#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 10°C Saturday 15 May 2021

Six garda stations, including Stepaside, to reopen following report

Minister for Transport Shane Ross has previously defended the government decision to reopen Stepaside Garda Station.

Image: Sam Boal via RollingNews,ie

SIX GARDA STATIONS, including Stepaside station in Dublin, are to reopen.

A garda report says re-opening the stations on a pilot basis gives them a good geographical spread of extra coverage across the country.

The stations that will be reopened are:

  • Stepaside, Dublin
  • Rush, Dublin
  • Leighlinbridge, Carlow
  • Donard, Wicklow
  • Bawnboy, Cavan
  • Ballinspittle, Cork

Some 139 garda stations were closed between 2012 and 2013.

It comes following a commitment in the Programme for Government to establish a pilot scheme to reopen six of the stations, a report was commissioned as a result.

The acting Garda Commissioner has submitted his final report in relation to the pilot scheme and has written to the Office of Public Works to progress the reopening.

The cabinet was briefed on the decision this morning by Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan.

Minister for Transport Shane Ross has previously defended the government decision to reopen Stepaside Garda Station.

He has insisted that it’s not “stroke politics” even though the station is in his own constituency, as he had no input into the report.

Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Josepha Madigan says the community can now look forward to a safer New Year.

This is a Christmas wish come true for the area and means the whole community can look forward to a safer New Year with a dedicated garda presence back on our streets.

“This is a major victory for local residents who have worked so hard on this issue for so long.”

Read: Shane Ross: Decision to reopen Stepaside Garda Station was not ‘stroke politics’>

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel