This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 13 °C Sunday 5 July, 2020

French writer Patrick Modiano has won the Nobel Prize for Literature

The award is the biggest prize in literature and is worth €877,000.

THE NOBEL PRIZE for Literature has been awarded to French writer Patrick Modiano.

The biggest prize in literature, worth eight million kronor (€877,000), was announced at a ceremony in Sweden this afternoon.

The Swedish Academy, which hands out the award, said Modiano had won “for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation”.

Modiano’s works centre on topics such as memory, oblivion, identity and guilt, the Academy said.

The 69-year-old is the 11th Nobel Laureate to come from France.

The prize is awarded to the person who produced “the most outstanding work in an ideal direction” in the field of literature.

The Swedish Academy, which hands out the award, said it had received 210 nominations for this year’s prize.

Source: Nobel Prize/YouTube

Winners from the past decade: 

2013: Alice Munro

2012: Mo Yan

2011: Tomas Tranströmer

2010: Mario Vargas Llosa

2009: Herta Müller

2008: Jean-Marie Gustave le Clézio

2007: Doris Lessin

2006: Orhan Pamuk

2005: Harold Pinter

2004: Elfriede Jelinek

Read: UCC to give honorary degree to newly-crowned Nobel prize winner > 

Read: Japanese researchers win Nobel for inventing the ‘revolutionary’ LED lamp > 

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next: