Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Thursday 7 December 2023 Dublin: 9°C

These are the 31 TDs who voted against the abortion bill

There was some opposition to the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill, but it gathered enough votes to pass the final vote in the Dáil.

THE LANDMARK BILL that will allow for abortion in Ireland in limited circumstances passed the final Dáil vote this evening.

The Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill passed a Dáil vote this evening by 127 t0 31 meaning it will now progress to the Seanad.

The bill was the subject of intense debate over the past number of months, and TDs tabled a total of 165 amendments to the document that were discussed today.

Fianna Fáil was the only party where members were allowed a free vote on the issue, and 14 members voted against the bill:

  1. Michael McGrath (Cork South Central)
  2. John McGuinness (Carlow-Kilkenny)
  3. Seamus Kirk (Louth)
  4. Dara Calleary (Mayo)
  5. John Browne (Wexford)
  6. Éamon Ó Cuiv (Galway West)
  7. Charlie McConalogue (Donegal North East),
  8. Brendan Smith (Cavan Monaghan)
  9. Sean Ó Fearghail (Kildare South)
  10. Willie O’Dea (Limerick)
  11. Robert Troy (Longford-Westmeath)
  12. Michael Kitt (Galway East)
  13. Seán Fleming (Laois Offaly)
  14. Michael Moynihan (Cork North-West)

In total, five Fine Gael TDs voted against the change in legislation:

  • Lucinda Creighton (Dublin South-East)
  • Brian Walsh (Galway West),
  • Peter Mathews (Dublin South),
  • Billy Timmins (Wicklow)
  • Terence Flanagan (Dublin North-East)

One Sinn Féin member voted against the bill:

  • Peadar Tóibín (Meath West)

Finally, eleven independents opposed the bill:

  • Michael Healy-Rae (Kerry South)
  • Michael Lowry (Tipperary North)
  • Mattie McGrath (Tipperary South)
  • Colm Keaveney (Galway East)
  • Denis Naughten (Roscommon-South Leitrim)
  • Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Roscommon-South Leitrim)
  • Clare Daly (Dublin North)
  • Joan Collins TD (Dublin South Central)
  • Richard Boyd Barrett (Dún Laoghaire)
  • Joe Higgins (Dublin West)
  • Mick Wallace (Wexford)

Tommy Broughan, Tom Fleming and Róisín Shortall abstained from the vote. Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore is in the US, and Fine Gael’s Nicky McFadden and independents Noel Grealish and Maureen O’Sullivan were absent for the vote.

- Additional reporting by Michelle Hennessy.

Read: Abortion bill passes final Dáil vote>
Read: Róisín Shortall has pop at “arrogant” Government>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.