Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now

Jape, Lisa Hannigan and Bell X1 among nominees for Choice Music Prize

Check out the full list of nominees here. Who’s your money on?

Two Door Cinema Club celebrate winning the 2011 Choice Music Prize
Two Door Cinema Club celebrate winning the 2011 Choice Music Prize
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

LISA HANNIGAN, JAPE, and Bell X1 have all been nominated for the Meteor Choice Music Prize for the Irish album of the year.

The shortlist, which was announced this afternoon, includes And So I Watch You From Afar, Cashier No 9 and Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands.

Japanese Popstars, Pugwash, Tieranniesaur and We Cut Corners have also made the shortlist for the prize, which has been awarded annually since 2005.

Paddy Power have installed Belfast band Cashier No 9 the favourites to win the prize – closely followed by ASIWYFA and Tieranniesaur.

The prize, which was set up by Irish Times music journalist Jim Carroll and industry manager Dave Reid, is designed to highlight and promote the best of Irish music. The winning act receives €10,000.

The shortlist was drawn up by a panel of people who work in the Irish music industry, including Nadine O’Regan of RTE/Phantom FM, Stuart Clark of Hot Press and Lauren Murphy of the Irish Times.

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

The ceremony and concert will take place in the Olympia Theatre in Dublin on Thursday 8 March. Tickets will go on sale from Friday.

The full list of nominees:

  • Bell X1 – Bloodless Coup
  • ASIWYFA – Gangs
  • Cashier No 9 – To The Death of Fun
  • Lisa Hannigan – Passenger
  • Japanese Popstars – Controlling Your Allegiance
  • Jape – Ocean of Frequency
  • Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Golden Syrup
  • Pugwash – The Olympus Sound
  • Tieranniesaur – Tieranniesaur
  • We Cut Corners – Today I Realised I Could Go Home Backwards

Choice Music Prize winners to donate their €10,000 award to charity >

Read next: