We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
Promissory notes

Supreme Court rejects TDs application to join promissory note challenge

Five Deputies applied to join businessman David Hall’s challenge to the payment of promissory notes, saying it was in the public interest for the case to go ahead.

THE SUPREME COURT has rejected an application by five TDs to join businessman David Hall in his challenge against the Government’s payment of promissory notes in favour of the former Anglo Irish Bank and other institutions.

Deputies Clare Daly, Luke Flanagan, Joan Collins, Mick Wallace and Catherine Murphy all applied to join the challenge after Hall was told he had no legal standing to take the case as he is not TD. The five TDs declared it was in the public interest for them to join.

Today, the court heard that a €25m payment is to be made to EBS in June, RTÉ News reports.

However, the three-judge Supreme court ruled that there was no basis for the deputies to be joined to the appeal.

The ruling does not prevent the five TDs from mounting their own legal challenge to the payments.

Read: Supreme Court adjourns promissory note appeal as TDs seek to join case

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.