We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Cillian Murphy, Barry Keoghan and Andrew Scott Alamy Stock Photo
Awards Season

Cillian Murphy, Andrew Scott and Barry Keoghan among nominees for this year's IFTA awards

The Academy has announced the nominees for this year’s awards in a list that features critically acclaimed films and TV dramas.

CILLIAN MURPHY, ANDREW Scott and Barry Keoghan are among the nominations for Best Lead Actor at the Irish Film and TV Academy’s (IFTA) 2024 awards.

The Academy has announced the nominees for this year’s awards in a list that features a wide range of high-profile and critically acclaimed films and television dramas.

The Academy’s contenders for Best Film are Double Blind, Flora and Son, Lies We Tell, Lola, That They May Face The Rising Sun and Verdigris. 

Kin, Blue Lights, Hidden Assets, Northern Lights, Obituary and The Woman in the Wall are all nominated for Best Drama. 

The nomations for Best Lead Actor in Film are: 

  • Andrew Scott – All Of Us Strangers
  • David Wilmot – Lies We Tell
  • Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer
  • Barry Keoghan – Saltburn
  • Barry Ward – That They May Face The Rising Sun
  • Pierce Brosnan – The Last Rifleman

The nomations for Best Lead Actress in Film are: 

  • Jessie Buckley – Fingernails
  • Eve Hewson – Flora and Son
  • Saoirse Ronan – Foe
  • Agnes O’Casey – Lies We Tell
  • Bríd Brennan – My Sailor, My Love
  • Geraldine McAlinden – Verdigris

Áine Moriarty, Academy CEO, said there is an”incredible showcase” of nominees shortlisted this year.

“Irish talents are proving themselves to be amongst the best in the world, both in front and behind the camera, delivering such high standards of acting, filmmaking, and storytelling,” Moriarty said.

“We in the Irish Academy, are proud to showcase this industry’s great work and to reward their achievements. Congratulations to all the nominees, so well deserved.”

Award winners will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday, 20 April at the Dublin Royal Convention Centre. The awards will be hosted by Emmy-winning broadcaster Baz Ashmawy. 

Stephen Rea will be presented with the Irish Academy Award for his Lifetime Achievement and for his contribution to the Irish and international screen industry. 

The full list of categories and nominations is available on the Academy’s website.

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel