TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Adams wants Sinn Féin to support candidate for Áras

The Sinn Féin president tells delegates at the party’s Árd Fheis that a united Ireland makes ‘economic, political and common sense’.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive

GERRY ADAMS has told Sinn Féin delegates at the party’s Árd Fheis in Belfast that uniting Ireland makes economic, political and common sense – and says he wants his party to support a candidate in the Presidential election next month.

Delivering the keynote speech this evening – describing the first Árd Fheis in the city as a “big deal” – Adams said the position of president was “not a trophy for the political establishment”.

“In my view Sinn Féin should support a candidate… who is capable of winning the support of popular nationalist opinion,” he told applauding delegates, saying the matter would be considered by its newly-appointed national executive.

Adams also commented that he believed there were many in Ireland who shared the party’s fundamental goal of self-determinism, and “who want rid of outsiders ruling us, whether they be from London, the European Union, or the IMF.”

Adams savaged the Fine Gael and Labour government for pursuing economic policies he said had been left behind by Fianna Fáil, and especially its decision to continue supporting the winding-down of Anglo Irish Bank.

Fine Gael and Labour are set to impose almost €4 billion of these cuts… and at the same time, Anglo is getting €3 billion this and every year for next decade…

What kind of society will be left when they’ve sold our national assets, and our national resources, for next to nothing?

It was a “big deal” for Adams as a Belfast man, he said, to be able to host a party Árd Fheis in Belfast, which he said was proof that the “Orange State is no more”.

He said a personal priority for him, and a political one for his party, was reaching out to unionists and finding common ground between them. “We have to be patient… and celebrate differences as diversity.”

Adams also commented that he and the party stood “full square” behind the people of Palestine in their quest for independence, while also expressing solidarity with republicans in the Basque Country.

Adams’ speech capped a long day of speeches in Belfast, with senior figures in the party attacking the Fine Gael-Labour coalition for its compliance with the IMF and EU deal.

Last night, Presbyterian minister Rev David Latimer provoked criticism from unionist leaders when he described Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness as “one of the great leaders of modern times”.

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• United Ireland? Brilliant idea! Would reduce our per capita national debt by 25%! problem fixed!

• Sinn Fein claim that if they were in government in Dublin, they would not impose cuts and would resolve the public finances by soaking the wealthy.
    Yet in Stormont they are imposing cuts as instructed by Westminister.
    This is blatant populism. Sinn Fein would not being doing anything in Government that FG and Labour aren’t already doing.

• A political party with populist policies, has the world gone mad?

• The Northern Executive have no fiscal powers they divide up a block grant – they can’t raise taxes etc. They can only spend the amount in the block grant and the Tories cut that.

In the South Sinn Fein in government could bring in tax changes to raise taxes on the wealth people who have made millions and billions on property and other specualtive businesses and also get rid of tax incentives, thats how Sinn Fein could be different in the South. They also promied to cut the wages of the senoir civil servants who are getting huge salaries and pension pay offs.

They are looking for fiscal powers to be transfered to the North so they can bring the corporation tax into line and harmonise it with the Southern rate – having an all Island rate.

Most of their policies will be implemented by the current government in a year or so … but it may be too late then.

• Seán – You clearly don’t have the first notion about the differences between Stormont and Leinster House. The budget is already allocated for Stormont IN Westminster, and the Stormont assembly has no legislative powers over taxation to balance the burden on tax-payers.

In contrast to Leinster House, where the Irish people do actually have the ability to balance the scales through determining our own taxation.

So don’t pretend as if they are two equal scenarios. They aren’t. And to pretend that they are is either disingenuous on your behalf, or just sheer ignorant.

• Moreover – What Sinn Féin is saying is that they would have never used the Irish tax payers as scapegoats for the banking system. On that issue, I wholly support them.

• Sinn Fein are not progressive at all as they pretend to be, it’s purely electorate, Up in stormont they can be as right-wing as they want, and nobody will care up there because there the default nationalist party.
      Down here they actually have to come up with a different edge, as most Irish people have gotten over the whole ‘Fuck the Brits’ way of doing politics.

• Go back north ???? Any one know where are current president is from ??

• I’ll admit I’m no fan of either sinn fein or Gerry but I think that sinn fein would be better off if Gerry retired. Him and other older members are the link between the old sinn fein/Ira and the new shinners. I think people ‘down south’ are still weary bout Gerry.
    As for a united Ireland. Don’t think it will happen any time soon.

• I think anybody that’s old enough to have lived through the entire period of the " troubles" is tired of this old tripe being shoveled out again. A united Ireland is but an aspiration and not a very practical one at that. How many sensible nationalists in the north are ready to throw their lot in tomorrow with this fucked up banana republic. Catholism was the root of the division between the crown and the Irish. That is no longer an identifying trait of nationalists. Being European was supposed to supercede nationalism but that project seems to be floundering. I’m impressed with the vim and vigour of some of the young Sinn Fein candidates. Time to drop the old mantras, get rid of the old guard and present something that will attract the middle class voters in the south to support you.

• Always have to laugh at this pathetic ‘go back up north’ attitude to Sinn Fein. Good enough for us northerners but not for your own cosy consensus in the south.

• He’s from Northern Ireland, Fiachra. U are welcome to him. I do understand your sentiments, tho’ -

• Its not a matter if we want him, its that we were told to accept him despite everything, while the southern media (and some people) are doing exactly the opposite.

• He is from the UK and has no business here. Funny how we despise Tesco for flogging NI milk here but somehow tolerate SF. At least Tesco just use price discrimination to rob us and not oil tankers and protection rackets. I do sympathise with you being stuck in a time warp with the racist Shinners though.

• Are you saying i am not Irish as Im from Derry? Do I have no buisness in the south?

• Fiachra, you are in that funny position where you may designate yourself British, Irish or both. You are living in the city of Londonderry, which is officially British, part of the United Kingdom, uses British currency, is on British phone system, has British road signs, etc. You will find you are ‘Irish’ when in GB and ‘Northern’ when you’re down here. It’s not pretty, but that’s the way it is. If only the people of Northern Ireland could be proud of being Northern Irish.

• “He is from the UK and has no business here.”

He is from Ireland, and holds an Irish passport. He also is an elected TD for the county of Louth. Our current president is from the same city as Gerry – Belfast.

So tell me once again why he has ‘no business’ here?

• Ignore it, Fiachra. It’s not typical.

• How about we all agree to call The Town I Loved So Well by whichever name each of us choses? Some want to call it Londonderry. Fair enough, I know they mean the city I call Derry.

• How can you say he’s from the UK and has no business here? That’s an absolute disgrace. And you have the ignorance to call Sinn Fein racist. Bit hypocritical perhaps?

• Toast Ract you should read Article 2&3 of the Irish Constitution…. every person born on the Island of Ireland is entitled to be part of the Irish Naiton and it is also the birth of every person born on the Island to be an Irish citizen.

The biggest racket going on at the moment is the Fine Gael and Labour Government robbing the people to pay off the Germans and French banks with family taxes. The bank bail outs were the biggest bank robbies in the histroy of this country. Fine Gael and Labour are hidding behind the EU/IMF saying they told us tax ye. They have no back bone – at least with Sinn Fein we know they have a hisory of standing up to foreign governments.

The attitude expressed here that Northerns should stay in the North is a kind to of racism or discrimination based on origin. Its like saying that the Polish people should stay in Poland. It’s nake racism and hatred really. I can’t understand why the moderators allow such hatred to be expressed without citing it for what it is.

The really reason why so many people are on here trying to create a negative mood around Adams and Sinn Fein is because they know they are right and are afraid that the general population will start supporting them. Telling them to go back to the North is low attempt at trying to discredit their arguments.

I wonder would ye tell Mary McAleese, Seamus Heaney, John Hume, Austin Curry, Neil McCafferty, and perhaps thousands of other Northerns here in the Republic to go back to the North. Why stop there; why don’t ye tell the 250,000 other people from the UK livng here, including my housemate, to go back to the UK and sure tell Tesco to go with them.

Do ye not think its time to ive up your childish attitudes and start thinking like adults?

• Well said
      If you don’t agree with Sinn Fein fair anuff but to say they should go back up north if just dumb

• Anyone who doesn’t bomb, murder, shoot, bludgeon, amputate, abduct, smuggle, extort or run drugs is welcome in any civilised society, not least ours. The neaveau-provo movement of Sinn Fein/IRA, on the other hand, can stay where they came from.

• Mary McAleese, Seamus Heaney, John Hume etc never abducted poor Mrs Jean McConville, murdered her & secretely buried her for decades & left her poor kids wondering where their mother was. That’s just one example. Don’t give us this bullshit about Sinn Fein/IRA standing up to Govts defending society. We’ve seen their “bravery” on our TV screens over the decades. I remember seeing torn bodies on the streets of the North. That’s what has formed our opinion of them & their loyalist counterparts. As shown by the recent visit of QE11 to our shores, people here showed SF we don’t subscribe to their views. The reception she got was an expression of what people think of GB & a message to SF we don’t agree with your anti British attitudes. SF & Co never refused her schilling.

• Another way to launder that Northern Bank cash!

• Racist? They can be called a lot of things but not racist…

• They’re not mad on the British now are they?

• I guess you missed the part of the ard fheis where they had a Unionist Presbyterian minister on stage to give a speech, who received a huge applause. Or the Orangeman who wore a sash at a Sinn Féin Ard Fheis 2 or 3 years back who also received a huge applause?

