TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

“57 black sacks” of household charge payments already received – Hogan

Minister Phil Hogan said many envelopes are sitting in Government offices waiting to be opened.

Phil Hogan outside Government Buildings
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE DEPARTMENT OF the Environment has already received so many household charge payments by post that staff have not had time to open them all, Minister Phil Hogan has said.

He said the cheques and money orders were sitting in “57 black sacks” waiting to be processed.

The Government expects a last-minute rush before Saturday’s deadline for the payment, Hogan said. It emerged yesterday that three quarters of homes are yet to pay the charge.

“In true Irish political tradition, they won’t pay until they have to pay,” he said. “And I respect that.”

But he insisted that a large number of people have already made the payment, saying:

There are 57 black sacks of envelopes that have arrived in the last couple of days.

Speaking on Newstalk Breakfast, Hogan said 83 per cent of payments so far had been made online. But he said the option for postal payment meant that even those without internet access are not put out.

“If people are able to write on an envelope, they’re able to pay the household charge,” he said.

However, he acknowledged that the flat tax of €100 was not equitable. “It’s not exactly fair when you have a flat rate tax. No flat rate tax is fair.”

The Government has said repeatedly that it intends to replace the household charge with a means-tested property tax in 2013 or 2014.

More: Gilmore admits ‘difficulties’ allowing household charge payment>

Read next:

Comments (171 Comments)

• ive sent my recept of 100e donation i donated to childrens hospital in crumlin to them wud rather a charity get my money dan the dirty goverment they get enuf of my wages every week

• That’s a real “fk you lot. I’m gonna win”. Hateful creature…..

• “57 black sacks”

Sounds like a money laundering operation.

• Black sacks, we all know politicians prefer brown envelopes

• 57 sacks of bullshite I’d say

• Not processed equates to not paid.
    What a mess.

• How are they so sure that they are payments And Not RETUNED FINAL PAYMENT NOTICES….. Watch this space. I bet that is what is in the 57 bags

• Bernadette thats a brilliant idea, I got my notice this morning so in the post it will go.

• as long as you don’t put your return address on it :) :)

• Please come out in your droves this Saturday. Bring the whole family. Gathering at 1pm at Garden of Remembrance. We shall then march onto Convention Centre where FG are holding their Árd Fheis.

We need to show these bully boys that we are not afraid. We are together on this. That we want our sovereignty back and that if they’re not capable that we’ll do it ourselves. It’s time to send a strong message. They should fear us – not us them.

• Phil hogan you better get your walking shoes on and call door to door to collect the money because your dreaming if you think everyone is going to pay at the last minute. Come on Ireland stick together and don’t pay your house tax.

• If you really believe this money is to support your local services give it directly to a local amenity! Do not trust this government with your hard earned cash. They are planning to pay €3.1bn on Saturday for a fake debt. That or pretend that they have negotiated some type of coup where they’re going to make the next generation pay. Don’t give them the satisfaction of thinking they’ve fooled ye again!

• Unfortunately the debt is not “fake”. It is unjust alright, but very very real that will make future budgets a nightmare from the middle down.

This country needs a leader that is not based on Kildare Street at the moment. Someone who will balance our budget and make tough, yet fair decisions. Someone needs to put a bit of imagination into taxes and not just create poll taxes such as this one. It’s pure laziness.

• Phil.
      Are you sure they are payments or did you nick someones rubbish?
      You must be desperate to be had for this kind of breaking news.

• Billy it is FAKE Billy. The greatest con of the last century was pretending to us that money existed on computer screens. This country was flooded with money that was printed without a gold backup.

We have to remember that all money is only a piece of paper symbolising a unit of energy. The money in your wallet is real if it was earned. We’re expected to pay international banks and bondholders their computer generated fake money debts with real cash? That cannot happen. The balance of nature will not allow it. It’s pure and simple.

• 57 black sacks of payments received Mmmmm what a professional outfit this government is, in the electronic age of paying for any goods and services our minister is measuring payments in black sacks.

I’m so embarressed by this but at least i’m happy in the knowledge that they wont find anything belonging to me in those sacks.

• Are BLACK SACKS an upgrade up from the Brown Envelopes that they are so used of receiving?

• He’s lining up his excuse for extending the deadline. He’ll say staff need more time to process all the postal payments they received. Just a face-saving exercise. I heard him on Prime Time last night claiming there were 1.2 million forms sitting on kitchen tables around the country and people just hadn’t gotten around to paying it yet. If, as he claims, over 80% of people are paying this online why would they bother with printing out the forms? We don’t all waste our printer ink. There’s no form on my table and the only post he’ll get from me is his Final Reminder notice posted back to him.

• Dave 28/03/12 #

Ok, say, and this is being generous – each bag has 1000 payments inside. That’s 57,000 payments, which added to the 350,000 already paid is just 407,000. Thats out of 1,600,000. Hardly a victory, now is it Phil??

• Those 57 sacks are in the wrong place . They’re meant to be in Berties office in Drumcondra .

• Tell Bertie and the boys one of the envelopes has their name on it. They’ll have them all sorted in jig time and save some time for the real staff.

• Black sacks full of lies

• They’d wanna be careful.. Knowing our government someone’s likely to put them out for collection in the morning..

• Whether you support the household charge or not, it has to be said the way the government has handled it is a complete farce. All it wouldve taken would have been a bit of sensitivity, some proper explanations and more time.
    What I really cant believe is that Hogan and his bunch of apes really thought the people would just smile and pay it, especially after all the shenanigans over the septic tank charge etc.
    Here’s a thought for you Big Phil – if you give people a little, they will give you back a lot. If you patronise and take take take you WILL get what you deserve

• You may use those black sacks when you are removing your belongings from office.

• Brian 28/03/12 #

Michael, apologies for my own comments. Unfortunately, I just can’t seem to say anything about Phil Hogan without calling him every name under the sun so I’ll just walk away now. All the best!

• That’s rubbish in those bags (and the story, don’t believe it for a min)

• Aarum 28/03/12 #

“Means tested” I’d love if they mean tested us on wages after all the feckin deductions they take from us

• Lies lies and more damn lies, anyone that gets lots of post knows An Post don’t have black sacks, they only deliver in grey or blue bags.

• The British rebelled against Maggie Thatcher against the unfair infamous Poll Tax and got it her to change her tune, nobody paid and they protested until they got a much fairer means- tested Tax.. If they could take on Maggie, People power speaks mightier than any government.. Can’t pay, won’t pay, march, march, march…

• Couldn’t agree more. I have been through it all before in Scotland with the Poll Tax. We stood our ground and it was abolished in favour of the Council Tax, which by the way is NOT a property tax. Is is paid by all households, renting or otherwise and covers local council services.

• John 28/03/12 #

This could be 57 sacks of ‘Household Charge’ leaflets being returned. I know I sent mine back. Don’t count your chickens phil.

• Laughing my arse off!!
    Breaking news from Phil hogan “everyone in the country has paid the household tax except for YOU! Quick run down and pay it now, I’ll time you 1,2,3,4………”

• Black sacks I have a few in the kitchen if he wants them he can have them, but he will not be getting any 100 euro.

• howzat 28/03/12 #

Eamonn how much do you pay Paye prsi universal charge vat rate tax on pension road tax capital gains tax capital acquisition tax tax allowances
    You’ll find overall your doing quite nicely while we continue to be robbed

• Would be interesting to see some kind of empirical research comparing the total tax liability per € earned across European countries (inclusive of all public deductions).

I bet Ireland would be quite high, along with Scandinavian countries. Difference being I have lived in Sweden and the public services/hospitals roads are all top of the range!

• could be the mountain of black bags from the cock up of privatisation of bin collection in Dublin recently.?? maybe he should have a little peek inside….

• Very apt that he claims the payments are in black plastic refuse sacks. Symbolic I suppose of the disregard the government have for the efforts of people to gather and pay this money and how it will be used.

