We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Arlene Foster's DUP could be in for a long night. Brian Lawless/PA Wire/PA Images

Here's a list of MPs elected in Northern Ireland

The latest results from the 18 constituencies in the North.

LAST UPDATE | 13 Dec 2019

ALL OF THE North’s constituencies have declared their results – and for the first time there are now more nationalist and republican MPs than unionist MPs. 

There are eight unionist MPs, nine nationalist MPs and one alliance MP. 

Here’s how the breakdown looks:

Belfast East

The DUP’s Gavin Robinson, the party’s youngest MP, defeated Alliance Party leader Naomi Long. Robinson received 20,874 votes to Long’s 19,055. 

Belfast North

Sinn Féin’s John Finucane unseated the DUP’s Nigel Dodds in a major election shock. Finucane defeated Dodds by 23,078 votes to 21,135 – a larger gap than expected. 

general-election-2019 John Finucane speaking after his election in Belfast. Liam McBurney / PA Liam McBurney / PA / PA

Belfast South

The SDLP’s Claire Hanna defeated the DUP’s Emma Little Pengelly by 15,401 votes. The DUP took the seat with a 2,000-vote majority at the last election in 2017. 

Belfast West

Sinn Féin’s Paul Maskey has been comfortably re-elected with nearly 21,000 votes. 

East Antrim

The DUP’s Sammy Wilson was re-elected, defeating the Alliance Party by 6,000 votes. The Alliance’s Danny Donnelly received 10,165 votes. 

East Derry

Gregory Campbell was re-elected in East Derry for the DUP with 9,607 votes – a small increase on 2017. 

Fermanagh and South Tyrone

Sinn Féin’s Michelle Gildernew won in what was widely seen as a two-horse race between her and Tom Elliott of the Ulster Unionists. In total there were five candidates contesting the election in this area.


SDLP leader Colum Eastwood won back Foyle for the party, defeating Sinn Féin’s Elisha McCallion by 17,110 votes – a huge increase on the party’s vote share in 2017. 

Lagan Valley

The DUP’s Jeffrey Donaldson was re-elected in Lagan Valley, but on a lower share of the vote. He only defeated the Alliance’s Sorcha Eastwood by 6,500 votes, a drop from nearly 20,000 votes in 2017. 

Mid Ulster

Francie Molloy has been re-elected to Mid Ulster for Sinn Féin with over 20,000 votes. 

Newry and Armagh

Mickey Brady for Sinn Féin was re-elected, albeit with a decreased majority – he defeated the DUP’s William Irwin by over 9,000 votes. 

North Antrim

The DUP’s Ian Paisley was re-elected, defeating the UUP’s Robin Swann by over 12,000 votes. 

North Down

The Alliance Party’s Stephen Farry has been elected. He will replace independent unionist and Remain supporter Lady Sylvia Hermon, who stepped down unexpectedly before the election. 

general-election-2019 The Alliance Party's Stephen Farry was elected in North Down. Michael Cooper / PA Wire/PA Images Michael Cooper / PA Wire/PA Images / PA Wire/PA Images

South Antrim

Paul Girvan retained his DUP seat, winning 15,000 votes. The UUP candidate received around 12,500 votes. 

South Down

Sinn Féin’s Chris Hazzard has been re-elected with 16,137 votes. Hazzard defeated the SDLP candidate by 1,620 votes. 


The DUP’s Jim Shannon has retained his seat, albeit with a decreased majority compared to the 2017 election. 

Upper Bann

Carla Lockhart has won in Upper Ban for the DUP. The party’s former MP David Simpson had announced he wouldn’t be contesting this election. She defeated Sinn Féin’s John O’Dowd by 8,210 votes – an increase on the party’s vote in 2017. 

West Tyrone

Órfhlaith Begley has been re-elected for Sinn Féin. In the safe seat for the party, Begley received over 16,000 votes – her nearest rival, the DUP’s Thomas Buchanan, received 9,066 votes. 

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel