TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Adams says Sinn Féin looking at ‘three or four’ internal candidates for Áras

The Sinn Féin president has also said former members of the IRA are not automatically ruled out of consideration.

Adams speaking at the Sinn Féin Árd Fheis last night.
Image: Paul Faith/PA Wire/Press Association Images

GERRY ADAMS HAS said that Sinn Féin is look at three or four candidates who are party members and that could be put forward for the presidential election next month.

The Sinn Féin president was speaking after he gave a speech to delegates at the party’s Árd Fheis in Belfast last night in which he called for a united Ireland.

Adams also revealed that it was his view the party should support a candidate for the presidential election and he told RTÉ’s This Week today that there were “three or four” potential candidates the party was looking at, all of whom are in the party.

But he did not outright rule out supporting an external candidate.

The party’s newly-appointed national executive or Árd-comhairle will meet this week to ratify the party’s stance on the presidential election.

Adams also said that former members of the IRA could not be ruled out as possible candidates. When asked if being a former member of the IRA would rule out any possible names, Adams responded:

No it doesn’t, why would it? Éamon de Valera was formerly a member of the IRA.

There are people in the executive in the north, working with unionists, working with members of the DUP and Ulster Unionist Party and they are former members of the IRA.

The IRA have left the stage, the IRA is now a matter of history.

There’s now a peaceful, democratic way. Not least because of the efforts of Sinn Féin and others to bring the conflict to an end.

What we need to do is look to the future.

Adams said there was a “sameness” about the candidates currently in the race and said that Ireland needed “a people’s president.”

He said he had ruled himself out of the race “because I’ve enough to do.”

Read: Adams wants Sinn Féin to support candidate for Áras >

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• @ Stephen
    So you reckon the “good ole IRA” of which Dev was a leading member had a mandate from the Dáil? Hmmm … so when Dev was shooting & bombing in 1916 he had a mandate from the Dáil which wasn’t elected until 1918? I like your logic Stevie!

Is that how you scam €3250 for a year’s hosting of ONE website from the taxpayer trough, while preaching cuts for hard working people. Typical FFilth.

• get a life Stephen Kearon….have ya nothing better to do other than spout such drivvle over and over again????you made your point many posts ago yet you are still bleating the same old line,have a wee word with yourself man for the love of God

• SF haven’t a hope of fielding a winning candidate and they know it but the will use the occasion as a good time to do some PR work. This is a tactical move on their part and a nice way to erode FF’s base.

As for Stephen well what can I say that hasn’t already been said? Good for a laugh though!

• @ Stephen

“Id never help anyone who supports terrorist scum.”

So why did successive FF/FG/LP governments continue to collaborate with the British Forces who had murdered 14 innocent Irish civilians in Derry in 1972 & 11 innocent civilians in Ballymurphy 6 months earlier?

• mart_n 11/09/11 #

I think it’s rich for somebody like Stephen Kearon to be bleating on about apologetics considering his own history and relationship with a party which caused infinitely more damage to this country than SF ever could.

• FF put country first, unlike IRA/SF who put their cowardly murderous campaign first

• FF put country first! Are you for real? FF put FF first. It the overriding reason we are now in the mess we are.

• @Noddy even a cursory look at the actual facts clearly clearly show FF made the correct and unpopular decisions, the fact that Ireland is now decoupled from the other EU countries that currently need support proves this

• @ Stephen
      “Actual” facts? What other type of facts are there?
      Pedantry aside, Is quitting when the going gets tough, putting your country first? Is continuing to live an obscenely lavish lifestyle while lifesaving frontline service are decimated, putting your country first? Is touring the country to promote your autobiograpy, while still being paid as a sitting TD, putting your country first? Is refusal to cooperate with the tribunals, putting your country first? Is being pissed on the national airwaves in the middle of the greatest financial disaster in the history of the state, putting your country first? Is refusing to hold by-elections, thus refusing thousands of citizens their constitutional right to representation, putting your country first? Is giving your property-developer buddies favourable tax breaks to maintaining party funding, putting your country first? I could go on, but I’m sure you get my point.

• Folks, I think we can safely conclude that Stephen is clearly delusional. It explains a lot. I mean he thinks that Brian Cowen’s antics including the resignations of ministers and intending to hand out new portfolios (which was the straw that broke the Green camel’s back) was patriotic!!!! Yep, delusional. No other word to describe this man’s condition.