• Aine 28/03/12 #

they need the money so much they havent bothered open the bags. This man is an arrogant creep. We would love to have money just thrown around in black sacks. Has he any idea what 100€ means to the average family in ireland? can he not even show that much respect? what an ass

• 57 black bags of money, un checked and un accounted in government hands? Its like The Mahon Tribunal Part Two “Return of the G0bshites” !

• What a way to run a country

Who elects these gobshites ?

why not look at some country that works and implement the good bits

Ireland has no hope until it gets proper leadership

• That’s a nice idea, but it requires getting rid of all the bad bits. There’s is no one in any position of power who has the balls to start that process, and most of the public have TV to watch or something.

• Quick question, is there a reason why the Dail is essentially empty right now??

http://www.thejournal.ie/day-2-of-the-dail-debate-on-the-mahon-report-398872-Mar2012/?new_comment=1#comment-326050

Is there some technical thing I’m missing?

Seems like it’s only 10% full at max…

• 57 bags of money, Christ Hogan why did you say that out loud, every fianna fail politician/chancer will be over there trying to get their cut

• And we have to rely on their ‘word’ to know the amount of people who have paid?! They are of course gonna add another few zeros to the number of actual payers – 57 black sacks my a**e!!!!

• namawinelake enquired as to the amount who had paid by increment and the response from the dept of environment was 0…..

‘Strange: seemingly not a single household is paying the charge by 4 x instalments – €36.3m recd, 363,000 households paid. Very strange. –namawinelake

They also asked how many exemptions were registered but they didn’t get an answer.

So I think…now I could be wrong….but I think there is a whole heap load of goverment spin being applied to this. ;)

• 0.57 sacks so.

• Personally I think they’re an early Christmas present from Santy, 57 bags of coal for being such a bowld boy!

• Actually.
    57 black bin bags full of envelopes each with €100 inside.
    I’d hazard a guess that to fill each black bag with simple envelopes you’d need say around 20,000 envelopes? (..number could be ridiculously far off…)

That’s 1.14 million houses that have paid by post (0.o)
    Which is €114,400,000.
    If only I could get my hands on those fictitious black bags! I’d be laughing!!

• do greyhound know there are 57 black sacks waiting to be picked up€???

• I find it offensive to the Irish people to suggest that “In true Irish political tradition, they won’t pay until they have to pay,”. This nation of people, he refers to, have been second to none when it comes to putting their hands in there pockets with regards to every charitable endeavor both at home and abroad.

• 57 black sacks ……. Oh right ! Like we believe you Hogan .

• Hi,
    Can someone tell me why we introduce taxs and charges under the heading of bringing us more in line with our european neighbours etc. I thought the entire reason for the european community was like any other community ie to bring people together. Not make them all the same. Surely we lose some of uniqueness by being the same as everyone else.
    Thanks for who ever bothers to read all of this.
    Ps on a side note isnt there a law prohibiting the double charging of a tax. ie paying fuel tax twice etc. So if you paid stamp duty (a tax) does that rule out the household charge for you. Or am I wrong?

• I would say they belong to the OAPs of this country who were bullied and frightened into paying this

• louise 28/03/12 #

57 black sacks full of abusive threatening letters more like!!

• paul 28/03/12 #

whats 57 black sacks containing envelopes and 100euro in each one.

• 57 bags my arse.

• Springsteen’s new song – 57 Black Sacks and nothing in ‘em

• Scarr 28/03/12 #

Ah Phil “57 bags full” Hogan. The minister who wants to tax you for buying a house, which is what it is if people in social welfare homes don’t have to pay, is the very same minister who REFUSED TO TAKE A PAYCUT, because his lifestyle wouldnt allow. What a role model.

• I’d like to resurrect Cha & Miah to debate this fiasco from the Banks of the river Lee.

Cha & Miah sorely missed on RTE since 1984 was it?

