You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 The nine stories you need to know as you start your day.

EVERY MORNING TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories you need to know as you start your day.

1. #TAXI DISPUTE: Passengers at Dublin Airport face more disruption today as a strike by taxi drivers who serve the airport continues. The Dublin Airport Authority has urged taxi drivers to resume the service but the drivers are refusing to take fares this morning in a dispute over a decrease in the number of parking spaces for taxis.

2. #STABBING: Gardaí are hunting for three men after a 28-year-old man was stabbed to death outside his home in Mulhuddart in Dublin in the early hours of yesterday morning.  Gerald Burnett died in Connolly Hospital in Blanchardstown after sustaining serious injuries in the altercation outside his house.  Separately, a 47-year-old man arrested on Tuesday in connection with the discovery of a woman’s body at a house in Naas has been released without charge.

3. #EVICTION: A father of five has barricaded himself into his Limerick farm after receiving an eviction notice late last week. Seamus Sherlock, who has been campaigning on behalf of people in debt for the last two years, says a large group of supporters have been standing at the house since he received the eviction notice late last week to help him in the stand-off.

4. #PAY CUT: The salaries of Ireland’s two best-paid Lord Mayors look set to be cut significantly in a bid to save costs. The Irish Independent reports that the Lord Mayor of Cork earns €120,700 a year, as well as the use of a car and driver, while Dublin’s Lord Mayor receives almost €70,000 per year. Proposals will be brought before both councils in September to cut the spending for both offices by up to one third.

5.#LENIN IN IRELAND? A spokesperson for the Taoiseach has confirmed that Enda Kenny misspoke in a speech at Béal na mBláth at the weekend when he said that Soviet leader Vladimir Lenin visited Ireland in the 1920s. The Cedar Lounge Revolution blog was the first to notice the mistake, after the Taoiseach said that Michael Collins had brought Lenin to Ireland to see how the National Loan system worked.

6. #MISSING: The search for 18-year-old James Sheehan is entering its fifth day after the teenager went missing in the early hours of Sunday morning. Members of the local community as well as search and rescue groups are involved in the search which will today focus on the area around the Avoca River in Wicklow.

7. #JOBSWATCH: A US company which makes medical products for sleep and respiratory disorders has announced it is to create up to 50 new jobs over the next three years. ResMed is to expand its research and development facility which is currently based at University College Dublin.

8. #SUPER WOMEN: What do Lady Gaga, Angela Merkel and Michelle Obama all have in common? They all feature on the Forbes list of the 100 most powerful women in the world. The German Chancellor topped the list for the second year in a row, followed by Hillary Clinton in second and Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff in third place. Lady Gaga makes number 14, Beyoncé is at 32 and Jennifer Lopez is ranked number 38.

9. #SINGING ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK: Good news for Daniel O’Donnell this morning: new accounts filed by his company show that he doubled his profits over the last three years to €5 million. The Irish Independent reports that the last three years have seen profits for the Donegal singer climb from €2.9 million in 2009 to €4.98 million last October.