Sinn Féin have been building bridges between the two communities for a long time.

• And they never once had a qualm with the British people – their qualm was with the British establishment. I suppose The Vietnamese who had a qualm with the US Government were racist against Americans.. Or the Dalai Lama is racist against the Chinese? Wise up. There are many people from England within the SF membership.

• Guys, the funny bit is that no one cares. For ALL intents and purposes, we are a 26-county nation. Fact. The rest is semantics for the sake of the shoe-horned peace up there.

A tour around the SF/IRA website is an interesting experience on tolerance btw.

Anyway, we’ll be doffing our caps to QE2 soon soon hopefully when we rejoin the Commonwealth under President Norris. Genuinely, that will be a great day for all on this island if we’re big enough to do it.

• Maybe it’s about time some people on here accepted the Good Friday Agreement.

• Toast Rack, you’re funny.

• I never realized how ignorant some Irish people can be. Toast etc grow up cop on and open your minds for once in your life.

• I’d like to thank the facists @ thejournal for removing my post, well done lads.
      Nothing hurts more than someone espousing the truth behind your real intentions with this site eh ?

Which one of your staff is behind all the trolling fake twitter accounts abusing others and shouting crap while hiding behind anonymity all the time ?

Suppose I better not mention one of your founders from boards.ie is also a member of the Freemasons then either…

• Are you not Irish have you no morals have you been asleep to our history have we not suffered enough through what they have done to this country and think all is forgotten damn no , I’m proud to be Irish but will not stand for the hatred that the sf party has . We need a good decent ambassador .Ireland says no

• howe121 11/09/11 #

Brain washed

• Brain washed? Lmao SF hatred? Get real they have created peace in ireland fir the first time along side with the orange order. That’s a small miracle if you ask me. But then again I am not ignorant to the truth.

• “- Our founders aren’t the founders of Boards.ie.”

You are intricately linked and as with the dire biased politics on boards with your government sponsored mods, your stories here and coincidentally amazingly quick set up of trolling fake twitter accounts follow hand in hand to shout out the rhetoric. As others have suggested in the past with boards, there are many who believe one of your founders/main people behind you all, having close links with the secretive Freemasons in Ireland, determines and sways your independence to report and comment without interference from same.
      That at the very least I find dangerous, considering their past links and continued alleged interference in Irish politics and media in particular…

“- None of our staff are behind ‘trolling fake twitter accounts’.”

So the likes of “Toast Rack”, a clear fake trolling twitter account which was just set up coincidentally at the same time this story broke, uh huh, honestly like O.o

“- Your original post was removed because it was an ad hominem post which didn’t address another user’s points.”

My post intricately addressed and replied to the original post, supporting that poster with further information as to the real reason behind the fake cowards trolling twitter account they mentioned and suggested they just ignore them, as that account was only set up to post in reply here with trolling comments, the one and only reason.

“TheJournal.ie does not pursue an editorial agenda on any subject.”

Sure, you just carefully edit or delete comments from others that disagree with or question the fascist right wing element that post on here.

• No Gavan, I appreciate you taking the time to reply and I’ll leave it at that. I accept what you’ve said, even if I disagree in some ways with same, no need to continue on here and if I do, I’ll email instead as you’ve suggested.
      Thanks.

• Michelle gildernew a good candidate for presidency.. Has done alot of work for the agricultural communities in the north.. Generally well accepted across the divide..
    If given the chance she would do well.. Considering we aren’t exactly spoilt for choice.

• No Bank Robbing, Diesel Laundering, Propeganda spouting, murdering terrorist can ever preach their new found high moral ground crap to anyone on this island.

• Here Here, Rory. A lot has been achieved, I grant that. However, much more needs to be done to convince me of SF/IRA’s credentials. Remember that poor wee lad who was beat to death behind a shed along the border some time ago ? Silence from SF/IRA. That’s the “justice” they believe in. People are not ignorant of their reality, Ciaran O’Hare. They remember only too bloody well & don’t want that. We do “know our histroy”. How can u open your mind & heart to that ?

• Good man Rory. Nice to see you are onboard with Jim Allister and his stuck-in-the-past eejit mates at TUV. Tell me this, do you refer to your customers in such a way also? After all your shop, Stationery Solutions (Carrickmacross) is located in an area where nearly 1 in 3 voted for Sinn Féin.

• Who, with any intelligence or progressive mentality, gives a monkeys what Gerry Adams thinks? I think he should go back to the ‘Six Counties’ where he belongs.

• To the happy place?

• Over 15,000 people in Louth and over 150,000 in the South disagree with you. I care and listened to him because Sinn Fein have interesting things to say about the economy and the euro. I give the current government a year before they start implementing Sinn Fein policies – might be too late then.

I thought it was interesting that he was prepared to raise the question about whether the government had a plan if the euro unravelled. That’s a brave question to ask as the establishment don’t what to spook the horses until after they have bolted, again might be too late to deal with the mess.