• paul 28/03/12 #

the answer is of course a politicians wet dream

• Here in Ireland I already pay refuse fees. I also pay for my own septic tank maintenance. I also pay for road tax on 2 cars you know the tax that was once meant to take care of Irish roads, foot paths, street lighting and traffic lights. I pay a hell of a lot more then what it costs in Germany. I also pay a fair bit of money for what is laughingly referred to as “free education” oh I as I’m lucky enough to be in a job I also pay tax as does my other half.

• They say 383 thousand have paid the figure they give then is 38.3 million so it seems anyone who is exempt have not registered,doesn’t make sense.I think there is a bit of spin going on.

• @Tim, Jonathan

That’s not a ‘smug puss’. That’s a face that is showing fear and also a hot temper. Look at his mouth! if you can force yourselves!!!!

That face tells me he’s lying. There could be 67 black bags at his feet, it still won’t make me pay for something that is so unjust. That face tells me what he’s thinking. “I’ve f . . ked up here, sh1t, I should have waited until after the referendum, now I have Kenny and Gilmore giving me a b . . . ocking over it”! “I’m going to have to resign over this, ah well, I’ll have a grand pension” not like the thick Irish that don’t like having to pay up”. (His own words this morning, albeit slightly but differently)

Stay strong.

• We, the dogs on the street, know that 75% will pay the charge by the end of the week. Cue Big Phil quoting us tomorrow – “The dogs on the street know that 75% will pay by the end of the week”. #faketweet. Note we will not be paying as we are on the street.

• Very apt that the sacks are black in colour, black is associated with death and this is the death of lower/middle income families.R. I. P.

• Stick together and this unfair tax cannot be implemented. Do not listen to the bully boy tactics and propaganda. To not register is the largest protest we can make. As of yesterday there were 1.2 million households not registered. If this battle can be won they might think twice about the tax policies in the future.
    VIVA LA REVOLT!!!!!
    “The most potent tool in the hands of the oppressor is the mind of the oppressed” Steve Biko.

• :) BRILLIANT :) bring it on, yeah!!

• 57 BAGS OF HATE MAIL

• more like between 5 and 7 black sacks.

• Bryan 28/03/12 #

Just because the government brings in a law doesn’t make it just. What if they brought in a law that allowed only two children or criminalised homosexuality again? Do we just accept what they say as law?

• Sure why process them? Just get a black marker, draw huge euro signs on them and hand them all into Anglo.

• mike 28/03/12 #

I have never borrowed money from a Bank in my life. And it was bank speculation and reckless lending by the same that got us into this mess. Remember we are paying off Private Bank Debt. Personal debt is a different thing all together.

• Eamonn if you’re being taxed so heavily in Germany don’t put up with it man just move here to Ireland, phil has some black sacks in his office I’m sure he wouldn’t mind if you slept under them till you get sorted with a roof over your head!

• I would have posted back my leaflet had I ever actually received it. Anyone else still waiting?

• jimbo 28/03/12 #

Not paying.
    Ive an idea we should organise a dropb off point for the return of the notices and make them work for nothing
    Lets get 100 black sacks

• I agree! Grrrr just seeing his smug effin face there …

• “…round he throws his baleful eyes
      That witness’d huge affliction and dismay
      Mixt with obdurate pride and stedfast hate…”
      John Milton

He looked around and saw a lot of suffering. But he only felt stubborn pride and hatefulness.

• Declan, I spent what was mine….my wages, that i worked for nothing else. As i am sure, a lot of people would agree, they are the same. Could you kindly not refer to me and others as “WE” because, no i did not borrow!!! no i did not ever get “special allowances” etc. My bank accout was for wages….savings acc haha-u mean acc for debits! I think the big boys have gotten too comfy in their seats and very good at demanding. They are also driving my friends to other countries. Im startin to rant now, but my €100 can go to my kids, who deserve it far more

• Hi folks. Just to let you know I’ve had to remove a few comments on this thread. Please steer clear of personal abuse – have a read of our comments policy if you’d like to know more: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/ Thanks!

