You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

sponsored by the42.ie

QUIZ: How well do you remember the last 5 years on The42.ie?

Help us celebrate our 5th birthday with a month of craic and prizes.

WELCOME TO THE second in our series of birthday games.

To celebrate Journal Media turning 5, we’ve created a very special set of quizzes for you guys in the media agencies to enjoy, each one based off one of our three titles. Last week, it was DailyEdge.ie‘s turn.

This week, we turn our attention to The42.ie, with TheJournal.ie coming up next.

Each quiz means the chance to win a great prize. Last week, it was a show of your choice at 3 Arena, dinner for 2 with wine, access to Premium Club after the show.

And the winner is – drumroll please…

Dave Thompson from Starcom.

popin

Hurray, well done Dave!

Now on to The42.ie - our sports publication, aimed at the all-round sports fan, tracking the stories on and off the pitch that people are talking about.

What could I win this time?

A trip for 2 to Cheltenham for the Gold Cup – including a day in Chester, 2 nights hotel in Birmingham, full days racing Gold Cup Day, Friday March 18th.

How do I enter?

Simply:

• Complete the quiz below
  • Tweet your result with the button below
  • Entries close at 5pm today

Anything else?

Well, now that you ask… There’s one big prize in the works for when everyone has completed all three publication quizzes. The prize might involve the winner lounging on a sunny beach in the Canaries in the middle of our bleak winter… So stay tuned.

Good luck!

1. We’ve liveblogged hundreds of events from Vegas to Rio to Thurles. What’s been our most popular minute-by-minute report?
Ireland v Estonia, Euro 2012 play-off, second leg
Kilkenny v Tipperary, All-Ireland final 2013

Kerry v Mayo in Limerick, All-Ireland SFC semi-final replay 2014
Conor McGregor v Chad Mendes
2. There’s nothing like a Giovanni Trapattoni press conference we learned over the course of his Ireland tenure. Who was his interpreter usually?
Manuela Spinelli
Marco Tardelli

Liam Brady
Roy Keane
3. In which London venue did Katie Taylor win her Olympic gold medal in 2012?
Wembley
The Ally Pally

The Olympic Stadium
The ExCel
4. We changed our name in January 2015. What does The42 refer to?
The meaning of life
The opening up of Croke Park thanks to the relaxation of Rule 42

The number of journalists who put the site together every day
It just looks good on hoodies
5. Simon Zebo and Paddy Jackson broke the internet during one Ireland tour with their now-famous lip-snycing rapping video from camp. Which two rappers were they impersonating?
Jay-Z and Kanye
Big Boi and Andre 3000

Tupac and Biggie
Ice Cube and Dre
6. Henry Shefflin retired after winning another All-Ireland in 2014. How many Celtic Crosses does the Kilkenny icon have?

7. Apart from competitions, the story that provoked the most debate on our site was from this year’s GAA championship. What was the topic?
Another Joe Brolly rant
Dublin star Diarmuid Connolly getting his red card rescinded

Cork losing to Kildare
Joe Canning’s ridiculous goal against Kilkenny in the Leinster championship
8. Brian O’Driscoll bowed out for Ireland with a Six Nations title, fittingly. Where was his dramatic swansong?
London
Paris

Cardiff
Dublin
9. Robbie Keane has now scored a remarkable 67 international goals, bringing him to within one of which legendary footballer?
Gerd Muller
Ferenc Puskas

Bobby Charlton
Romario
10. Who is the only fighter to go the distance with Conor McGregor in the UFC so far?
Jose Aldo
Ronda Rousey

Max Holloway
Chad Mendes
11. Which Booker Prize winner co-wrote Roy Keane's much-publicised second autobiography?
John Banville
Roddy Doyle

Anne Enright
Ian McEwan
12. We've had some memorable All-Ireland winning speeches over the years. Which victorious skipper added another with his 'See Yiz In Coppers' rallying call?
Seán Óg Ó hAilpín
Joey Holden

Bryan Cullen
Colm Cooper
13. Rory McIlroy was engaged to which tennis ace?
Serena Williams
Maria Sharapova

Petra Kvitova
Caroline Wozniacki
14. Who scored the winning goal in the 2014 World Cup final?
Mario Gotze
Thomas Muller

Lionel Messi
James Rodriguez
15. John Giles and Eamon Dunphy spent one memorable afternoon in the office with us last summer to talk football and play foosball. Which superstar did Dunphy memorably label a spoofer?
Diego Maradona
Leo Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo
Pele
Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Woo hoo! You got Brian Cody
You're a trophy-winning machine. Pat yourself on the back.
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Hmm... You got Martin O'Neill,
You hoping for a play-off, is it?
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Uh oh. You got Eamon Dunphy
Ah here. Do you even know the players' names?
Share your result:

So, don’t forget to tweet your result in order to be in with a chance to win. If you don’t have Twitter, you can send your result to 5thbirthday@thejournal.ie. And stay tuned to play our TheJournal.ie quiz very soon!