• mart_n 10/09/11 #

“I think he should go back to the ‘Six Counties’ where he belongs”

That’s quite progressive of you alright!

• St Nolan, by your very admission, the majority of the Irish electorate are smart enough to know that Shinner ‘politics’ are utter bunkum. They should stick to the only economic activity they’re good at – fuel smuggling and knee-capping.

Guinness, touché, I’m off for a pint! Life’s too short to even try to reason with the RA.

• Ni cheapaim…

• Toast Rack…… FF three terms… yeah the majority of the Irish people have the good sense etc…. load of b*licks.

Far more people died in the last century as a result of Fine Gael in power than by the actions of the provos …. over 5000 people died in the Civil War when the godfathers of Fine Gael blew up and extra-judicially executed people to enforce the Treaty over 18 months in 1922-1923. So I think there is an inconvenient truth in the Irish political estblishment that some how only Sinn Fein have blood on their hands. Even Labour supported armed struggle at one time.

By the way you obviously didn’t read the piece above – maybe its an auto-response programmed into your brain – Adams gave his speech in the “Six Counties” so how can be go back there if he was in fact already there.

Fool.

• How can anyone believe a word Mr Gerry “I’ve Never Been In The IRA” Adams says, St Nolan ?! U are right, Toast Rack – he should go back to the “six counties” & stay there.

• If people can forgive what Gerry Adams and his party did in the past, and what they stood for and treat him as a credible politician now……just goes to show you that fianna fail are going nowhere! What they did is nothing compared to what the did but people seem to be voting for them….

• “I think he should go back to the ‘Six Counties’ where he belongs.”

What, like our current president who is also from Belfast?

• I wouldn’t be Gerry Adams’s number one fan at all but telling someone to go back to the “Six Counties” smacks of extraordinary parochialism.

• What is the betting that Toast Rack is some FG/PD/FF knob from south Dublin who only ever saw the conflict in the North on a TV set, he’ll happily blatter on all day about it though and be quiet righteous. He’ll never mention any killing by the UVF or British Army, as he is a sneaking regarder for them and he’ll never move on from what happened 40 years ago. I have friends from both sides of the conflict that lost fathers, they are friends even though their parents were enemies.

The likes of you can fuck right off.

• Sinn Fein would be far better off with out Gerry Adams. It’s time he retired, his time has pasted

• Thanks Declan. His name was Paul Quinn. He was murdered by a group of known IRA criminals outside Castleblayney. Everyone in the area knows who they are but unfortunately they can’t be convicted on hearsay! Most of them are in and out of court every week for typical scumbag crimes. A lot of those criminals who were released under the good Friday agreement have ended up back behind bars for crimes committed since their release. A leopard never changes it’s spots!

• Funny then how the Gardaí have stated that they have “no information to suggest that this attack was authorised by, or carried out on behalf of the IRA.”

Sinn Féin condemned the murder and also called on those with information to contact the Gardaí or PSNI.

Ill-informed speculation and rumour have no place in a Justice Campaign. There has not been a shred of evidence so suggest republican involvement.

• All the SF negativity is born purely from misinformation fed to you by the propaganda machine during the troubles. SF for years campaigned for the truth to be told about bloody sunday. Something I bet all you haters out their said SF were lying about and was mere republican propaganda.

There have been atrocities on both sides of the troubles. Something that both communities are moving on with in the name of peace and the greater good. It’s a shame the people here haven’t matured enough to stand behind those who work towards a peaceful untied IRELAND. instead you simply spout the usual rhetoric.

Know your history, open your minds and open your hearts.

• My customers are of no concern to you Mark nor is my business. However Sinn Fein want my business to be everybody’s business such is their Marxist leanings. I respect my customers right to vote for whoever they please and indeed shop where they wish. We live in a society free of political persecution where we can express our views freely. It is no secret in Carrickmacross that I am not supportive of the IRA or criminality in any shape or form. I think it’s important that you understand that Mark and that you do not take what I post out of context.

• The shimmers and drug dealers etc are not as threatening to our country as the bankers, Nama, developers, and civil servants as they have totally destroyed our future and are adding to the destruction every day.

• Why were my comments on the Northern Bank robbery removed?

• Who wants anymore corruption like ff Gerry Adams and his band of merry men are as corrupt and would hate to see them as ambassadors to this fine country , your time will come maybe a couple of generations down the line what they stood for and how they gained seats due to ff down fall .

• Why was my comment removed?

• Ya’s never licked it off a silver spoon ya’s feckin gomsheens ?

• Ignorance is bliss lads. None of your rants are true, where is your proof? In fact as others have pointed out SF were cleared of any suspicion. Your rants of hate just proves your ignorance on all counts keep it up ;)

Add New Comment