We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

well done

17-year-old Malala Yousafzai has won the Nobel Peace Prize

The teenager was the joint winner of the award along with Kailash Satyarthi of India.

THE NOBEL PEACE Prize has been awarded to Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan and Kailash Satyarthi of India.

The Nobel committee said the the two were given the award “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education”.

17-year-old Malala, who was shot by the Taliban and has fought for education rights for children, is the youngest ever winner of the prize. The average age of Nobel Peace Laureates is 61; prior to this, the youngest winner was 32 years old.

Malala became a global ambassador for the right of all children to go to school and get an education after being shot at point-blank range by the Pakistani Taliban in 2012 for speaking out against them.

Kailash Satyarthi, 60, was praised by the committee for heading “peaceful demonstrations focusing on grave exploitation of children for financial gain”.

There were 278 nominations for the prize this year – the highest number ever – including 47 organisations.

A total of 101 individuals and 25 organisations have won the prize since it was first handed out in 1901.

The prize is awarded by a committee of five people chosen by the Norwegian parliament and is given to “the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses”.

Nobel Prize / YouTube

Winners from the past decade: 

2013: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

2012: European Union

2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman

2010: Liu Xiaobo

2009: Barack Obama

2008: Martti Ahtisaari

2007: Al Gore and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

2006: Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank

2005: International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and Mohamed El Baradei

2004: Wangari Muta Maathai

Read: “I don’t want to be the girl who was shot by the Taliban – I want to be the girl who fought for the rights of every child” > 

Read: French writer Patrick Modiano has won the Nobel Prize for Literature > 

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.