• “weight” sorry, the irony ;-)

• They were talking on the radio this morning and giving out about us being told by party’s from the north not too pay now the people in the uk pay the queen for the privilege to live in the uk now our government thinks they have the right too do the same f##k you and I will fight again too through you out of the country not just government you good for nothing pieces for sh#t

• Remove personal opinion comments.
    G’wan free speech.

• Dario Fo 28/03/12 #

Nothing new about this lazy minister and his staff.

• That’s sounds like a well known variety.

• I hope it’s 57 sacks of, you know what!

• Hi,
    Can someone tell me why we introduce taxs and charges under the heading of bringing us more in line with our european neighbours etc. I thought the entire reason for the european community was like any other community ie to bring people together. Not make them all the same. Surely we lose some of uniqueness by being the same as everyone else.
    Thanks for who ever bothers to read all of this.
    Ps on a side note isnt there a law prohibiting the double charging of a tax. ie paying fuel tax twice etc. So if you paid stamp duty (a tax) does that rule out the household charge for you. Or am I wrong?

• skeolawn 28/03/12 #

No more brown envelopes then?

• My medical insurance is 350 my wife’s 250 Euros a month. We earn 30000 ayear. Tax free allowance 24000 then 24% tax.

• @Eamonn you shouldn’t have said that, it sort of blows all the FGers arguments out of the water that this will only bring us in line with Europe.

• That is very expensive for health insurance but it varies greatly with age, Medical conditions and of course level of care. Do you both make 30K? If I’m reading correctly and rounding off to 25% you would pay 2K per 30K, the problem here is the manor in which things are applied there is your tax after allowances (which are much less here) at rates of 20 and 41 %. Then you add an income levy, health levy and for me a pension levy. As you see it gets quite complicated and the figures can be manipulated to suit. Roughly done on 32K you’d pay 3500 plus the levies and in return you have a country who’s services and banks etc are in ruins. The real way is how it comes out in your pocket at the end of the day, I recently got an opportunity to work overtime of what I was paid I received 40% and paid 60% in taxes and increased levies (I do make over 30K). The great spirit of the Irish people is being squashed by the feeling of injustice and the lies, if they’d make the tax rate 50%, as it was before, acknowledge the fact that we are paying for this disgrace and actually fix something I for one would feel better. Despite all of the hardship and the regression of living standards and services in this country we are not close enough to the solution and resolution of this problem.

• Excellently put johnathan.

• Here in Germany we pay water and refuse fees. I pay around 700 Euros a year for both depending on usage.

• Everyone here pays for bin collection privately. Don’t think there is any council left that collects it and the majority of people paid tens of thousands of euro in stamp duty on their home which no other European country had to. Also when rates on homes were abolished in the 70,s income tax was increased to compensate so we have always paid in some form. This is an extra unjust tax added on. Council services here are below average compared to germany.

• good for you!
      Here in Ireland we pay
      Income Tax
      Vat
      Duty
      Bin Charges

and a lot more besides!

• For some reason my comment ended up else where?

Here in Ireland I already pay refuse fees. I also pay for my own septic tank maintenance. I also pay for road tax on 2 cars you know the tax that was once meant to take care of Irish roads, foot paths, street lighting and traffic lights. I pay a hell of a lot more then what it costs in Germany. I also pay a fair bit of money for what is laughingly referred to as “free education” oh I as I’m lucky enough to be in a job I also pay tax as does my other half.

• @Eamonn we pay seperately for refuse about 250/300 euro a year water charges will come in 2013/2014 expected to cost about 400 per annum these are in addition to household/property tax.So what is you point?

• Eamon,
      You make a good point. Unfortunately Irish people thick they are the only ones who pay tax….

• If only we had the services of germany here. ireland is basically non professional in every aspect. From high street shop assistants to road builders.

• really declan,
      what is his point?
      whats such an excellent point about someone who simply states that in
      germany he pays water and bin charges?

and how do u deduce, dear watson, that that means irish people think
      they are the only ones who pay tax??

• Eamonn,

Since we are at it, how much VRT do you have to pay on your new cars?

• Good On you Eamonn maybe the County Councils in Germany actually create a good service.
      The problem here is we already pay tax to create treated water but the whole system is full of leaks,charges for our waste in bin charges,Tax and Motor Tax and Tolls which is three taxs for our roads.
      It says here on the leaflet send to each household that each €100 is being spent on
      Planning and Development
      Fire and Emergency services
      Maintenance and Cleaning of Streets and Street Lights
      Alright let me get this straight Were Told to hand over €100 for the same stuff were taxed for.
      Fire Services are covered by tax and a more recent call out charges and now a household charge,so that’s Three tax’s on one service.
      Emergency Services up and down the country are downsizing, getting a bed while in hospital is seen as a luxury.
      I wont pay this charge while bank bondholders are paid billions of Irish Taxpayers money,while no one has gone to jail for the banking crisis,The billions spent on tribunals while our corrupt politicians that walk free.
      I will Never vote FG/LAB again.

• but eamon I’m sure that the water is clean and drinkable, that the pipes are modern and unbroken and being German when they say bin collections are on a certain day/time they are collected. I think peoples anger is that its not clear what the money from this payment is paying for, some say water some say libraries some think its just to pay the troika.

• What’s the VRT on your Beamers like? Road Tax for said Beamer? What about the Stamp Duty on your House? How about the 7 grand (or 100 a year for 70 years) your new House has to pay for connections to water services that in the councils own words cover “provision, maintenance and supply” which is due to be metred and charged for in 2013? What about 60 quid a year just to own a credit and debit card? I could go on….

• @Declan do you read other peoples comment or only the ones that agree with FG/Lab and lets not forget FF policy.

• Here in Ireland our piss weak government has us paying the gambling debts of your German banks!

• Very simple Joseph. Unfortunately the previous Goverment used revenue from a building boom to reduce all our taxation levels to one of the lowest in Europe in the last 10 years while at the same time increased the levels of old age pensions, social welfare etc… The end result is we dont have enough cash….. We spent to much on ourselfs. Thus its left to people like the much abused Minister to bring in charges so we can in some way balance the books.

• @Eamonn I pay €520 per year just to have my bins emptied alone by a private company. I pay €633 per year in motor tax to drive on roads FULL OF POTHOLES.The water pressure to my house is diabolical and is brown at least once a week. Im going to be charged for that next year too.

• declan,
      when the much abused minister works for the minimum wage
      while the crisis lasts,
      bertie, flynn et al has pensions removed,
      casino banking debt off the books,

i wonder, mmmm, would that help balance the books?

Make that happen,
      and ill pay whatever i can to help this country,
      and i will do it gladly.

• Joe. I had a brief period to peruse your comment before it was removed. Through idle curiosity I suppose I was compelled to examine it’s structure and meaning to better understand it’s inappropriateness.My first impression was that it contained no offensive words in the usual sense other than the word ‘balls’ which in most circumstances is a harmless word enough although for some reason you chose to write it thus: ‘b*lls’. This leads me to believe that in the over all context of your comment it held some deeper meaning so I proceeded to examine the other noun in your comment -’sweat’. This again is rather inoffensive so on I went to have a look at the verb ‘to lick’. Now It began to dawn on me – ‘balls’, ‘lick’ and ‘sweat’, these words when taken in conjunction with your reference to Phil and your further reference to a certain activity combining the great man himself and a deceased male the scales fell from my eyes!
      Well done Journal! Comments such as this have no place in relation to such a serious matter.

• john,
      i’m impressed! tho, of course, i shouldn’t be.

In the interest of accuracy, i must point out
      that i said suck, and not lick.

Ur absolutely correct, comments such as that
      have no place in civilized discussion,
      and i would like to offer my deepest apologies
      to anyone who may have been offended,
      including all who view the journal, the author of the article,
      the minister himself, the FG Labour government en masse,
      and lastly, but by far not the least,
      the pope

For my sin, i am going straight away to pay double
      the household charge
      and am going to apply for membership of
      the Fine Gael party.

I consider the matter closed.

• Joe
      I’m extremal proud that my idle curiosity has resulted in such a happy outcome for all and I’m sure your gracious apologies will be accepted by all concerned

• John LOL :-)

Its knowing there are folks like urself out ‘there’
      that keeps me half sane.

on a serious note, i just had my first telephone conference call
      with my newfound party,
      and i must tell you John,
      you’re being a very naughty boy for not paying this charge.

Big Phil told me hisself that he’s disappointed that
      the peasants, i mean people, haven’t complied,
      and that if yis are not careful,
      he’s goin to knock on all yer doors
      with a big stick, with some poo-poo on it,
      till yis part with the cash.

YE HAVE BE WARNED!!!!

• Joe. LOL indeed!
      Big Phil can call around to me any time he likes shaking his stinking stick OR even to threaten me by his tendencies for ‘necroPHILia’! I will be pleased to inform him that he can bugger off as I have been dispossessed by another great institution of Irish society – The Family law Courts!
      In any case, given the dubious nature of our administrative processes I like to keep my ‘assets’ in their more liquid format so I can follow Phil’s example in response to my retort and bugger off myself when I’ve had enough. The day is fast approaching!!

• Ahahahaha john you devious man ;) very clever. Joseph I still commend you on ur original post. I wrote all over my ‘final’ reminder, stuck it in an envelope and popped it in the post. Will forward on to you later. ;)

• And we are living in Ireland

• Well fair to you Eamon, cause over here in little old Ireland, we will be paying 3.1 billion euros to the ECB to prevent German banks going bust. That is why this tax is unjust.

• @ DECLAN COTTER re your comment ” We spent to much on ourselfs”, speak only for yourself and dont make sweeping generalisations. “WE” does not include me!!!

• Joe
      I returned to our earlier discussion to review the audience participation. I’m delighted to observe the extent of the approval for your great conversation!
      No doubt some of your past protagonists got wind of this momentous occasion and attended to register their approval. I retire a happy man!

• It will take them a long time to sort out the 57 black sacks but my money will not be in them. DON’T REGISTER, DON’T PAY, DON’T PANIC!

• It will take a long time to get through the 57 black sacks, and I would like to be a fly on the wall on Monday, when they try and get through them. I will still not be paying or registering by saturday, so folks, DON’T REGISTER, DON’T PAY, DON’T PANIC, WE CAN DEFEAT THIS TAX DESPITE THE BLACK SACKS!

• Does any body else have problems logging in here?

• My 100 euro will not be in those 57 black sacks. DON’T REGISTER, DON’T PAY, DON’T PANIC.

• Black sacks is so high tech. How did the civil servants come up with such a great collection method? It’s measurable, scalable and low cost. We should roll this out in the private sector.

• Aurfur 29/03/12 #

How about everyone sending a protest letter to the collection address, that would swell the 57 bags of correspondence and clog up the system.

• Listened to the Minister on Newtalk this morning and have to say i believe he spoke well. I know i will get abused on here now but if you listened to what he said it made sense. I dont beleive he wants this tax but the alternative is income tax which i am not in favour of. So there it is – A lone voice giving some support.
    I have paid my household tax. Not happy about it but dont see any other options for Ireland. Broaden the tax base or we are totally sh***ged and its as simple as that. And before you go on about bondholders or high earners, leave it out…I know the facts on both and if you did you would not use these as ligitimate arguments.
    Have a nice day.

• Stop that Declan, comments that contain common sense are not welcome around here. You’re only allowed to spout alarmist rhetoric, pseudo law nonsense, and imply that that all this is due to conspiracy involving the Illuminati, the Masons, and Brennan’s Bread.

• so you allowed yourself to give in to fear rather than stand up to them. Do you think this says something about you and your ability to be brave?

• D Burns 28/03/12 #

You can’t see any other options Declan?

Here is just one option; legalise marijuana. This would create jobs in cultivating it and making all the other things that it can be used for. This would lead to more people paying income tax, free up Garda resources due to no longer busting illegal cultivation sites. On top of that, it would put some criminals out of business, which would also save on housing them im prisons, when they do get caught. Then, the Government could also generate a fortune, in Corporation tax, on the cultivation sites growing the marijuana. Plus, you’d have a lot of happy smokers out there, buying quality smoke and VAT on that. Smokers will smoke regardless of the drug’s legal status. Booom….there is one option. There are loads of others. It just requires thinking outside the box. That is what we need right now.

• Is a man who can’t spell legitimate legitimate? DO NOT REGISTER, DO NOT PAY!

• Hang on a minute there Declan, you know the facts on both, what would those facts be then?
      You’re happy to pay for defunct banks for the next 20 or so years then?
      I’ve no problem with property tax, water tax or increased income tax – just not on top of a corrupt unjust system.
      You need to broaden your horizons to consider the possibility that a default and complete rewrite of the system might actually be the solution.
      There is no solution that maintains the status quo.

• Ireland can benefit from a property tax.. that’s very obvious.
      The problem is, that I don’t see much point in putting more money into services that abuse the system already.
      Sligo County Council (The only one I have any in depth knowledge on) spend quite alot of money looking busy.
      For example, just 3 weeks ago I was working in my living room, sat outside on the left hand side of the road was a pickup truck with 4 council workers inside.
      Two of them got out.
      One laid a cone behind and one laid a cone infront of the truck.
      The third lad popped out of the van, grabbed a shovel in the back of the truck, got it full with gravel and poured it into a small hole in the ground. The man then got back into the truck, while the other two collected the cones and put then in the back. They both got back into the van and drove off.
      I didn’t think anything of this until around 10 minutes later I saw the same truck pull up outside my house (On the other side of the road as earlier, pretty much directly across from the earlier pot hole).

The same routine again, two guys out – laid cones. One guy out, filled in hole. All back in, drive off.
      It took around 10 minutes (Yeah, seriously, 10) for each ‘event’.

I was dismayed to say the least, and frustrated.
      There is alot of emphasis on paying back the banks with out money and taxing the hell out of the citizens but when councils are doing this and crying for money – I have very little pity.

Have a fantastic day yourself – now that you’re €100 less well off and avoiding pot holes as you drive back home.

• Floodzie 28/03/12 #

Declan, you must be the only one here who has missed the connection between payments to unsecured bondholders and the magical appearance of this tax.

This money is not for local services – you already pay for that through bin charges, VAT, duty and income tax.

This money goes straight out of the country, to unsecured and unguaranteed Anglo bondholders.

You could have saved the taxpayer some money and posted the cheque yourself to Goldman Sachs, Credit Suisse, DAM, WEW, WGZ or any of the other hard-pressed holders of Anglo bonds.

• skeolawn 29/03/12 #

Yep, even the minister doesn’t want this tax. You said it.

• @ Declan hmmm… your last comment seems to have disappeared, I’ll comment anyway, your analogy is a little simplistic, it’s more like the this:
      Your mate borrows a load of money from me, I mean shit lots, then he loans you a few quid. Your mate lives the good life, throws his money about the place parties like a good thing, invites you along. You head out with him once or twice it’s all good. Then your mate borrows more money from me, I don’t have much proof that he’s good for it, but he’s wearing lots of expensive clothes and drives a nice car and that, seems popular, I’ll give him more cash, take a punt on him.
      Eventually your mate can’t pay. So then, he volunteers you to pay instead. After all you went to some of the parties, you profited from his money.
      Then he forges your signature on a loan for the entire amount from one of my mates. He pays me the money I’m owed from your new loan and you are left paying back his debts as he heads off to look for another party.

that’s a better analogy.

• would you still be willing to pay that back Declan? Because that’s essentially what’s happened.

• L 28/03/12 #

I would love to know how much the campaign against the charge has spent on posters and placards and hiring venues for protests, also how much people have spent on petrol getting to the marches. Could probably have spent the money better helping the country instead of crying over a measly €100.

Add New Comment