• See, I was right. Ah well, none so blind etc. (by the way, Stephen you should get out a bit more, rather than keyboarding what seems to be 24/7. Cant be healthy just waiting for something to pounce on and unleash your predictable usual, I suppose, diatribe.)

• Ah now I have it!! You, Stephen, are Dick Roche’s buddy! The â

• I am proud to have worked for such a true patriot

• Dick Roche – a Patriot. Christ his own mother wouldn’t say that about him, frankly I don’t even think most FF’ers would say that about him. Were you the one that suggested that he go for the recount when he was shown the door by the people of Wexford. By God, he made some fool of himself that day, Which was like a lot of days to be honest. Possibly the most incompetent Minister of the last Govt. but I suppose in his defense he wasn’t an all out traitor and criminal like Brian Lenihan.

• I think Stephen should take the toast rack and stuff it up … Ah no, I shouldn’t say that. They just never seem to be able to move on. I can even predict their replies. They will never change. They must surely realise that one is never 100% right 100% of the time as they think they are and as they think they always will be. People who are flexible and who change succeed. Inflexible people usually SNAP!! More to be pitied really.

• @Sean "moving on" is something Baron Adams failed to do last night with his one side history lesson and by telling his audience that dead terrorists hunger strikers were their role models?

The terrorists who ended their lives by refusing to eat did so by choice, unlike the 2,000 who had no choice as their lives were brutally ended by cowardly terrorist scum.

Plus only 2 years ago their gunning running TD proudly collected the killers of Gardai Jerry McCabe from prision – how is this "moving on"?

• Iris Robinson?

• If Sinn Fein want to move forward in Irish politics it’s going to have to break all links with former ira men ..

• Sinn Féin is moving forward and many of those leading the way are former IRA Volunteers – to suggest they “break all links with former IRA men” is pure nonsense and hows how little you know about the party or republicanism. On another note, can I expect you to make similar calls about members of the Labour Party who are ex-OIRA Volunteers?

• Look at Im just saying if they want to move forward you can’t have former gunman running in elections .. Sinn Fein has it’s supporters but if you want to appeal to the man on the street you need a bit more like Paul Donnelly and Mary Lou .. That war is over they need move past it

• By that logic Nelson Mandela should never have become president of South Africa.

• Eamon Gilmore leader of the labour party was a member of the IRA. Cop on move on with the times.

• Imagine having the nerve to equate Dev with the murderers of children Tim Parry and Jonathan Ball in Warrington? What planet do these murderous apologists live on? How sad that people are fooled by their pathetic attempt to re-write history and legitimise themselves, particularly with younger voters and working class people. May we never forget who these thugs are and what untold and irreparable damage they have done to our country.

• Adams forgets that the old IRA had a mandate from the Dail, unlike his Provos which were nothing more than criminals, thugs and cowardly murderers, good thing for all Irish men and women his thugs were defeated

• @Tony absolutely nothing wrong with hard work, something I would always encourage

Incidentally no peace commisioner gets paid, they do it for the public good, a concept alien to IRA terrorists and their apologists

• lol. Stephen your a gas man, you have a brass neck and no shame. I note how you didn’t agree with standing on one’s own two feet, rather than begging at Dick’s feet for the potato skins from the cabinet table. I’m sure your a real hard worker and go getter. lol

• @Tony see you are true IRA apologist in typical twisting words ploy. Supporting hard work and standing on ones own feet is the same thing

• I made myself through hard work, honesty and a commitment to achieve. It was on merit. I never held my hand out with the begging bowl to any man, never could tolerate those who went down the Irish “freemasons” route, and the nod and the wink and the pint as business all to get the grubby hands on hardworking tax payers funds.

Stephen. If I give you a 50 euro note, will you vote SF, or would you need a hundred to change you life long “beliefs”. lol

• I will never vote for those who support terrorist scum

• I think you’ll find times have changed and the IRA are no more. SF are in the current dail and in the northern assembly. Are you denying thousands of Irish citizens their right to democracy? Or is it only for a few?

• @ stephen re monies.

SF are the only party to have a flat wage capped at the avg national wage. All other monies earned through government posts are put back into the party. SF also have to report all monies to an independent IMF group that really proves none of what you spout is true. If only the rest of the Irish political parties had such audits there would be a lot less corruption in our state.

Again proves how little you actually know and understand about SF.

• Stephen. If a SF TD hires you as a paid consultant, will you move on then. Is that what this is about? I have to judge the horse by the form that it has shown. I’ll up my offer to 150 euro’s, and i’ll promise to tell you that you are the right man for the job, so you can square it in your own head as “public service”.

As an aside I think that it is quiet distasteful that people like you bring up Jerry McCabe as a political football for your own ends, we both know that you couldn’t give one toss about him or others.

• Id never help anyone who supports terrorist scum.

What is really distasteful is SF TD Ferris proudly collecting IRA scum who were convicted of mur… killing a Garda

equally distasteful to normal people are those who act as apologists to these low lives

Adams ends his speech with our day will come, every normal person hopes that to be true when we’ll see all terrorist murderers in jail

• Stephen. If you were offered the job and it paid well I have no doubt that you would be the most adamant and hardline shinner that ever walked 24 hours after starting. Your a gas man, say that one about you charging Dick Roche 3250 to host his site is hilarious. A hundred euro per year would be considered cheeky by a lot of businesses, and to make it with Joomla, please tell me you didn’t pay for the template, if I went to a client with that colour scheme on a site, I would be asked to leave. Your a gas man Stevo, Sure tis only taxpayers money.

• I fervently hope that SF would have nothing to do with fat, greedy, incompetents like SK, DR, BA, FFitzy & FFingers. FFilth.

• @ Séan.. We’ll pay him to join FG or the Socialist Workers Party then, it is all the same to Stevo.

• Great news. I’m betting at least half of them have moustaches.

• And LOVE/HATE knuckle tattoos to go with the ‘Eire 32′ masterpiece on the forearm. We all know and love ‘em; especially the chaps that usually surface at a culturally-deficient soirée hosted by the Wolfe Tones and where the management insists on plastic glasses. To paraphrase Jim Royle, Eire 32 my arse.

• Utterly stomach churning to see IRA/SF shed crocodile tears for 9/11 victims as IRA/SF support ETA, PLO, FARC etc – tendrils of terror everyhere

• Just struck me, maybe Jurry has 4 hoods who think that the Aras job is like the Northern Bank job and have sent him their CVs for his consideration…

• Bobby Sands M.P. For president.

• I wonder just how many of these candidates participated in the Northern bank robbery?

• Seeing as no one has ever been charged with that robbery I would presume none. I do admire your sly little remark though, throwing in a bit of unsupported innuendo with no evidence to back it up though. You must have been captain of your school debating team.

• SF = IRA. Fact. A vote for SF is no different to supporting the IRA. The IRA is no different to any other terrorist, murderous, thuggish organisation anywhere in the world.

• Brian Lenihan changed the law, against his own Dept. advice, against best practice and against external advice so as to facilitate the withdrawl of billions of Euro’s in accounts from Anglo. He refused to implement the necessary legislation, end result billions taken out and immediately sent out of the country. He didn’t care let the irish taxpayer pay it. Now that was one of the biggest robberies in world history but is only considered one of the smaller betrayals of his country in the greater scheme of things.

• Lmao @ Daniel nothing else to add

@ toast et al; when will you realize the IRA no longer exist? They were decommissioned, the fight for a united Ireland continues on through dialect and the will if the people to move on towards a continued peace in our island and our neighbors.

Simple narrow minded people will always spout what was shoveled down their throats during 40 years of propaganda. Get with the times move on and respect our nations history.

I pity people like you.

• Ciaran, the IRA are far from finished. They just go by a new name. Same people involved, same tactics. They are just as involved in criminality as they ever were.

• Cormac present some facts on your claims please. Otherwise I can only conclude you are no better than mr toast and his cronies.

• Christ Ciaran watch the news. A few bombs have gone off up north in the past few months, a psni officer was killed and when arrests were made, Marty mcguinness criticized the psni. The gardai have raided more than three bomb making facilities in the south with a number of republicans arrested. A couple of the last few murders in Dublin have been contributed to the IRA.

Add New Comment