We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Sally Rooney is nominated for her second novel Normal People. Conway Communications

Three Irish authors have made the longlist for the Man Booker Prize

Sally Rooney, Donal Ryan and Anna Burns will all compete for the award.

THREE IRISH AUTHORS have been named among the 13-person longlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize.

Sally Rooney’s novel Normal People, Donal Ryan’s From A Low and Quiet Sea and Anna Burns’ Milkman will all be in consideration for one of the world’s foremost literary prizes.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, is open to writers of any nationality writing in English and published in the UK and Ireland.

This is the first year that novels published in Ireland are eligible for the prize, following a change in rules announced at the start of 2018 of this year. This year’s longlist was chosen from a record 171 submissions.

As well as the publicity and global sales bump that goes with winning and being nominated, the winner also receives a £50,000 prize.

Normal People is Dubliner Sally Rooney’s second novel after her critically acclaimed first novel Conversations with Friends. Rooney is also editor of Irish literary magazine The Stinging Fly.

From a Low and Quiet Sea is Donal Ryan’s fifth novel and the Tipperary man was previously nominated for the Booker Prize in 2013 for The Spinning Heart.

Milkman is the third novel for Belfast woman Anna Burns, who previously won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize.

Irish authors Anne Enright and Roddy Doyle are both previous Irish winners of the Man Booker. Other winners include Salman Rushdie, Ian McEwan to Hilary Mantel.

For the first time in the history of the prize, a graphic novel has made the longlist in the form of Nick Drnaso’s Sabrina.

The full list is:

Belinda Bauer (UK) – Snap

Anna Burns (Ireland/UK) – Milkman

Nick Drnaso (USA) -Sabrina

Esi Edugyan (Canada) – Washington Black

Guy Gunaratne (UK) – In Our Mad And Furious City

Daisy Johnson (UK) – Everything Under

Rachel Kushner (USA) – The Mars Room

Sophie Mackintosh (UK) – The Water Cure

Michael Ondaatje (Canada) – Warlight

Richard Powers (USA) – The Overstory

Robin Robertson (UK) – The Long Take

Sally Rooney (Ireland) – Normal People

Donal Ryan (Ireland) – From A Low And Quiet Sea

The shortlist of books will be announced on 20 September and the winner will be announced on 16 October.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel