Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Wednesday 22 March 2023 Dublin: 11°C
Press Association Dr James Reilly
Who are the HSE board members James Reilly will ask to resign?
The minister for health is expected to ask the 12 members of the HSE board to resign today but who are they?

THE MINISTER FOR health Dr James Reilly is expected to ask the board of the HSE to resign later today but who are the board members and what do they do?

The board cannot be sacked, hence Dr Reilly’s expected request for them to resign.

Although this has not been confirmed by the department of health as yet whilst the HSE has so far refused to comment until anything is official.

The HSE consists of 12 board members, including the chairman, the chief executive and 10 regular board members who receive an annual salary, reported in 2007 to be €17,500 per year.

Who are they?

The HSE board is chaired by Dr Frank Dolphin who was only appointed to the position last year. He is the chairman of Rigney Dolphin Ltd a businesses services company he founded in 1990.

Cathal Magee is the CEO of the HSE and was appointed in September of last year succeeding Brendan Drumm. He was previously managing director of Eircom. It was reported at the time that his salary would be €322,000

Eugene McCague, a solicitor and long time member of the board, wrote to the minister earlier this week to offer his resignation but the the department of health would not confirm whether or not they had accepted it.

Pat Farrell is chief executive of the Irish Banking Federation as well as being a member the International Financial Services Centre Group and sitting on the Executive Committee of the European Banking Federation.

Joe Mooney is a retired senior official of the Department of Finance and a former member of the Pensions Board.

Dr P Anne Scott is a professor of nursing and deputy president of Dublin City University. She previously held academic posts at universities in Scotland.

Niamh Brennan is a chartered accountant and chartered director and is currently professor of management at University College Dublin. She also chairs the Dublin Dockland’s Development Authority.

Dr Dermot Power is a consultant in geriatric medicine at the Mater hospital in Dublin and is a member of the British Geriatrics Society.

Sylda Langford is a former director general of the office of the minister for children and previously worked at the department of justice. She also chairs the Citizens Information Board.

Joe Lavelle is manager with Deloitte and a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland.

John Fitzgerald is the former Dublin City manager and spent most of his career working in local government. He is chairman of An Post and the Grangegorman Development Agency and two other regeneration agencies.

Nuala Hunt is a chartered accountant and a tax consultant. She is a former governor of the National Maternity hospital.

Your Voice
Readers Comments