Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now

Fontaines DC and Denise Chaila among artists shortlisted for Choice Music album of the year prize

Ten artists are included in the shortlist and the winner will be announced in March.

Albums shortlisted for the award.
Albums shortlisted for the award.
Image: RTÉ

RTÉ HAS ANNOUNCED the shortlist for the Choice Music Prize for Irish Album of the Year featuring a host of albums from Irish artists. 

Ten artists made the shortlist announced today on 2FM.

The shortlist is:

  • Bitch Falcon – Staring at Clocks 
  • Denise Chaila – Go Bravely 
  • Fontaines DC – A Hero’s Death  
  • JyellowL – 2020 DIvision 
  • Róisín Murphy – Róisín Machine 
  • Nealo – All The Leaves Are Falling  
  • Pillow Queens – In Waiting 
  • Ailbhe Reddy – Personal History 
  • Niamh Regan – Hemet 
  • Silverbacks – Fad

The winner will be announced on 2FM on 4 March between 12pm and 3pm. The prize is in association with Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). 

Tracy Clifford Show on the day of the announcement in March will feature live performances from some of the shortlisted artists. Further details on this will be released soon, RTÉ said.

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

The winner will receive a €10,000 prize fund provided by the IMRO and IRMA.

All those on the shortlist will also receive an award.  

This is the 16th annual Choice Music Prize. The album of the year award winner is chosen by a panel of 11 people involved in the Irish music industry 

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel