experience I have gained inside this chamber and outside this chamber will be put to good use.”

McAuliffe added that he intends to lead on housing, climate action, mental health, and tackling anti-social behaviour across the city.

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil’s Tom Brabazon was elected as Deputy Lord Mayor.

Other elections

Elsewhere in Dublin, councillor Vicki Casserly of Fine Gael, representing the Lucan electoral area, was elected Mayor of South Dublin County.

Cathaoirleach in Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County, councillor Shay Brennan from Dundrum.

Fianna Fáil councillor Eoghan O’Brien was elected this evening as Mayor of Fingal. Councillor Tom Kitt of Fianna Fáil was elected as Deputy Mayor. 

In Cork, councillor Christopher O’Sullivan has been elected Mayor of the County of Cork, while Independent councillor Martin Coughlan has been elected Deputy Mayor. 

Fine Gael’s Michael Shahan was elected as Mayor of the City and County of Limerick this evening. 

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel