You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
Penalty Points

'Shatter feels that he is above the law and should resign' - Wallace

Mick Wallace was named by Alan Shatter as having been cautioned by gardaí for using his phone while driving – an act that has been ruled as having broke the law.

WEXFORD TD MICK Wallace has called on Alan Shatter to resign.

Wallace says that the Data Protection Commissioner’s finding that Shatter broke the law by revealing that he had been cautioned by gardaí should see the Justice Minister step down.

Wallace said that he has previously called for Shatter’s resignation, and that nothing has changed.

I’ve said it before now, in the last 18 months, the Minister has not dealt well with malpractice and corruption in the force.

Wallace says that Shatter, who has not responded to the release of the finding, is selective in his use of legislation and dismisses the challenges of his office.

He said that Shatter “sees himself as above the law”.

Wallace said that Shatter had been given information by then Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan and had used it ‘for his own purposes’.

The Wexford Deputy said that this was an “unhealthy situation”.

However, Wallace said that he does not expect Shatter to step down, nor does he expect the Taoiseach and Tánaiste to turn their backs on Shatter.

“They would support him no matter what he did.”

Wallace said that it wasn’t a case of his own vindication, it was a matter of trust in the office.

It’s not a case of me being vindicated, what Minister Shatter did to me on Primetime isn’t the most important thing, the most important thing is that he abused his office.

Read: Taoiseach and Tánaiste have confidence in Shatter despite Data Commissioner finding