We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Michael D Higgins photographed last month.

President Michael D Higgins signs mandatory quarantine legislation into law

The law was passed in the Dáil and Seanad.

LAST UPDATE | 7 Mar 2021

PRESIDENT MICHAEL D Higgins has signed into law the legislation to bring in mandatory quarantine in a designated facility for certain passengers entering the country. 

The Health (Amendment) Bill 2021 was brought forward to the Dáil by the Health Minister Stephen Donnelly last month. 

It was passed in both the Dáil and the Seanad and has now been signed into law by the president. 

The Bill provides for a system of mandatory quarantine at designated facilities. 

People arriving into Ireland from certain countries will have to stay at designated hotels for up to 14 days.

Welcoming the news today, Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said the operationalisation of the quarantine facilities “is being advanced on a cross-departmental basis as a matter of priority”. 

The Department of Health is leading the implementation process, supported by a number of Departments and agencies including Foreign Affairs, Transport, Justice, Public Expenditure and Reform, Children, the Defence Forces, as well as via input from the private sector.

“The next step in this process is to finalise and sign a contract with a service provider. I anticipate this will happen shortly”, said Minister Donnelly.

The government is continuing to advise against all non-essential international travel and a range of statutory measures are in place to reinforce this policy.

Passengers travelling to Ireland from certain designated states must complete a full 14-day quarantine period.

This applies to all passengers from designated states, regardless of nationality and the aim of this measure is to protect the population from challenges posed by new variants of concern. A list of designated states is available here.

A National Oversight Group for Variants of Concern has been established to monitor and address the challenges posed by VOC.

The group provides advice to the Chief Medical Officer, who in turn advises the Minister for Health on countries to be specified as designated states.

The list of designated states is subject to continuing review.

With reporting by Orla Dwyer

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel