#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 19°C Tuesday 27 July 2021
Advertisement

This is how you can select who sees you on Facebook Chat

Should you only want a few friends to know you’re online.

Image: Dave Thompson/PA Wire

ANYONE THAT’S ON Facebook will be familiar with the chat feature that’s located on the bottom-right hand corner.

While it has its uses, one annoying part is that unlike similar services like Gchat, you can’t be online but change your status to say online but busy or on standby.

However, you do have the option of filtering who gets to see you online (or who doesn’t).

When you open up the chat menu, click the settings icon at the top right-hand corner of the tab and either select Advanced Chat Settings or Turn off Chat.

Turn off chat FB Source: Facebook

Effectively, this allows you to filter who can or can’t see you online. whichever is easier to complete, you can say who you don’t want to see you online or just choose a select group of friends who you don’t mind messaging you at a particular time.

Although, we will warn you that if someone does send you a message and you check it, it will be marked as ‘read’ and blow your cover. Don’t say we didn’t warn you.

Read: Facebook now has 1.39bn active users (and it’s rolling in cash) >

Read: How Apple just had its biggest few months EVER >

About the author:

Quinton O'Reilly

Read next:

COMMENTS (4)