We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Ireland wing Mack Hansen. Billy Stickland/INPHO

Hansen and Lowe included in Ireland World Cup team to face All Blacks

However, second row James Ryan will miss the World Cup quarter-final.

IRELAND HEAD COACH Andy Farrell has been able to name Mack Hansen and James Lowe in his starting team for Saturday’s World Cup quarter-final against New Zealand in Paris [KO 8pm Irish time, Virgin Media].

Hansen and Lowe had been doubts after suffering a calf issue and an eye injury, respectively, in last weekend’s pool-stage win over Scotland.

But Farrell has named both men in his unchanged starting XV to face the All Blacks in what is a huge boost for Ireland given how important Hansen and Lowe have become for this team. 

However, Ireland have been dealt an injury blow with confirmation that second row James Ryan, who came off the bench against Scotland, has been ruled out with his wrist issue.

22-year-old Joe McCarthy, who has only four Ireland caps so far, comes into the matchday 23 in place of Ryan, while Jimmy O’Brien is included in the number 23 shirt and will make his first appearance of this World Cup.

Ireland (v New Zealand):

  • 15. Hugo Keenan
  • 14. Mack Hansen
  • 13. Garry Ringrose
  • 12. Bundee Aki
  • 11. James Lowe
  • 10. Johnny Sexton (captain)
  • 9. Jamison Gibson-Park
  • 1. Andrew Porter
  • 2. Dan Sheehan
  • 3. Tadhg Furlong
  • 4. Tadhg Beirne
  • 5. Iain Henderson
  • 6. Peter O’Mahony
  • 7. Josh van der Flier
  • 8. Caelan Doris


  • 16. Rónan Kelleher
  • 17. Dave Kilcoyne
  • 18. Finlay Bealham
  • 19. Joe McCarthy
  • 20. Jack Conan
  • 21. Conor Murray
  • 22. Jack Crowley
  • 23. Jimmy O’Brien

Referee: Wayne Barnes [RFU].

Written by Murray Kinsella and posted on

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel