Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Saturday 23 September 2023 Dublin: 15°C
# Abortion vote
Here are the 15 senators who opposed the abortion legislation
There was opposition from Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and independent senators as the Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill passed second stage in the upper house today.

THE SEANAD HAS just passed its first vote on the abortion legislation by 41 votes to 15 this afternoon.

The Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill was opposed by the majority of Fianna Fáil senators, two Fine Gael senators and a number of independents.

Here is who voted against the legislation by supporting an amendment from Fidelma Healy-Eames.

Ten of the 14 Fianna Fáil senators opposed the bill including:

  1. Labhrás Ó Murchú
  2. Brian Ó Domhnaill
  3. Marc MacSharry
  4. Paschal Mooney
  5. Terry Leyden
  6. Mark Daly
  7. Thomas Byrne
  8. Denis O’Donovan
  9. Diarmuid Wilson
  10. Jim Walsh

Three independent senators opposed the bill including:

  • Mary Ann O’Brien
  • Feargal Quinn
  • Rónán Mullen

Two Fine Gael senators opposed the bill including:

  • Paul Bradford
  • Fidelma Healy-Eames

Two senators abstained or were absent for the vote including independent senator David Norris and James Heffernan, the Labour party senator who is outside the whip.

Pic: Here’s how the Seanad voted on the abortion legislation

Fianna Fáil senator: ‘I oppose this legislation because it is anti-women’

‘With a heavy heart’: Fine Gael senator confirms she won’t support abortion bill

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.