Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Monday 4 December 2023 Dublin: 2°C
AP/Press Association Images
Fair play

Angela Merkel may be about to win an award in Tipperary

The Tipperary International Peace Award is given each year to recognise an individual’s humanitarian efforts.

THE SHORTLIST FOR the prestigious Tipperary International Peace Award has been announced.

The award is given each year to an individual as recognition for their humanitarian work – with it going to Ban Ki Moon last year.

Former recipients of the award include former South African President Nelson Mandela, US President Bill Clinton and Pakistani schoolgirl Malala Yousafzai.

The award comes with no cash prize and was started due to the county’s association with the song ‘A Long Way to Tipperary’, a war tune sung in the trenches by the British Army during World War One. 

Here is how the shortlist for this year is looking: 

  • Former leader of the DUP Peter Robinson
  • Former President of Israel Shimon Peres 
  • Former President of Ireland Mary Robinson 
  • German Chancellor Angela Merkel 
  • United States Secretary of State John Kerry 
  • Humanitarian, entrepreneur and adventurer Chris Catrambone and his wife Regina 

With the exception of the last entry, most of the names on the list will be familiar to the public.

Kenya Great Lakes Summit Ben Curtis Former Irish President Mary Robinson Ben Curtis

Chris and Regina Catrambone this year founded the Migrant Offshore Aid Station, which operates drone-supported search and rescue missions aimed at preventing the loss of life at sea.

To date they have saved nearly 12,000 people.

Former DUP leader Peter Robinson is being recognised for his contribution to the Northern Irish peace process, while Mary Robinson is nominated for her work as Irish President and more recent efforts with climate change.

Angela Merkel is on the shortlist for her efforts in dealing with the migrant crisis that has been ongoing across Europe this year.

John Kerry is recognised for his ongoing negotiating efforts in the Middle East.

Read: Aung San Suu Kyi’s party claims sweeping election victory – but she’s still banned from becoming president

Also: UPDATE: Angela Merkel’s day just got even worse

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.