We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Shutterstock/Mariyana M

​​Smoky coal ban extended to all towns with populations of over 10,000 people

The new ban kicks in on 1 September.

CLIMATE ACTION MINISTER Eamon Ryan has today signed regulations which have extended the smoky coal ban to all towns with populations over 10,000 people. 

From 1 September, the burning, sale and marketing of smoky coal will be prohibited in thirteen additional areas across the country. 

The new areas are: 

  • Cavan Town
  • Carrigtwohill, Cobh, Midleton and Mallow in Cork
  • Killarney, Kerry
  • Longford Town
  • Castlebar and Ballina in Mayo
  • Ashbourne, Meath
  • Tullamore, Offaly
  • Tramore, Waterford
  • Enniscorthy, Wexford

Ryan said this measure will reduce air pollution and promote public health.

“The main health effects of air pollution include stroke, heart disease, lung cancer, and both chronic and acute respiratory diseases, including asthma. Fine particulate matter, the pollutant of most concern from domestic solid fuel burning is linked to a range of diseases. Banning smoky coal saves lives and improves health outcomes,” he added.

An interactive online map, to illustrate both the existing Low Smoke Zones and the new ones that will be in effect from 1 September is available here. The map includes an Eircode search facility, whereby a user can enter the Eircode of any particular premises, to see whether or not it falls within a low smoke zone.

Local authorities are responsible for the enforcement of the smoky coal ban within their areas and have a range of powers available to them, including the option to issue an on the spot fine with a penalty range of €250 to €1000.

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel