You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

SPONSORED

QUIZ: How Sensible Are You?

See sense and take five minutes to take this quiz.

Shutterstock Shutterstock

ARE YOU THE sensible sort? The funny thing about common sense is that it really isn’t that common.

All the life lessons our parents drummed into us, and you’d think some would stick.

Let’s find out how sensible you really are…

1. You're running super late for work and need a shower - but have no time to dry your hair. Would you leave the house with your hair wet?
Absolutely not, under no circumstances
When needs must

I'd stick on a hat and run out the door
Eh of course, be grand
2. You've gotten a pay rise. Congrats! What's your next move?
Pretend I never got it and set up a direct debit
Treat myself and the other half

Buy that new laptop I've been lusting after
Make a plan to save
3. Are you an early bird or a night owl?
I burn the midnight oil
I'm an early riser
4. Do you ever leave your coat on for a little while by accident when you get home?
Never, wouldn't feel the benefit then
What? I dunno! Maybe sometimes
5. How would your teachers have described you in school?
A bit of a chatterbox
Harmless

Teacher's pet, I'm afraid
Bold
6. Pick a comedian.
Deirdre O'Kane
YouTube
Dylan Moran

YouTube
Ross Noble
YouTube
Tim Minchin
7. And finally... Pick a subculture style from the past few decades.

Greaser
Suited and booted
Answer all the questions to see your result!
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You are... Super sensible!
You always know just the right thing to do, don't you? You're almost as adept at life as our mammies. Fair play to you. Keep doing your thing.
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You are... So-so sensible!
You have your moments, but could be a little more on the straight and narrow. Sure in fairness who couldn't? Just try and channel your inner mammy and the sensibleness is sure to follow.
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
Ah here...
Did you not listen to a single thing your mother told you growing up? Leaving the house with hair wet and the immersion on. Go on, try a bit harder. It's worth it.
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You're... Quite sensible indeed!
You definitely learnt a thing or two from your parents. You probably have WD40 in the cupboard and the immersion on a strict timer. Fair play.
Share your result:

Whether you’re normally the sensible sort or not, getting a certified Registered Electrical Contractor to carry out electrical work in your home is the right thing to do. There are times in life when it doesn’t pay to bend the rules – and electrical safety in your home is one of them. It is illegal for anyone other than an REC to carry out electrical work in your home or to portray themselves as being registered. Find out more at safeelectric.ie.

Now read: 7 simple ways to make your home a lot safer>