This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 January, 2020

European Union awarded 2012 Nobel Peace Prize

Yep, we are all winners. Kinda. The Nobel Committee awarded the prize in recognition of the role of the EU and its success in achieving peace and reconciliation.

File Photo
File Photo
Image: Yves Logghe/AP/Press Association Images

THE EUROPEAN UNION has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 2012.

Making the announcement at 10am Irish time, Thorbjørn Jagland, the chair of the Nobel Committee said that the EU had helped open a new era in European history.

While admitting that the EU is currently facing great challenges, he said that the greatest success of the EU had been “the success of peace and reconciliation”, and had helped transform Europe from a continent of war to a continent of peace.

Responding to questions, Jagland said the EU had an important role in preventing the growth of extremism and nationalism which he described as “a dangerous phenomenon”.

Asked how he felt the people of Greece, Spain and Ireland would respond to the news, he said that a big majority of people in all these countries wanted to stay in the EU.

Everybody knows the awful background for the EU [that led to its creation] and this still remains in the heads of so many Europeans and they do not want to lose what has been achieved.

When quizzed about the continuing problems with the single currency, Jagland said: “We do not have a position on that.”

The prizes get their name from the Swede Alfred Bernhard Nobel, the inventor of – among other things – dynamite.

Previous winners have included Barack Obama, Mother Teresa, Dr Martin Luther King Jr and Aung San Suu Kyi who this year accepted the prize, 21 years after winning it.

Read: Three women accept Nobel Peace Prize >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Hyland

Read next: