We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

The Upper Room

Over a year after the Seanad referendum, there will be reforms

A working group will report back to the government by March.

THE TAOISEACH HAS announced the establishment of a working group on Seanad reform.

The move comes over a year after the Irish public voted to retain the upper house.

The group will be chaired by former senator Dr Maurice Manning and will focus on possible reforms of the Seanad Electoral system within the existing constitutional parameters.

Manning will be joined by:

  • former minister and senator Mary O’Rourke
  • former senator Pat Magner
  • former Senator, former Northern Ireland Ombudsman and former Chairman of the National Forum on Europe Maurice Hayes 
  • former Chairman of the Constitutional Convention Tom Arnold
  • Dr Mary C Murphy of UCC
  • and commentator and public policy author Dr Elaine Byrne 

The working group will also explore ways of reforming Seanad Éireann generally and the manner in which it carries out its business.

The Working Group will examine submissions and proposals for reform which have already been made and will also look at the role and powers of the Seanad.

It will report back to the government before March.

Read: David Norris condemns ‘knickers shops and ignorant buildings’ in Dublin city

Read: The Oireachtas really wants you to know it broadcasts the Dáil on TV

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.